We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent location for business travelers Who Mix Tourism”
Review of Maximilian Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Maximilian Hotel
Ranked #25 of 647 Hotels in Prague
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 23 May 2010

Cozy and modern business hotel tucked into a picturesque but quiet part of Prague's Jewish Quarter. A business client booked my wife and I into it. We were happy with it. It was close to my client's offices (although isn't that centrally located for most Prague businesses) and was a wonderfully convenient location for our off-hours tourism, dining, and shopping. Good breakfast buffet and excellent (though you have to ask, because they are discreet) service.

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank VinCrosbie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,413)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,707 - 1,713 of 2,413 reviews

Reviewed 16 May 2010

I've written this review once before but for some reason it never got posted to Tripadvisor. This hotel is worth my time to rewrite the review, so here it goes.

Just about everything about this hotel was extraordinary. Starting with the location, the hotel is just far outside the main tourist area to be quiet, but close enough to be within a 10 minutes walk to the Old Town Square. The walk takes you through some fantastic architecture and passes some appetizing restaurants. The hotel is located in the Jewish Quarter, so it is a special feeling to stroll through the quiet lanes.

The room was simply outstanding and large. Everything was plush and comfortable. There was plenty of room for our one year old to roam around after a long day of sightseeing and be perfectly happy. Other hotels have made her ornery and make her board quickly. The espresso machine in the room was a nice touch and we used it just about every day despite not being the biggest coffee people. The bathroom was plenty large and packed all the amenities that we would expect. We drove to Prague, so the parking was a concern of ours. The hotel has an underground parking garage that was clean, safe, well lit, and wasnt cramped like other garages in major cities. Our large sedan fit easily in the spaces.

The overall decor of the hotel was beautiful, simple, and elegant without being snobby. The breakfast room was a real treat with great light and almost a zen feeling. A great way to start of the mornings! The breakfast was one of the best we've experienced in Europe and we took an inordinate amount of time sitting in the breakfast room before starting our day.

We were here for 3 nights and we could have easily stayed for a week to enjoy this hotel. For an outstanding place like Prague, it is a compliment to say we enjoyed the hotel as much as we did the fantastic city! We've already recommended this hotel to several couples who have gone on to have great stays at the Maximilian.

Stayed: September 2009, travelled with family
1  Thank HUTCH1113
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
maximilianhotel, Manager at Maximilian Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 June 2010

Thank you so much for your wonderful coomments about our Hotel Maximilian. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay and gracious to hear that it is your favorite hotel in Europe. We hope to welcome you back in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 May 2010

Exactly what you'll expect from a top 5 star European hotel - stunning interiors, great location, incredible room and what an amazing breakfast as well. Great location to explore Prague as well being in Praha 1.

Thankfully I was there on business so the company paid for the room because it's frightfully expensive, but for that amount of money, they will treat you amazingly well. Free internet stations in the lobby as well. Wonderfully friendly staff and my company made a mistake with my booking - ie. I was supposed to stay 3 nights but they had only booked 2. The hotel staff told me not to worry - that I didn't need to pack my bags or anything and that they would sort it out with my travel agent; and they did without a hitch. This was an unforgettable experience. If you have the money to do Prague in style, this is the place for you.

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank GymnastAlex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
maximilianhotel, Manager at Maximilian Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 June 2010

Thank you for your review. I am pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay. Our rates fluctuate during the year so we might have lower rates in case you would like to return for a leisure trip. You can always find the best rates on our website or by contacting the hotel directly. Hope to see you in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 April 2010

My wife and i stayed here for a long weekend getaway and found the hotel to be the ideal location for us.
It was only 6-7 minutes from the main Oldtown Square, and just over 10 minutes from Charles Bridge.
The staff were wonderful, very friendly despite the fact that we had absolutely no local language, and they helped in every way they could.
The breakfast was superb, the food freshly made, and the coffees served with separate steamed milk was a nice touch.
The star of the hotel is the Thai Therapy Centre in the lower level of the hotel. The prices were probably a bit high compared to other places in the city, but they were worth every penny, exceptionally relaxing done by genuine Thai masseuses.
If taking a city break, this place is well worth a look.

  • Stayed: October 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Prius_owner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
maximilianhotel, Manager at Maximilian Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 June 2010

Thank you for your comments. We love the quiet square we are on as well. Glad to hear you enjoyed your stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 April 2010

A wonderful hotel in a wonderful city.
The Maximilian is a very nice hotel, quite modern, and most important, it has a great location. Within 2 minutes walking you’re in the Old Town Square and the astronomical clock, 10 minutes you’re at Charles Bridge…. Everything is near, and if you feel like walking and appreciating what Prague has to offer, you won’t even have to use the metro.
The breakfast is very good with something special on the menu everyday. The staff is nice and they give you all the information you need. One thing: please leave the city by yourself (Prague has a good bus system) and discover other cities quite peculiar like Karlovy Vary. If you need some info, please email me or send me an IM.

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank shethinks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 April 2010

This could have been a truly great hotel. It seemingly has everything - great location, well designed and furnished rooms, free internet, good buffet breakfast... But what it doesn't seem to have is staff who can work out how to manage their booking system...

Overbooking 1 or 2 rooms is an oversight, overbooking 21 rooms is sheer incompetence. Then to lie about the number of rooms that are available when there are blatantly people checking out is inexcusable. Would you put up with it? We certainly didn't...

Easter city break booked a couple months in advance through British Airways and paid for in full. We arrive at the hotel with an overexcited and overtired toddler at 10 pm to be told that there was no room for us. When you normally reserve a hotel, you leave your credit card details which are used in the event of a no show. What happens if the hotel overbooks and has no room for you. Do they give you any compensation? No, they tell you that it is overbooked and they have booked you into another hotel. You have no choice in the matter. They have no rooms for your four night stay.

We are then escorted to the wrong replacement hotel by the hotel porter and are then driven to another hotel for an uncomfortable night's stay.

Returned to the Maximilian the next morning. Ushered to wait in the "Honesty Bar" and help yourself to coffee/ tea.... The "Honesty Bar" was locked! The manager keeps us waiting as we watch people check out of the hotel. He apologises and says that the hotel is full and they have no rooms. We tell him how much we dislike the hotel we were moved to. He is adamant he has no room.

We point out that if an airline overbooks they offer you compensation in cash and the next available flight. If the Maximilian overbooks, they send you to an inferior hotel and appear to keep the money.

After protesting, the manager suddenly says that he has got a room for us in the hotel... He shows us a room which has been recently vacated, and says that he will get another room ready for us which is non-smoking... So, there were at least two rooms available...

The management of this place need to get their act together. If you are going to overbook, that is your prerogative... Don't expect all your guests to be compliant with your policy. And please learn the best way to diffuse a potential conflict situation is not to send guests to a locked Honesty Bar to wait for the manager who then lies about the rooms available. Also, learn to perhaps offer compensation of some kind - it would make guests feel that their concerns have been taken into account and things like this won't happen again.

Perhaps the management should stay in a Mandarin Oriental or a Peninsula hotel to see how attention to detail like this makes for an incredible stay everytime...

In summary, check many times over to see if the hotel actually has the room that you booked and paid for!

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank Tired_travelling_dad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
maximilianhotel, Manager at Maximilian Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 June 2010

Thank you for your review. Once again we apologize for the inconvenience you experienced during your stay by moving to another hotel. To readers of this review I would like to say that we are not in the habit of overbooking. Over Easter 2010 Prague was completely full and many travel agents forced reservations to the hotels and we were left with no choice, but to relocate the guests to another hotel. This was a very rare occasion in Prague and the best way to avoid it is to book directly with the hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 April 2010

Let me start by saying this a great hotel. I looked at Trip advisor before leaving and was impressed with the reviews apart from one mentioning being moved to another Hotel because of overbooking, I thought what are the odds of this happening to me!. Yep, you guessed it after a long day travelling I arrived at approx 1030pm to be told 'sorry we have no room for you, thats just the way it is' and I was moved to another hotel not of the same level. Very very annoyed. In fairness the Hotel gave me an upgrade and the staff barring the first night were excellent. I hope the Hotel understands how damaging this can be for its reputation.

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank sparkey66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Prague hotels
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Design Hotel Josef Prague
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Ventana Hotel Prague
Ventana Hotel Prague
#20 of 647 in Prague
1,323 reviews
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
The Emblem Hotel
The Emblem Hotel
#31 of 647 in Prague
1,174 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Unitas Hotel
Unitas Hotel
#9 of 647 in Prague
1,749 reviews
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Savic Hotel
Savic Hotel
#34 of 647 in Prague
2,495 reviews
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Design Hotel Jewel Prague
Design Hotel Jewel Prague
#10 of 647 in Prague
753 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Maximilian Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maximilian Hotel

Address: Hastalska 14, Prague 110 00, Czech Republic
Phone Number:
Region: Czech Republic > Bohemia > Prague > Stare Mesto (Old Town) , Praha 1
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Prague
#11 Business Hotel in Prague
#17 Romantic Hotel in Prague
#18 Family Hotel in Prague
#23 Luxury Hotel in Prague
Price Range: £94 - £233 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Maximilian Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 71
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Maximilian Hotel is a modern yet cozy 4-star design boutique hotel with a personal touch. It is centrally located in the heart of Prague within walking distance of all major sights. Located on a quiet square, it is only 300 meters to the Jewish Quarter and 500 meters to Old Town Square and the Astronomic Clock. WiFi, tea and coffee are provided free of charge. The sumptuous breakfast buffet and a la carte breakfast offer is always included. The 71 well-appointed rooms all feature air-conditioning and face either the quiet Hastal Square or the inner courtyards, making Maximilian Hotel a great choice for guests who prefer a quiet and intimate hotel in a very central location. All guests have 24 hour access to a drawing room with a working fireplace, an honesty bar and a cozy library. Coffee, tea and homemade cakes and cookies are always available free of charge. The hotel also has an Asian inspired spa, Planet Zen. Maximilian Hotel's neighbourhood is full of restaurants, bars and individual design shops. Parizska Street with its many boutiques and beautiful buildings is just a few steps away. At Maximilian Hotel, reception and concierge service are available 24 hours a day. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Maximilian Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Prague Maximilian Hotel
Maximilian Prague

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing