We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable and convenient”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Best Western City Hotel Moran
Ranked #159 of 649 Hotels in Prague
Certificate of Excellence
Cape Town, South Africa
Level Contributor
113 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Comfortable and convenient”
Reviewed 2 July 2013 via mobile

Staff were pleasant and helpful. Facilities basic and adequate. Quite a long walk from the old town, but very close to Karlovo Namesti metro station. Breakfast was very sufficient but the offerings never changed.

Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank IanDogless
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

681 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    223
    333
    90
    24
    11
See reviews for
121
309
41
35
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (80)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Buenos Aires
Level Contributor
111 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 July 2013 via mobile

No security box in the room, no frigobar, no variety of breakfast, no friendly staff. Only good location.
We have made a reservation on Booking.com at nearly 80 euros, and it was cancelled at 12 pm. When we arrived al 5 pm, the employee said it could not collect the amount of the reservation,,so he cancelled it.
He said the room price was 124 euros (that is the amount on the hotel's web). We agreed and payed with credit card in zcek crowns.
How big was our surprise when we found out that he has charged 179 euros instead of 124.
We asked for refund and they answered that was the right price. If you worth your money, never go to that hotel!!!

Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
5 Thank Mezdal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
moranmanagement, General Manager at Best Western City Hotel Moran, responded to this review, 13 July 2013
Dear Sir,
We are very sorry about your review. Let me explain situation. The reservation was canceled by Booking not by our hotel because of not valid credit card. Despite of that our receptionist offer you room for rates which you agreed, than paid. You got bill and signed this bill. Hotel does not charge any ammount which was not accepted by you. We are very sorry that the situation with Booking.com our hotel cast a bad light, especially for the reason that we went up to meet you.
Hotel management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 June 2013

We stayed 4 nights in the hotel,the reception desk staff was not too helpful,he didn't even say hi when we arrived,just gave the room keys and a sheet with all the information we might need.The staff at breakfast was really polite,always saying good morning,and keep re-stocking the food&drinks.Breakfast was quite basic for a 4 star hotel, there was plenty selection but not the best quality products,filtered coffee ,tea and 2 types of juices,rooms were nice and spacious,very clean with comfortable beds.Located close to the tourist attractions(15min walk,or 5 min tram), there's a cafe opposite serving food,drinks,coffees,cakes.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ramona M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England
Level Contributor
74 reviews
74 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 201 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 June 2013

I shouldn't be too greedy here as I only paid £40 a night for a 3 night stay but based on previous reviews I was expecting a little more quality. Location is great, just round the corner from the Dancing House and Karlovi Namesti Metro station so transport from the airport is a simple bus to Zlicin then Metro to Karlovi Namesti, the first stop over the river on the Yellow Line after Andel. You can walk through Charles Square to the main city in a very pleasant 20-30 mins or so and over to Male Strana on the other side via the Palackeho bridge at the Dancing House. The building is nice and grand and reception was a simple but functional and not in your face experience. My room on the 3rd floor overlooked a pleasant green area on Na Morani and you could see the river if you peered out right through the impressive sound proof double windows. The room itself was fine, spacious but not that impressive in terms of quality. There was plenty of storage, tea and coffee facilities and fresh super comfortable linen and bedding. I felt the bathroom was cheaply assembled with a poor shower hose and head but as I only used the room to sleep and wash it did the job at a good price. Luckily this was a 'lads' holiday and room quality was not really much of an issue considering the time spent in it. It would have been nice to have a safe but not a major issue. I found the the free wifi to be excellent with a strong signal always available. Breakfast was a bonus and consisted of the usual European self-service with a scrambled eggs, sausages and bacon being the hot items and plenty of breads, cheeses, fruit and cereals. Being vegetarian I had the scrambled eggs on toast every day which was spot on for me. Perhaps, if there was a crazy rate available I would stay here again myself but definitely not for a romantic holiday or couples stay.

Room Tip: A room overlooking na Morani if you'd like a nice view
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank minky35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
740 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 386 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 May 2013

We stayed here for three nights and found the bedroom to be a good size, clean, a good decor, and with all that we needed - including complimentary coffee and tea, thank goodness. Only thing missing was an extractor fan. A helpful hotel guide tells you everything and breakfast finished at 11am - no need to try and hurry the wife along, especially as an English newspaper was available in the lobby. They have a great little mini-market in the lobby and a fridge in the bedroom. We would have appreciated a small safe in our room, however you can leave valuables in their main safe for free.

A computer and free web access was located in the lobby and although the hotel only has a breakfast facility, it has an arrangement with the 'out of this world' 'Cafe Amandine' across the road - a re-usable 10 percent discount. Breakfast was just superb with delicious food and helpful and friendly staff - the tables were closer to each other than usual but the place is busy.

Moran is very close to the superb Prague Botanic Gardens and it has a Metro Station just down the road with plenty of trams as well. The Vitava River is a short walk away and the Dancing House is a 'must see'. The Charles Bridge is only a ten minute walk away or a 2 minute tram ride. The hotel sells the 24 hour travel passes - only 110 Krona, what a great deal. Make sure you stamp it immediately you use it or the consequences are expensive.

The Cafe Local Bar two streets down the hill to the right was ideal for an evening drink and snack. They don't really speak English, but they are friendly, helpful, and they don't take advantage of tourists!

A very good place to stay and worth a return visit any day.

Room Tip: When it rains it can be noisy - metal covered windowsills. Keep the windows closed as the echo sound...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rossergruffydd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
France
Level Contributor
128 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 May 2013

The good points for us were the location (we didn't want to be in the centre of Prague). Our rooms was a good size, kept clean & the beds were comfortable. The trams & the metro were only a 3 minute walk away. Breakfast was good. Free wifi. The bad points were the lack of tourist information from the reception staff who were not particularly helpful or friendly. We've been to Prague a few times & know our way around but it's really not good when there are no tourist/tram maps available for first time visitors. There were a couple of maps under glass on the reception desk but there were none to take with you except a shopping map! (We gave away a couple of our tourist info maps to other guests). There is no bar in the hotel but they do have a little shop for drinks etc. Would we stay there again, no, because you would certainly get a 4 star hotel for the price we paid for this one.

Room Tip: If you like to have a window open at night then don't choose the front of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tilly00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
beersheba israel
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 29 April 2013

Try to get a room onto the courtyard, not near the tram noise. Everything else was dandy, and the amandine cafe opposite has great food. Front desk men helpful, breakfast fresh and lovely, a couple of English channels, not for granted in Czech republic.nearby nice botanical garden, a bit far fram the centre but tram 17 helps

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank susiezir
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Prague hotels
Praha 5
Best Western Hotel Kinsky Garden
Nove Mesto (New Town)
BEST WESTERN Hotel Pav
BEST WESTERN Hotel Pav
#200 of 649 in Prague
1,359 reviews
Nove Mesto (New Town)
BEST WESTERN PLUS Hotel Meteor Plaza
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Praha 2
Hotel Noir
Hotel Noir
#187 of 649 in Prague
369 reviews
Nove Mesto (New Town)
Hotel Adler
Hotel Adler
#124 of 649 in Prague
301 reviews
Praha 2
Hotel Galileo Prague
Hotel Galileo Prague
#112 of 649 in Prague
943 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western City Hotel Moran? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western City Hotel Moran

Property: Best Western City Hotel Moran
Address: Na Morani 15, Prague 120 00, Czech Republic
Phone Number:
Region: Czech Republic > Bohemia > Prague > Nove Mesto (New Town) , Praha 2
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#121 Business Hotel in Prague
#135 Luxury Hotel in Prague
#157 Romantic Hotel in Prague
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Best Western City Hotel Moran 4*
Number of rooms: 57
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The BW City Hotel Moran is a charming four star hotel in a beautiful historic building centrally located in Prague near Moldavia River. Within walking distance you will find most of Prague’s stunning sights, such as the National Theatre, Charle’s Bridge, Wenceslav’s Square, the Castle or the medieval town center. Situated near the hotel is also the Technical University, the Botanic Gardens, the VFN Clinic, the Ministry of Justice or the Czech Office for Standards, Metrology and Testing. Subway and Tramway stations are within a few hundred meters. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Agoda, Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Best Western City Hotel Moran reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Prague
Prague Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing