We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Kampa-Stara Zbrojnice
Ranked #132 of 647 Hotels in Prague
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 2 November 2012 via mobile

Perfect location in the beautiful Kampa area, but still walking distance to all touristic attractions.
Large, clean and cosy rooms. No trafic noise. Reception room could be more convenient.

Kind and service-minded personnel, good breakfast.
Only minus: hard beds = to sleep like on a stone.

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sirkka P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Přemysl M, Manager at Hotel Kampa-Stara Zbrojnice, responded to this reviewResponded 4 April 2013

Thank you for your nice review and recommendation. We are looking forward to see you in our hotel during your next visit of Prague.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (863)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

221 - 227 of 863 reviews

Reviewed 26 October 2012

I don't understand some of these other reviews. Hand pump soap is not a 4 star requirement? BFD. Pack a bar then. This hotel's location, staff and service made for a fantastic stay in Prague. Its' proximity to most of the major sites is perfect; literally around the corner from the funicular to Petrin Tower or a short 10 minute walk to Charles Bridge. But far enough away to miss the foot traffic and bustle in order to get some sleep! Wonderful old building. Very clean, the breakfast was more than adequate and the staff was polite and always willing to help. From czech-in to czech-out, no gripes about this hotel whatsoever and wouldn't hesitate to stay here again.

Room Tip: Very small lift, but a giant staircase. 4th floor room was very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GABlack23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Přemysl M, Manager at Hotel Kampa-Stara Zbrojnice, responded to this reviewResponded 15 November 2012

Thank you for your nice review and recommendation. We are looking forward to see you in our hotel during your next visit of Prague.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 October 2012

My father and I weren’t expecting such a great experience. Our room was huge and the beds were great, instead of some people opinion showed here.
The air conditioning was not necessary at all (and I was there during the summer!) and the bathroom was quite big enough.
We loved the breakfast! So many options and the live pianist songs! Great idea!
The only bad thing is the light in the room. We couldn’t read the maps at night.
But in our opinion, the hotel has a 9,9 grade.

Room Tip: Rooms in the fisrt floor depend of small stairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Heloisa C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Přemysl M, Manager at Hotel Kampa-Stara Zbrojnice, responded to this reviewResponded 4 April 2013

Thank you for your nice review and recommendation. We are looking forward to see you in our hotel during your next visit of Prague.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 October 2012

We haven't stayed at the hotel but we've had the pleasure to celebrate our union there. With no exaggeration it was truly wonderful experience. All people there, beginning with the owner himself, hotel director, managers, waiters, cooks etc. were really fantastic. We were amazed and impressed how professional service they provide. Interiors are beautiful and anyone interested in the medieval age would love it. And the food... superb quality, exquisite, delicious. Pity actually we didn't get the chance to stay there overnight because we have no doubts rooms are also top notch quality as the rest of the hotel and the personnel. Thank you very much!!!

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tomas Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Přemysl M, Manager at Hotel Kampa-Stara Zbrojnice, responded to this reviewResponded 28 October 2012

Dear sir, dear madam, first of all we want to thank you for the nice feedback. We have a long experience with the holding of congresses and weddings in our hotel - we do our best to prepare our customers the best services. We are also participate in the most important weddings fairs to gain the new experiences and ideas. We are looking forward to see you next time in our Hotel Kampa – Old Armory ****

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2012

Luckily I got the room for about 43EUR but would feel not right if paid the full price. Hotel is great as such, but rooms are stuffy and very hot in the summer without aircon or even a fan. The bathroom with only a handpump soap was not the 4 star requirement. Again, same same same issue with the staff - could not help that they treat clients with a bit of contempt, or is it still a Czech thing where people are not permanently happy and take it on the guests? Locality, property great, but did not feel like a guest there, merely as a somebody that has to be tolerated....Even worse that I actually was born in the Czech republic. ......

Room Tip: If you do not get the hotel for a good price at around 60 EUR per nite, look elsewhere, full price i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dagmar413
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 September 2012 via mobile

We arrived late in the evening and were negatively surprised when discovered that there were no lights in the room. (just small lamps by the bed). Next thing: the floor and the basin were ful of hair, we found human hair also in the bed(although the sheets were clean). The most surprising thing was the breakfast: there was no fresh bread, only slices of very old bread. There was cigarete ash on the "prepared" table cloth. For 4 stars hotel i would expect at least some fresh bread for breakfast...the stuff not friendly. Very good location though.

2  Thank christinashu
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Přemysl M, Manager at Hotel Kampa-Stara Zbrojnice, responded to this reviewResponded 2 October 2012

Hello,

I am very sorry for your review.

Rooms are equipped with standard lighting, cleaned and checked every day.
Bread is the hotel imported fresh every day, also on Saturdays and Sundays as well as public holidays.
The restaurant is non-smoking

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
A TripAdvisor Member
71
Reviewed 22 September 2012 via mobile

This hotel has a great location and the rooms are fine (but not worth $200US/150 euro). The bed was so hard I could not sleep. It was as comfortable as the floor, I am not exaggerating! This is a 3 star hotel, not 4 star. No shampoo only hand pump soap. Rooms are small.

The staff was friendly and helpful. The breakfast was the same as you get at any hotel in Prague - nothing special.

Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Přemysl M, Manager at Hotel Kampa-Stara Zbrojnice, responded to this reviewResponded 2 October 2012

Dear Guest,
thank you for your review.
Newly purchased mattresses in our hotel are certified by German company producing the products directly to hotels
Rooms are standard size in this historic building.
Shampoo and soap are in every bathroom.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Prague hotels
Mala Strana (Little Quarter)
Kampa Garden
Kampa Garden
#69 of 647 in Prague
774 reviews
Mala Strana (Little Quarter)
Hotel William
Hotel William
#116 of 647 in Prague
810 reviews
Hradcany & Letna
Hotel U Krale Karla (King Charles)
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mala Strana (Little Quarter)
Hotel Roma Prague
Hotel Roma Prague
#150 of 647 in Prague
1,890 reviews
Mala Strana (Little Quarter)
Hotel U Tri Pstrosu (At the Three Ostriches)
Mala Strana (Little Quarter)
Hotel Waldstein
Hotel Waldstein
#118 of 647 in Prague
785 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Kampa-Stara Zbrojnice? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Kampa-Stara Zbrojnice

Address: Vshehrdova 450/16, Prague 118 00, Czech Republic
Region: Czech Republic > Bohemia > Prague > Mala Strana (Little Quarter) , Praha 1
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#62 Best Value Hotel in Prague
#113 Luxury Hotel in Prague
#150 Family Hotel in Prague
#151 Romantic Hotel in Prague
Price Range: £48 - £120 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Kampa-Stara Zbrojnice 4*
Number of rooms: 84
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelsClick, Ebookers and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel Kampa-Stara Zbrojnice reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Kampa
Best Western Prague
Prague Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing