We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Quiet Location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Kampa-Stara Zbrojnice
Ranked #135 of 648 Hotels in Prague
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 9 December 2012

Set away from all the hustle & bustle the Kampa is good if you want to peace & quiet. It is near to tram routes that take you into the city centre & the castle. The twin room was big enough but not massive & very clean but could have done with a second chair & another bedside light. The beds were very firm, verging on hard & though the pillows were lovely & soft they didn't have enough filling in them so, as they were very big, we folded them in half & then they were comfy. The bathroom (shower not bath) was also very clean & in good condition - no cracked tiles or leaking taps!!! The large dining room came as a bit of a surprise with all it's suits of armour & heraldic paintings over the walls & vaulted ceiling & it was unusual, but pleasant, to have a pianist playing nice old fashioned music at breakfast but it would have been nice to have him play in the evening also! There was a good selection of food for breakfast, including sprouts, carrots & cauliflower!!! The evening meals were reasonably priced & tasty & the waiters very pleasant & helpful. The bar was very small & I saw only two people use it! The reception area was really too small & pokey for the size of the hotel. Watch out for the price of the water in the bedrooms - a litre bottle cost us nearly £5. All in all we were very happy with the Kampa & are planning to visit again.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gulliver-Gallivanter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Přemysl M, Manager at Hotel Kampa-Stara Zbrojnice, responded to this reviewResponded 6 January 2013

Dear clients, thank you for your nice review and recommendation. We are looking forward to see you in our hotel during your next visit of Prague.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (859)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

214 - 220 of 859 reviews

Reviewed 5 December 2012

Breakfast staff not polite or friendly .. Quality of breakfast very poor .. Everything tasted cheap .. Orange juice not fresh .. On second day choose to go out for breakfast rather than eat in hotel ..
Poor lighting in bedroom . No light beside second bed .. We had a twin room ..
Pillows needed replaced .. Reception polite & helpful enough ..

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank cheryl g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Přemysl M, Manager at Hotel Kampa-Stara Zbrojnice, responded to this reviewResponded 9 December 2012

Dear guests, thank you for feedback .
We are sorry that you were not satisfied with your stay with us.
We prepare the fresh breakfast every day and breakfast in our hotel fully meets the requirements of **** hotel. We always want to do something more for our guest (line extension of dishes, live pianist during the breakfast, etc..)
Rooms are equipped with standard lifting for hotels.
We sincerely hope that you will come back and we are looking forward to welcome you at our hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 December 2012

Interesting place in many ways - breakfast a surreal experience in a highly decorated room complete with suits of armour, and accompanied by a frantic pianist. As already mentioned beds are on the stone side of hard but the Kampa is in a good location and all areas of the city easily accessible.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Noodle4912
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Přemysl M, Manager at Hotel Kampa-Stara Zbrojnice, responded to this reviewResponded 9 December 2012

Dear guests, thank you for feedback .
Our hotel is fully equiped with the new mattress from the eminent german producer and with the certificate for the hotel use.
We prepare the fresh breakfast every day and breakfast in our hotel fully meets the requirements of **** hotel. We always want to do something more for our guest (line extension of dishes, live pianist during the breakfast, etc..)
We sincerely hope that you will come back and we are looking forward to welcome you at our hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 December 2012

Great place to stay if you are here for a few days, easy to walk to the main attractions and close to the main tram lines. They obviously major on short break visitors so its the basic bed and breakfast thats provided. Rooms are roomy but beds are hard so be prepared! Also pillows could do with replacing and as someone else mentioned there is no bath (at least in our room) which would have been very welcome after 8 hours walking around the city. We ate out on the three evenings we were there but a slightly more welcoming bar area would have been good. Could try harder but its a good location.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MAilliwN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Přemysl M, Manager at Hotel Kampa-Stara Zbrojnice, responded to this reviewResponded 9 December 2012

Dear guests, thank you for feedback .
Our hotel is fully equiped with the new mattress from the eminent german producer and with the certificate for the hotel use.
Bathroom is equiped with all the basic hygienic needs – other products are availabe at the reception desk.
Our hotel staff are regularly trained
We sincerely hope that you will come back and we are looking forward to welcome you at our hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 November 2012

Very gentle staff, very nice room, beautiful breakfest with musician , worm and cosy. The only downside: no bath, which we required ., and oher guests in the room next to ours talking late in the night so we could hear each word ( no insulation between the rooms).
Thanks for everything.)

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Helena S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Přemysl M, Manager at Hotel Kampa-Stara Zbrojnice, responded to this reviewResponded 9 December 2012

Dear guests, thank you for feedback .
We sincerely hope that you will come back and we are looking forward to welcome you at our hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 November 2012

We chose the Kampa for a short break to Prague to celebrate my father's 70th birthday, and had two rooms for my parents and myself/wife. The location proved to be excellent - down a quiet side street but only 2 minutes walk from a tram stop for the numbers 12,20 or 22 trams. The staff were attentive and professional - not always a given in Prague! Requests for extra pillows and airport taxis were promptly dealt with etc.

The room was a good size - large twin beds and a decent bathroom. The mattresses are a little firm, but did not give either of us a bad back and in fact were more comfortable than I expected. The decor is extremely quirky around the hotel. Suits of armour, swords and crossbows abound. It gives the place great atmosphere.

Breakfast is excellent - a wide range of items including cooked, with the bread always fresh and tasty. You can either jump on the tram 1 stop or walk to the Charles Bridge. Tram tickets are available from the little shops on the main road - a day ticket for all trams, metros, buses and the funicular is only Kc 110. Dont forget to validate it - I we saw a large group of Russian tourists buy tickets for the funicular, fail to validate them and then they were met by two ticket inspectors at the top - a straight Kc 900 fine I believe!

Room Tip: Even numbered rooms face Kampa island - a nicer view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MiltonKeynesTimbo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Přemysl M, Manager at Hotel Kampa-Stara Zbrojnice, responded to this reviewResponded 28 November 2012

Thank you for your nice review and recommendation. We are looking forward to see you in our hotel during your next visit of Prague.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 November 2012

This hotel is very well located, central and not far from the main atractions; the area is one of the most beautifull of the town. The quality is very good: rooms are nice and well equipped, breakfast restaurant is ok and the food quality is very good. The staff is very well prepared and also very kind.
My general opinion is very good!!

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank filobacc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Přemysl M, Manager at Hotel Kampa-Stara Zbrojnice, responded to this reviewResponded 15 November 2012

Thank you for your nice review and recommendation.We prepare the fresh breakfast every day and breakfast in our hotel fully meets the requirements of **** hotel. We always want to do something more for our guest (line extension of dishes, live pianist during the breakfast, etc..) We are looking forward to see you in our hotel during your next visit of Prague

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Prague hotels
Mala Strana (Little Quarter)
Kampa Garden
Kampa Garden
#71 of 648 in Prague
768 reviews
Mala Strana (Little Quarter)
Hotel William
Hotel William
#117 of 648 in Prague
793 reviews
Mala Strana (Little Quarter)
Hotel Waldstein
Hotel Waldstein
#120 of 648 in Prague
779 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mala Strana (Little Quarter)
Hotel Roma Prague
Hotel Roma Prague
#151 of 648 in Prague
1,881 reviews
Hradcany & Letna
Hotel U Krale Karla (King Charles)
Mala Strana (Little Quarter)
Hotel U Krize
Hotel U Krize
#238 of 648 in Prague
308 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Kampa-Stara Zbrojnice? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Kampa-Stara Zbrojnice

Address: Vshehrdova 450/16, Prague 118 00, Czech Republic
Region: Czech Republic > Bohemia > Prague > Mala Strana (Little Quarter) , Praha 1
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#55 Best Value Hotel in Prague
#117 Luxury Hotel in Prague
#150 Family Hotel in Prague
#151 Romantic Hotel in Prague
Price Range: £47 - £121 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Kampa-Stara Zbrojnice 4*
Number of rooms: 84
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Expedia, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Kampa-Stara Zbrojnice reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Kampa
Best Western Prague
Prague Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing