We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We have never spent a night in such a small bedroom.”
Review of Maximilian Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Maximilian Hotel
Ranked #25 of 647 Hotels in Prague
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 21 September 2010

We are spending 3 nights at this hotel. Almost everything is perfect except for our very small room number 445 and the black colours in it. We asked the porter immediately at our arrival if all the rooms are this small and he replied yes. After 1 day being here and when the wifi stopped working I went to the reception and asked again if all the rooms are the same size ( I just could not imagine that a 4 star hotel would have only this kind of rooms and one suite) . The answer was yes again. This morning I saw another room been cleaned and it was much bigger than ours, just like on the picture of the website. I go down again and ask Miss Lucy of the reception what this room is called because I thought we could return in the future and ask for this kind of room. She did not give me a straight forward reply but gets rather arrogant and is doing like I am the one who is only complaining and not nice to her.....Finally she admits that this is also the same kind of room we have, but we are already in a discussion. Thank you Lucy; we will not come back here. The rest of the employees are really very nice.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank FrannySpain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,413)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,679 - 1,685 of 2,413 reviews

Reviewed 19 September 2010

If you're considering Maximilian and another comparable hotel that's more expensive, save your money and stay at the Maximilian. It doesn't have many bells and whistles, but it doesn't have many drawbacks either. The rooms are clean, king-size beds are available, the small extras are nice, the showers are nice, and the breakfast has enough variety that you can have something different to eat over a multiple day stay. The TV selection is pretty lousy for English speakers, however. BBC news, CNN world and Bloomberg News are your only English channels... how much news do we need? Once in a while, though, the German MTV and HBO will have something in English. (it's not that I want to watch a lot of TV while on vacation, but it's nice to watch when trying to adjust to the time zone) The hotel does have DVDs for rent, but we did not try this service.

As far as Prague goes, if you're considering other hotels, I recommend the Josefov; Mala Strana (the Little Quarter) also looked nice. The areas around the Old Town Square and Wenceslas Square are too busy and too touristy, in my opinion.

To get to the hotel, we arranged a shared shuttle from Prague Airport Transfers. Much like anywhere else, the cab drivers have a bad reputation and often take advantage of tourists. (http://www.prague-airport-transfers.co.uk/)

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CCSconsin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 September 2010

Hotel Maximilian has a great location, close to the main city square (less than 5 minutes walk). Room was nice and comfortable. Free WIFI in the room, speed of connection was not very high.
Breakfast is great, nice variety of products, qood quality. Staff very friendly. I personally prefer the other hotel from the same management though, just around the corner, Hotel Josef, which has a more modern design.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tom_vdv10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 September 2010

This was my first trip to Prague and this hotel is in a perfect location and absolutely perfect! The rooms are beautiful, the staff are friendly, and I could not have been happier. I would recommend this hotel to anyone traveling to Prague and staying near Old Town Square is the place to be.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AdventureSDB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 September 2010

Very good hotel with friendly staff. Amazing breakfast and very competitve rates. Not much more to add, would recommend to anyone.

One big plus is the underground parking, as you will get towed away if you park in the center of Prague (mostly limited to residential parking)

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pilotdude1000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2010

Located in the old city of Prague, this hotel was refurbished in 2005. It is close to the city centre as well as a number of the tourist featured areas such as the astronomical clock, the bridge and a number of churches etc. It is even in walking distance to the palace where you can see the changing of the guard. Okay - back to the hotel. The rooms are spacious, fitted with LCD TVs that actually work well, coffee & tea facilities, free internet, lounge chairs and a good size bathroom with a bath. Bathrobes and slippers are also part of the deal. The rooms are fitted with large beds, ultra clean and are very quiet in terms of sleep quality. Downstairs - there are two reading libraries with a mixture of newspapers, books and periodicals. There is also an 'honour bar' where you can get drinks (hot & cold) but are expected to be honest in noting usage and room # etc. The breakfast area is simply superb with a wide range of options, professionally waited and bright/cheery. The hotel seems to be well supported by business people which may be a good indication as to worth. For us thus far, it is simply the best hotel we have stayed in. That's not to say that there aren't better out there - but simply that this is our best experience. I don't know what it is about ex-communist countries, but their service and quality seems not only better but more important to them than the so called 'non-ex-communist' areas. The hotel also organises taxis at fixed prices so the you (read us) don't get ripped off going back to the airport/station/ship or wherever you wish to go. Would we recommend this hotel - definitely. Would we recommend the taxis at the railway station - no and watchout for the touts.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank acmee001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotelmaximilian, receptionist at Maximilian Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 September 2010

Dear acmee001,
there are no words to express how much we all appreciate these nice words you´ve written about our hotel. They are the award for our work.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2010

We searched online for a number of hotels to stay on our first time to visit Prgue. We were extremely pleased to share our experience with our choice: The Maximillian Hotel. This newly-built hotel, situated in the north quiet district of Prague, is within minutes of walking distance to all major sights and attractions of the city. The hotel is very clean from the lobby to the room we stayed. In the lobby were complimentary specialty drinking water. The hotel staff spoke fluent English, were very professional, helpful and informative. In our room, we were provided with a bottle of complimentary champagne and a warm welcoming greeting card. We were also provided with complimentary slippers, robe and umbrella .Our room is contemporary in design, very clean and the furnishings were state of the art. The room is very quiet comfortable, cozy and complimentary internet is provided. The breakfast was most accommodating even for people with diet preference ( we are vegetarians) scrumptious and varied. The service is first rate. The price of our stay was most reasonable for a luxury hotel.This hotel is highly recommended. It is really " A Prime Hotel in Prague"!

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JBDuo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Prague hotels
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Design Hotel Josef Prague
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Ventana Hotel Prague
Ventana Hotel Prague
#20 of 647 in Prague
1,323 reviews
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
The Emblem Hotel
The Emblem Hotel
#31 of 647 in Prague
1,174 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Unitas Hotel
Unitas Hotel
#9 of 647 in Prague
1,749 reviews
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Savic Hotel
Savic Hotel
#34 of 647 in Prague
2,495 reviews
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Design Hotel Jewel Prague
Design Hotel Jewel Prague
#10 of 647 in Prague
753 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Maximilian Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maximilian Hotel

Address: Hastalska 14, Prague 110 00, Czech Republic
Phone Number:
Region: Czech Republic > Bohemia > Prague > Stare Mesto (Old Town) , Praha 1
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Prague
#11 Business Hotel in Prague
#17 Romantic Hotel in Prague
#18 Family Hotel in Prague
#23 Luxury Hotel in Prague
Price Range: £94 - £233 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Maximilian Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 71
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Maximilian Hotel is a modern yet cozy 4-star design boutique hotel with a personal touch. It is centrally located in the heart of Prague within walking distance of all major sights. Located on a quiet square, it is only 300 meters to the Jewish Quarter and 500 meters to Old Town Square and the Astronomic Clock. WiFi, tea and coffee are provided free of charge. The sumptuous breakfast buffet and a la carte breakfast offer is always included. The 71 well-appointed rooms all feature air-conditioning and face either the quiet Hastal Square or the inner courtyards, making Maximilian Hotel a great choice for guests who prefer a quiet and intimate hotel in a very central location. All guests have 24 hour access to a drawing room with a working fireplace, an honesty bar and a cozy library. Coffee, tea and homemade cakes and cookies are always available free of charge. The hotel also has an Asian inspired spa, Planet Zen. Maximilian Hotel's neighbourhood is full of restaurants, bars and individual design shops. Parizska Street with its many boutiques and beautiful buildings is just a few steps away. At Maximilian Hotel, reception and concierge service are available 24 hours a day. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Maximilian Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Prague Maximilian Hotel
Maximilian Prague

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing