We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What an amazing hotel - luckily I did it on business!”
Review of Maximilian Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Maximilian Hotel
Ranked #28 of 649 Hotels in Prague
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
131 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 131 helpful votes
“What an amazing hotel - luckily I did it on business!”
Reviewed 12 May 2010

Exactly what you'll expect from a top 5 star European hotel - stunning interiors, great location, incredible room and what an amazing breakfast as well. Great location to explore Prague as well being in Praha 1.

Thankfully I was there on business so the company paid for the room because it's frightfully expensive, but for that amount of money, they will treat you amazingly well. Free internet stations in the lobby as well. Wonderfully friendly staff and my company made a mistake with my booking - ie. I was supposed to stay 3 nights but they had only booked 2. The hotel staff told me not to worry - that I didn't need to pack my bags or anything and that they would sort it out with my travel agent; and they did without a hitch. This was an unforgettable experience. If you have the money to do Prague in style, this is the place for you.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank GymnastAlex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
maximilianhotel, Manager at Maximilian Hotel, responded to this review, 1 June 2010
Thank you for your review. I am pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay. Our rates fluctuate during the year so we might have lower rates in case you would like to return for a leisure trip. You can always find the best rates on our website or by contacting the hotel directly. Hope to see you in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,265 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,715
    483
    47
    16
    4
See reviews for
348
1,161
135
169
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (324)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Ireland
Level Contributor
155 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 April 2010

My wife and i stayed here for a long weekend getaway and found the hotel to be the ideal location for us.
It was only 6-7 minutes from the main Oldtown Square, and just over 10 minutes from Charles Bridge.
The staff were wonderful, very friendly despite the fact that we had absolutely no local language, and they helped in every way they could.
The breakfast was superb, the food freshly made, and the coffees served with separate steamed milk was a nice touch.
The star of the hotel is the Thai Therapy Centre in the lower level of the hotel. The prices were probably a bit high compared to other places in the city, but they were worth every penny, exceptionally relaxing done by genuine Thai masseuses.
If taking a city break, this place is well worth a look.

  • Stayed October 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Prius_owner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
maximilianhotel, Manager at Maximilian Hotel, responded to this review, 1 June 2010
Thank you for your comments. We love the quiet square we are on as well. Glad to hear you enjoyed your stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portugal
Level Contributor
37 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 140 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 April 2010

A wonderful hotel in a wonderful city.
The Maximilian is a very nice hotel, quite modern, and most important, it has a great location. Within 2 minutes walking you’re in the Old Town Square and the astronomical clock, 10 minutes you’re at Charles Bridge…. Everything is near, and if you feel like walking and appreciating what Prague has to offer, you won’t even have to use the metro.
The breakfast is very good with something special on the menu everyday. The staff is nice and they give you all the information you need. One thing: please leave the city by yourself (Prague has a good bus system) and discover other cities quite peculiar like Karlovy Vary. If you need some info, please email me or send me an IM.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank shethinks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
86 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 April 2010

This could have been a truly great hotel. It seemingly has everything - great location, well designed and furnished rooms, free internet, good buffet breakfast... But what it doesn't seem to have is staff who can work out how to manage their booking system...

Overbooking 1 or 2 rooms is an oversight, overbooking 21 rooms is sheer incompetence. Then to lie about the number of rooms that are available when there are blatantly people checking out is inexcusable. Would you put up with it? We certainly didn't...

Easter city break booked a couple months in advance through British Airways and paid for in full. We arrive at the hotel with an overexcited and overtired toddler at 10 pm to be told that there was no room for us. When you normally reserve a hotel, you leave your credit card details which are used in the event of a no show. What happens if the hotel overbooks and has no room for you. Do they give you any compensation? No, they tell you that it is overbooked and they have booked you into another hotel. You have no choice in the matter. They have no rooms for your four night stay.

We are then escorted to the wrong replacement hotel by the hotel porter and are then driven to another hotel for an uncomfortable night's stay.

Returned to the Maximilian the next morning. Ushered to wait in the "Honesty Bar" and help yourself to coffee/ tea.... The "Honesty Bar" was locked! The manager keeps us waiting as we watch people check out of the hotel. He apologises and says that the hotel is full and they have no rooms. We tell him how much we dislike the hotel we were moved to. He is adamant he has no room.

We point out that if an airline overbooks they offer you compensation in cash and the next available flight. If the Maximilian overbooks, they send you to an inferior hotel and appear to keep the money.

After protesting, the manager suddenly says that he has got a room for us in the hotel... He shows us a room which has been recently vacated, and says that he will get another room ready for us which is non-smoking... So, there were at least two rooms available...

The management of this place need to get their act together. If you are going to overbook, that is your prerogative... Don't expect all your guests to be compliant with your policy. And please learn the best way to diffuse a potential conflict situation is not to send guests to a locked Honesty Bar to wait for the manager who then lies about the rooms available. Also, learn to perhaps offer compensation of some kind - it would make guests feel that their concerns have been taken into account and things like this won't happen again.

Perhaps the management should stay in a Mandarin Oriental or a Peninsula hotel to see how attention to detail like this makes for an incredible stay everytime...

In summary, check many times over to see if the hotel actually has the room that you booked and paid for!

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Tired_travelling_dad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
maximilianhotel, Manager at Maximilian Hotel, responded to this review, 1 June 2010
Thank you for your review. Once again we apologize for the inconvenience you experienced during your stay by moving to another hotel. To readers of this review I would like to say that we are not in the habit of overbooking. Over Easter 2010 Prague was completely full and many travel agents forced reservations to the hotels and we were left with no choice, but to relocate the guests to another hotel. This was a very rare occasion in Prague and the best way to avoid it is to book directly with the hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 April 2010

Let me start by saying this a great hotel. I looked at Trip advisor before leaving and was impressed with the reviews apart from one mentioning being moved to another Hotel because of overbooking, I thought what are the odds of this happening to me!. Yep, you guessed it after a long day travelling I arrived at approx 1030pm to be told 'sorry we have no room for you, thats just the way it is' and I was moved to another hotel not of the same level. Very very annoyed. In fairness the Hotel gave me an upgrade and the staff barring the first night were excellent. I hope the Hotel understands how damaging this can be for its reputation.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank sparkey66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Holmer Green
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 April 2010

We could not fault this hotel. Situated in a lovely quiet and beautiful cobled courtyard. In the center of beautiful Prague. Close enough to walk to everything you need (just a few streets from the main square) but far enough away from any noisy night life. We stayed in a their middle choice of rooms and it was super; clean, spacious and very comfortable. All the staff we met were very welcoming, helpful, cheerful and polite. The breakfasts were fantastic, you could have just about anything you fancied from continental to full english from a very impressive buffet or order from a wonderful menu. We glanced at other hotels during our walks and decided we could not have beaten our choice. Would definately recommend.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank HappyHolmerGreen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
maximilianhotel, Manager at Maximilian Hotel, responded to this review, 1 June 2010
Thank you for your wonderful review. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed the location of Maximilian as well as our kind staff. We hope to welcome you back again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ireland
Level Contributor
101 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 April 2010

We selected this hotel following the reviews which I read on Tripadvisor - got a brillant deal through 1800 Hotels.ie
The Hotel is located just off the Old Town Square and on the edge of the Jewish quarter and only a stroll away to the Charles Bridge. Very quite location despite been near everywhere. The staff were very friendly and helpful. Enjoyed the Breadfast and the Trivia Quiz!! Honesty Bar was great - rooms very comfortable. Got a non smoking room the first night and was t/f to a smoking room for the remaining 3 nights Also had free wifi and interent access with printer in lobby.. Not often offered for free in hotels.
Loved the city - walked everywhere did not get a tram or metro.Would recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bailyhowth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Prague hotels
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Design Hotel Josef Prague
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Unitas Hotel
Unitas Hotel
#10 of 649 in Prague
1,672 reviews
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Ventana Hotel Prague
Ventana Hotel Prague
#22 of 649 in Prague
1,270 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Design Hotel Jewel Prague
Design Hotel Jewel Prague
#13 of 649 in Prague
724 reviews
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Savic Hotel
Savic Hotel
#36 of 649 in Prague
2,453 reviews
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
The Emblem Hotel
The Emblem Hotel
#31 of 649 in Prague
1,052 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Maximilian Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maximilian Hotel

Property: Maximilian Hotel
Address: Hastalska 14, Prague 110 00, Czech Republic
Phone Number:
Region: Czech Republic > Bohemia > Prague > Stare Mesto (Old Town) , Praha 1
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Prague
#11 Business Hotel in Prague
#17 Romantic Hotel in Prague
#18 Family Hotel in Prague
#25 Luxury Hotel in Prague
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Maximilian Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 71
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Maximilian Hotel is a modern yet cozy 4-star design boutique hotel with a personal touch. It is centrally located in the heart of Prague within walking distance of all major sights. Located on a quiet square, it is only 300 meters to the Jewish Quarter and 500 meters to Old Town Square and the Astronomic Clock. WiFi, tea and coffee are provided free of charge. The sumptuous breakfast buffet and a la carte breakfast offer is always included. The 71 well-appointed rooms all feature air-conditioning and face either the quiet Hastal Square or the inner courtyards, making Maximilian Hotel a great choice for guests who prefer a quiet and intimate hotel in a very central location. All guests have 24 hour access to a drawing room with a working fireplace, an honesty bar and a cozy library. Coffee, tea and homemade cakes and cookies are always available free of charge. The hotel also has an Asian inspired spa, Planet Zen. Maximilian Hotel's neighbourhood is full of restaurants, bars and individual design shops. Parizska Street with its many boutiques and beautiful buildings is just a few steps away. At Maximilian Hotel, reception and concierge service are available 24 hours a day. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, MyHotelShop, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HRS, getaroom.com, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Maximilian Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Prague Maximilian Hotel
Maximilian Prague

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing