We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Romantik Hotel U Raka
Ranked #219 of 649 Hotels in Prague
Certificate of Excellence
Cheshire, UK
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Excellent hotel”
Reviewed 5 December 2013

We have just returned from a 3 night stay in Prague. From the moment you step inside this hotel feels warm, friendly and very comfortable. We stayed in room 5, a superior double and it was perfect for us. The photos give an accurate picture of the hotel and our room (didn't see the inside of any other bedrooms). This hotel is kept spotlessly clean, I didn't see a speck of dusk anywhere. The staff were friendly and courteous.
The location of the hotel is in lovely quiet residential area away from the main tourist/busy spots and therefore very peaceful at night. It is only a 5 minutes walk to the castle and a little further to Charles Bridge. It is downhill to Charles Bridge and quite a steep walk back at the end of the day, although as previous reviews have said you can get tram 22 to do all the work and then a short walk and a few steps down to the hotel. We purchased some tram tickets from the hotel.
I would definitely recommend this hotel and it was an absolute pleasure to stay there.

Room Tip: Room 5 - very comfortable with everything you need and a partitioned corner for hanging clothes and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank KIC2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

191 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    170
    17
    0
    4
    0
See reviews for
24
130
4
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Gaithersburg, Maryland
Level 5 Contributor
93 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 November 2013

This old-world hotel (with a delicious and graciously served breakfast on beautiful Czech-dinnerware) is tucked into a peaceful alley behind the Castle. We stayed here several days before our Danube River cruise.

The only detriment might be the distance to walk to restaurants...but, on the other hand.. a 5-10 minute walk before/after dinner is a lovely idea in such a wonderful area of Prague.

Room Tip: We had a room on the second floor which was spacious, with a fireplace and a cozy corner for a "...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Beth_of_MD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York,NY
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 October 2013

Our first time to Prague and we could not have picked a better place.
Super nice,room is very cozy.
Really justify the name - ROMANTIC. If you want to surprise your spouse then book this one. You will never regret it!
Close to everything, tram is just sets away

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank l2sip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 October 2013

U Raka was a perfect respite, tucked away from the crowds. Our room was lovely (where else can you have your own well) , and the evenings shared with the night manager and other guests chatting over warm cake and wine were a highlight!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank townjcvt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boquete, Panama
Level 6 Contributor
182 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 September 2013

This small hotel, 6 units, very much exceeded our expectations. Prague can get crowded with tourists and this location is on the fringe and very quiet. Still walking distance to the Charles Bridge but even closer to Prague Castle. We arranged a walking tour of the city which started at the hotel and it was excellent. Our room was terrific and all the staff were friendly and very helpful.

Room Tip: I think all rooms would have good sound quality.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LarryMichigan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Connecticut, USA
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 September 2013 via mobile

If you want to stay in Prague, and not be in the busy touristy center, enjoy a quiet location with the right amount of attention, beautiful interiors and outdoor spaces - then this is the place! Our first time to Prague and we could not have picked a better place. It is an easy walk to the castle and monastery and you can opt to walk to the Charles Bridge and old town and then hop on Tram 22 for the uphill ride home dropping you off a very short walk from the hotel. The breakfast is great and the staff welcoming and helpful. The rooms are gorgeous - we switched to the largest room when it became available - it was "first class" with multiple sitting areas, a fireplace and a sunroom you have to see to believe. We want to go back in the winter, simply to be able to use the fireplace in tht gorgeous room! Thank you to Mr. Paul and his team - you made our visit truly memorable!

Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank MeadowLG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wesley Chapel, Florida
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 August 2013

We spent four nights at Romantik Hotel U Raka in August. We were amazed upon arrival at the uniqueness of this six room family run cottage hotel. Alexander Paul, the owner, was the architect and builder of the hotel from the rocks up and every detail showed his creativity, quality orientation and attention to detail. Everything melded together in artistic harmony.

The hotel was spotless and the breakfast was wonderful in the cozy dining room with a very attentive staff. We had our own sun room and private patio. The location was excellent and a short walk to the castle or up steps to the #22 tram for a short four stop ride to the river area. There were excellent restaurants within walking distance and scenic views of the city over red tiled roofs.

Our stay at Romantik Hotel U Raka was the most memorable part of our trip to Prague. A unique experience and highly recommended.

Room Tip: We stayed in Room #6 and it lived up to all the accolades of previous guests' comments. We did...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LoveToTravel34728
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Prague hotels
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Hotel U Prince
Hotel U Prince
#153 of 649 in Prague
998 reviews
Hradcany & Letna
Hotel U Krale Karla (King Charles)
Mala Strana (Little Quarter)
Hotel U Pava
Hotel U Pava
#180 of 649 in Prague
359 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mala Strana (Little Quarter)
Hotel U Zeleneho hroznu (Hotel At the Green Grape)
Hradcany & Letna
Hotel Monastery
Hotel Monastery
#26 of 649 in Prague
432 reviews
Hradcany & Letna
Hotel Savoy
Hotel Savoy
#118 of 649 in Prague
247 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Romantik Hotel U Raka? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Romantik Hotel U Raka

Property: Romantik Hotel U Raka
Address: Cerninska 10/93, Prague 118 00, Czech Republic
Region: Czech Republic > Bohemia > Prague > Hradcany & Letna , Praha 1
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#23 Romantic Hotel in Prague
#137 Family Hotel in Prague
#178 Luxury Hotel in Prague
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Romantik Hotel U Raka 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Romantik Hotel U Raka offers romantic accommodation in the immediate vicinity of Prague Castle. The hotel is surrounded by many cultural monuments, picturesque corners, pleasant restaurants and little pubs. Spend a peaceful vacation in the very heart of Prague, in places where history is present at every step you take. Regardless of the season, you will always discover something here which will turn your vacation into an unforgettable romantic experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Cancelon so you can book your Romantik Hotel U Raka reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Romantik Hotel Prague

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing