We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Value...Great Location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Kampa-Stara Zbrojnice
Ranked #142 of 649 Hotels in Prague
Certificate of Excellence
Hot Springs, Arkansas
Level 4 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great Value...Great Location”
Reviewed 2 January 2013

We researched Prague vacations for months before our Oct 2012 trip. You won't go wrong at the Kampa Hotel. Great location and great price. I though the bed was as hard as a rock, but I was wrong: great night's sleep every night. Excellent breakfast. Wonderful man plays piano during breakfast. Trust me... this place is a great place for your money! Prague has got to be the most photogenic city on earth. You will not be disappointed!

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Phil H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Přemysl M, Manager at Hotel Kampa-Stara Zbrojnice, responded to this review, 6 January 2013
Dear guests, thank you for feedback and let me reply to your review.Our hotel is fully equiped with the new mattress from the eminent german producer and with the certificate for the hotel use. We sincerely hope that you will come back and we are looking forward to welcome you at our hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

824 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    290
    348
    125
    38
    23
See reviews for
88
431
55
58
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Denver, Colorado
2 reviews
Reviewed 30 December 2012

I enjoyed the ambiance of the hotel and the out of the way area. We stayed in summer and with no air conditioning it was hot! room was large enough for 2 people and the bathroom was large enough also. did not have the breakfast so cannot say how that was. Did hear what was going on in the street because our room was located overlooking the street.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cutenshort
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Přemysl M, Manager at Hotel Kampa-Stara Zbrojnice, responded to this review, 6 January 2013
Dear guests, thank you for your review. Our hotel is situated in historical building and for this reason it is not possible to install aircondition. guests can ask for the fan at the reception desk. We sincerely hope that this situation did not influence your impressions from our hotel and from Prague and we would like to invite you for the next stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oslo, Norway
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 December 2012

Definitely a case of 'you get what you pay'. I am guessing that there are a lot better deals to be found out there. The rooms are pretty tacky (not necessarily in a good way) and the breakfast is pretty awful. Service was nothing special (and it's best not to have them arrange for a taxi because the charge an excessive set fee). The hotel is in a sort of hip neighborhood but not exactly in the center of it all - about a 10 minute walk to the St. Charles Bridge. On the plus side, it is in a nice and quiet area. The bed was comfortable but the shower was tiny and awful. I would check the bathroom before unpacking your suitcase.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lee_in_Chicago
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Přemysl M, Manager at Hotel Kampa-Stara Zbrojnice, responded to this review, 6 January 2013
Dear guests, Thank you for your nice review and recommendation.
Our hotel is fully equiped with the new mattress from the eminent german producer and with the certificate for the hotel use.
Bathroom is equiped with all the basic hygienic needs – other products are availabe at the reception desk
We are looking forward to see you in our hotel during your next visit of Prague.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 16 December 2012

Beautiful hotel and in a lovely location, quiet area and a few steps from all the sights and sounds of Prague. Charles Bridge is a 10 min walk away through Kampa Park. Ignore all the negative comments and give it a try, you will not be disappointed, enjoy Kampa Island and the Hotal Kampa.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alfie1971
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Přemysl M, Manager at Hotel Kampa-Stara Zbrojnice, responded to this review, 7 March 2013
Thank you for your nice review and recommendation. We are looking forward to see you in our hotel during your next visit of Prague.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England, UK
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 December 2012

Set away from all the hustle & bustle the Kampa is good if you want to peace & quiet. It is near to tram routes that take you into the city centre & the castle. The twin room was big enough but not massive & very clean but could have done with a second chair & another bedside light. The beds were very firm, verging on hard & though the pillows were lovely & soft they didn't have enough filling in them so, as they were very big, we folded them in half & then they were comfy. The bathroom (shower not bath) was also very clean & in good condition - no cracked tiles or leaking taps!!! The large dining room came as a bit of a surprise with all it's suits of armour & heraldic paintings over the walls & vaulted ceiling & it was unusual, but pleasant, to have a pianist playing nice old fashioned music at breakfast but it would have been nice to have him play in the evening also! There was a good selection of food for breakfast, including sprouts, carrots & cauliflower!!! The evening meals were reasonably priced & tasty & the waiters very pleasant & helpful. The bar was very small & I saw only two people use it! The reception area was really too small & pokey for the size of the hotel. Watch out for the price of the water in the bedrooms - a litre bottle cost us nearly £5. All in all we were very happy with the Kampa & are planning to visit again.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gulliver-Gallivanter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Přemysl M, Manager at Hotel Kampa-Stara Zbrojnice, responded to this review, 6 January 2013
Dear clients, thank you for your nice review and recommendation. We are looking forward to see you in our hotel during your next visit of Prague.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Prague
1 review
Reviewed 5 December 2012

Breakfast staff not polite or friendly .. Quality of breakfast very poor .. Everything tasted cheap .. Orange juice not fresh .. On second day choose to go out for breakfast rather than eat in hotel ..
Poor lighting in bedroom . No light beside second bed .. We had a twin room ..
Pillows needed replaced .. Reception polite & helpful enough ..

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
Thank cheryl g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Přemysl M, Manager at Hotel Kampa-Stara Zbrojnice, responded to this review, 9 December 2012
Dear guests, thank you for feedback .
We are sorry that you were not satisfied with your stay with us.
We prepare the fresh breakfast every day and breakfast in our hotel fully meets the requirements of **** hotel. We always want to do something more for our guest (line extension of dishes, live pianist during the breakfast, etc..)
Rooms are equipped with standard lifting for hotels.
We sincerely hope that you will come back and we are looking forward to welcome you at our hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 December 2012

Interesting place in many ways - breakfast a surreal experience in a highly decorated room complete with suits of armour, and accompanied by a frantic pianist. As already mentioned beds are on the stone side of hard but the Kampa is in a good location and all areas of the city easily accessible.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Noodle4912
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Přemysl M, Manager at Hotel Kampa-Stara Zbrojnice, responded to this review, 9 December 2012
Dear guests, thank you for feedback .
Our hotel is fully equiped with the new mattress from the eminent german producer and with the certificate for the hotel use.
We prepare the fresh breakfast every day and breakfast in our hotel fully meets the requirements of **** hotel. We always want to do something more for our guest (line extension of dishes, live pianist during the breakfast, etc..)
We sincerely hope that you will come back and we are looking forward to welcome you at our hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Prague hotels
Mala Strana (Little Quarter)
Kampa Garden
Kampa Garden
#75 of 649 in Prague
742 reviews
Mala Strana (Little Quarter)
Hotel Roma Prague
Hotel Roma Prague
#143 of 649 in Prague
1,840 reviews
Mala Strana (Little Quarter)
Hotel William
Hotel William
#121 of 649 in Prague
723 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mala Strana (Little Quarter)
The Golden Scissors
The Golden Scissors
#78 of 649 in Prague
339 reviews
Mala Strana (Little Quarter)
Hotel U Krize
Hotel U Krize
#233 of 649 in Prague
295 reviews
Mala Strana (Little Quarter)
Archibald At the Charles Bridge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Kampa-Stara Zbrojnice? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Kampa-Stara Zbrojnice

Property: Hotel Kampa-Stara Zbrojnice
Address: Vshehrdova 450/16, Prague 118 00, Czech Republic
Region: Czech Republic > Bohemia > Prague > Mala Strana (Little Quarter) , Praha 1
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#121 Luxury Hotel in Prague
#150 Family Hotel in Prague
#151 Romantic Hotel in Prague
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Kampa-Stara Zbrojnice 4*
Number of rooms: 84
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and Ebookers so you can book your Hotel Kampa-Stara Zbrojnice reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Kampa
Best Western Prague
Prague Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing