We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good and Bad”
Review of Maximilian Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Maximilian Hotel
Ranked #29 of 646 Hotels in Prague
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 10 April 2007

We stayed here for 3 nights at the end of March, 2007. The staff were polite, the breakfast was wonderful. The location was quiet. Unfortunately, we were placed on the top floor street side with no windows to speak of. Our room did not look like the rooms others have pictured. It was very sparse and worn looking, although the bathroom was very nice. Overall, not worth the money for the room in spite of the excellent breakfast.

  • Stayed: March 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank AlohaAll
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,527)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,922 - 1,928 of 2,527 reviews

Reviewed 2 April 2007

Stayed here for four nights from March 26. Used hotel car service to and from the airport. Well worth the cost and only 22 minutes door-to-door! Very efficient check in, supplied with numerous maps and guides to the city. The hotel staff were all very friendly and helpful and all the front desk staff spoke good English.
The area around the hotel is very quiet with little traffic but ther is an abundance of bars cafes and restaurants.
We used two restaurants as recommended by other reviewers: Lary Farys which was excellent food wise but very slow service wise and it was not full on the night we visited, also The Crazy Cow which is very good value and does serve huge perfectly cooked steaks. Also visited a Czech restaurant called Kinski Palace (turn first left after Crazy Cow and then entrance is 30m on right) excellent service, first class presentation, surprisingly good local wine and very reasonable prices - highly recommended.
We would certainly use this hotel again!

  • Stayed: March 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Psychostar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2007

I am a single woman and was in Prague by myself for a few days in March, 2007. I got this hotel as a package from Luxury Link and it included daily breakfast. This hotel is ultra modern with sparse furnishings in a somewhat non-descript building. Inside the hotel though, it is quite well decorated and as I said quite modern. It is located on a quiet street in old city/town area very close to the old town square. It was within walking distance to everything. Prague is a great walking city and the location of this hotel was perfect. The service from the staff was also good but not exceptional.

The rooms were as expected - quite modern but very comfortable indeed. I have lived and traveled in Europe and the room was a good size like you would expect in North America. The bed is not the Westin Heavenly Bed but it was comfortable. The room was very clean but as is now common in many hotels, the sheets were changed every other day. They only had 2 English channels on TV - BBC news and CNN so watching TV is out of the question. They did have some DVDs you can rent from reception for about $2. They did not have a large selection but then Prague is not the kind of city where you spend a lot of time in your hotel room.

The breakfast spread was fantastic. Good quality food and the service was great. There was something for every diet preference. There was no pressure to tip like in the US and some of the other countries I have been like Mexico and Barbados. Of course, like all service professionals, they appreciate a good tip.

The hotel has a self serve bar (the honesty bar). Tea, coffee and pastries are free. You write what other drinks you have and they charge it to your room. Honor system :-)

All in all, I would recommend this hotel. It was great value for the price.

  • Stayed: March 2007, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
5  Thank efke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2007

we have just got back from 4 nights staying at the maximillian hotel.

the hotel was perfect for the duration of our stay, there are loads of good restraunts all around the hotel, and it's only a 5 minute walk to the old town square.

the room was a nice size (large), the bathroom was very clean (and had a full size bath ), a complimentary bottle of wine and fruit was there as well.

the hotel staff could not have been more helpful.

the breakfast was superb, and was open till 11:00am, (so a lie-in was'nt at the expense of your breakfast)

we also booked an airport transfer with www.prague-airport-shuttle.com , they were brilliant, very nice driver and car, excellent value, and timing for pick-up was spot-on ! definately recommended !

hope this helps.....

  • Stayed: March 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
6  Thank toon_two
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 March 2007

We were booked for a 3 night stay at the Josef (owned by the same company) but they had double booked (told us it was a problem with the smoke detectors but onlu in 1 room not the whole zone?) so we wre put up at the Maximian for the 1st night.
It is a superior hotel to the Josef with very comfortale king sized bed and decent sized bathroom.
Breakfast was in bright clean room with a wide slection to cater for all tastes.
Although the double booking wasn't great the comany didlook after us well and we wished we'd booked the Maximillian.

  • Stayed: March 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank enagshergar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 March 2007

We stayed at this hotel for 2 nights in March. As others have said, the location is excellent - it is only a few minutes from the old square.

The rooms are lovely, with lots of nice small touches (jelly bears left on pillows, robes, slippers, White Co bathroom products etc).

There is a DVD player in the room, and you can hire DVDs for a few pounds from reception. Also room service menu if you get hungry in the evening.

There is also a very small TV in the bathroom in case you fancy watching BBC or CNN while getting ready!

Starff are really hepful, and will help you book tours, taxis and restaurants, Nothing was too much bother for the staff.


I highly recommend this hotel. You won't be disappointed. If I return to Prague, I will definetly be staying here again.

Stayed: March 2007
8  Thank jack06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 March 2007

We have just enjoyed 3 great nights in the Hotel Maximilian, the position is spot on if you want a quiet location - yet only 5 minutes from Old Town Square, Charles Bridge etc. having read a previous visitors comments on tripadvisor we took the advice and rang the Hotel to arrange a car to pick us up from the Airport - this worked very well indeed and was well worth the 780 czec Crowns (£20). Checking in was pleasant quick and helpful with maps and advice being freely provided. Our room was very nice and exceptionally clean. Breakfast was very good with a huge choice and once again helpful staff on hand. We visited Tuesday - Friday and if like us, you want quiet time, I would suggest that its the best time, as we did not see a single Hen or Stag Party and it was a thouroughly pleasant experience. we will go back!

  • Stayed: March 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
6  Thank IJB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Prague hotels
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Design Hotel Josef Prague
Praha 5
Hotel Julian
Hotel Julian
#24 of 646 in Prague
1,716 reviews
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Unitas Hotel
Unitas Hotel
#7 of 646 in Prague
1,797 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Nove Mesto (New Town)
Hotel UNIC Prague
Hotel UNIC Prague
#26 of 646 in Prague
1,760 reviews
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Design Hotel Jewel Prague
Mala Strana (Little Quarter)
Hotel Pod Vezi
Hotel Pod Vezi
#2 of 646 in Prague
2,964 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Maximilian Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maximilian Hotel

Address: Hastalska 14, Prague 110 00, Czech Republic
Phone Number:
Region: Czech Republic > Bohemia > Prague > Stare Mesto (Old Town) , Praha 1
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Prague
#11 Business Hotel in Prague
#15 Family Hotel in Prague
#17 Romantic Hotel in Prague
#27 Luxury Hotel in Prague
Price Range: £69 - £189 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Maximilian Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 71
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Maximilian Hotel is a modern yet cozy 4-star design boutique hotel with a personal touch. It is centrally located in the heart of Prague within walking distance of all major sights. Located on a quiet square, it is only 300 meters to the Jewish Quarter and 500 meters to Old Town Square and the Astronomic Clock. WiFi, tea and coffee are provided free of charge. The sumptuous breakfast buffet and a la carte breakfast offer is always included. The 71 well-appointed rooms all feature air-conditioning and face either the quiet Hastal Square or the inner courtyards, making Maximilian Hotel a great choice for guests who prefer a quiet and intimate hotel in a very central location. All guests have 24 hour access to a drawing room with a working fireplace, an honesty bar and a cozy library. Coffee, tea and homemade cakes and cookies are always available free of charge. The hotel also has an Asian inspired spa, Planet Zen. Maximilian Hotel's neighbourhood is full of restaurants, bars and individual design shops. Parizska Street with its many boutiques and beautiful buildings is just a few steps away. At Maximilian Hotel, reception and concierge service are available 24 hours a day. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Maximilian Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Prague Maximilian Hotel
Maximilian Prague

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing