We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great value- brilliant location” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Kampa-Stara Zbrojnice

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Kampa-Stara Zbrojnice
Ranked #145 of 670 Hotels in Prague
Certificate of Excellence
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great value- brilliant location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 April 2014

A very quirky, eccentric hotel which we loved (as the standard hotel rooms these days are all the same- you could be anywhere in the world). We stayed for four nights.
Reception staff were very helpful, opening doors, carrying luggage, leaping to get the lift for you etc. The older bedroom staff were a bit guarded and aloof, but the younger ones friendly- this is more to do with their history I suspect .
Breakfast was very varied and plentiful, with British and european tastes in mind- though the bacon was overzealously cooked! Our room overlooked the museum carpark at the rear and was very quiet- though all of the rooms would be quiet as the hotel is down a side street. A pity our window wouldn't open, as we hit the first hot weather of the year- there is no aircon.
We were comfortable though, the beds are lovely and the ceilings high, so you get a good sense of space.
A tip for getting to the Charles bridge: turn right outside the hotel- at the end of the hotel turn right through an arch into the carpark. Cut diagonally across and cross the bridge onto Kampa island. Turn right and follow your nose to the bridge steps.

Room Tip: The bottled water is expensive- fill your own from the tap or buy while you're out.Lots of mini...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LouiseG1510
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Přemysl M, Manager at Hotel Kampa-Stara Zbrojnice, responded to this review, 13 April 2014
Dear LouisseG1510,
I am most grateful for your kind comments on TripAdvisor. Thank you kindly for taking the time to share your experience and for indicating you would recommend our Hotel Kampa – Old Armoury. Hotel Kampa is ideally situated in the most prestigious and beautiful part of Prague just few meters from Kampa Island.
All sights of the historic city center are within walking distance.
We certainly look forward to welcome you.

Sincerely
Přemysl M.
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

780 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    269
    334
    119
    36
    22
See reviews for
81
406
53
55
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
durham uk
Level Contributor
514 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 248 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 March 2014

Prague is an exceptionally beautiful city,and one we always enjoy spending a short break in,and Hotel Kampa has always served us well on our visits. It's perfectly located in a very central area yet tucked away on a discreet,quaint cobbled lane,so allows you to relax and let Prague sink in gently. It is equipped with free Wifi and all mod cons,and yet manages to pull off a medieval atmosphere with it's décor of suits of armour,and weapons etc. The rooms,breakfast,and staff all work well together and contribute to a highly satisfactory stay.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sunlunlad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Přemysl M, Manager at Hotel Kampa-Stara Zbrojnice, responded to this review, 30 March 2014
Dear sunlunlad
I am very pleased to read your kind comments on TripAdvisor. Thank you very much for taking the time to share your feedback from your stay at Hotel Kampa – Old Armoury.
We welcome you again at our hotel during your next visit.
Kind regards.
Přemysl M.
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berlin, Germany
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 March 2014 via mobile

We stayed there for 3 nights and all in all liked it. It is very affordable, the staff is very friendly, the breakfast buffet offers many choices. The hotel is in a quiet neighbourhood and rooms are not too small. On the downside, the drain in the bathroom was very very smelly, so we needed to keep the window open.

Helpful?
Thank Krustowsky
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Přemysl M, Manager at Hotel Kampa-Stara Zbrojnice, responded to this review, 30 March 2014
Dear Krustowski,

I am very pleased to read your positive review from your recent stay with us at Hotel Kampa – Old Armoury. Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback and your observations. We train our staff regularly and we teach them the accommodating behavior. In case of any problem, always contact our hotel reception.I am delighted to read that you have been overall impressed with the quality of our hotel and service. We welcome you again at our hotel during your next visit.
Kind regards.
Přemysl M.
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Kamloops, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 March 2014

We stayed at Hotel Kampa for 5 nights while visiting Prague last August. The Hotel staff was awesome and so was the breakfast buffet. It was a great location and was within walking distance of everything we wanted to see in Old Prague, just minutes from the Charles Bridge. I loved the open windows and the only thing that we had an issue with was the beds were very hard, if you like hard beds then this is perfect for you. Would highly recommend this Hotel on everything else!

Room Tip: Not sure where our room was located but we had it looking over a courtyard so was very quiet. Rooms...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Brenda F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Přemysl M, Manager at Hotel Kampa-Stara Zbrojnice, responded to this review, 15 March 2014
Dear Brenda F,
thank you very much for taking the time to share your feedback from your recent stay with us at Hotel Kampa – Old Armoury. I am very pleased to learn that you enjoyed your trip.Our hotel is fully equiped with the new mattress from the eminent german producer and with the certificate for the hotel use.
Thank you for your positive rating and for recommending our hotel to TripAdvisor.
Best regards.
Přemysl M.
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Exmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 March 2014

Just returned from a 3 night stay at this hotel. Excellent stay, great varied breakfast good clean rooms and very quiet location yet close to everything. Very helpful staff. Only downside were the uncomfortable pillows and no kettle in room. Would certainly recommend it.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Přemysl M, Manager at Hotel Kampa-Stara Zbrojnice, responded to this review, 2 March 2014
Dear Jan H.,
I am very pleased to read your kind comments on TripAdvisor. Thank you very much for taking the time to share your feedback from your stay at Hotel Kampa – Old Armoury.We prepare the breakfast every day and all our products are high quality. Breakfast at our hotel fully meets the standards of **** hotel. We always want to do something more for our guest (line extension of dishes, live pianist during the breakfast, etc..) Kettles can get from the hotel reception.
We welcome you again at our hotel during your next visit.
Kind regards.
Přemysl M.
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yardville, New Jersey
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 February 2014

Interesting decor, delicious breakfast, clean and comfortable rooms. The bed was very hard so I used the down filled blanket as a mattress cover and the bedspread as my blanket. Great Location, short distance to the Charles Bridge and near a lovely park on the river with an art gallery.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ellen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Přemysl M, Manager at Hotel Kampa-Stara Zbrojnice, responded to this review, 2 March 2014
Dear Ellen M.,
thank you very much for taking the time to share your feedback from your recent stay with us at Hotel Kampa – Old Armoury. Hotel Kampa is ideally situated in the most prestigious and beautiful part of Prague just few meters from Kampa Island.
All sights of the historic city center are within walking distance.
Our hotel is fully equiped with the new mattress from the eminent german producer and with the certificate for the hotel use. I am very pleased to learn that you enjoyed your trip.
Thank you for your positive rating and for recommending our hotel to TripAdvisor.We sincerely hope that you will come back and we are looking forward to welcome you at our hotel.
Best regards.
Přemysl M.
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Prague hotels
Mala Strana (Little Quarter)
Kampa Garden
Kampa Garden
#89 of 670 in Prague
4.5 of 5 bubbles 699 reviews
Mala Strana (Little Quarter)
Hotel William
Hotel William
#123 of 670 in Prague
4.0 of 5 bubbles 621 reviews
Mala Strana (Little Quarter)
Hotel Roma Prague
Hotel Roma Prague
#154 of 670 in Prague
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,752 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mala Strana (Little Quarter)
Certovka Hotel
Certovka Hotel
#135 of 670 in Prague
4.5 of 5 bubbles 288 reviews
Mala Strana (Little Quarter)
Archibald At the Charles Bridge
Mala Strana (Little Quarter)
Hotel U Krize
Hotel U Krize
#215 of 670 in Prague
4.0 of 5 bubbles 260 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Kampa-Stara Zbrojnice? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Kampa-Stara Zbrojnice

Property: Hotel Kampa-Stara Zbrojnice
Address: Vshehrdova 450/16, Prague 118 00, Czech Republic
Region: Czech Republic > Bohemia > Prague > Mala Strana (Little Quarter) , Praha 1
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#124 Luxury Hotel in Prague
#151 Family Hotel in Prague
#152 Romantic Hotel in Prague
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Kampa-Stara Zbrojnice 4*
Number of rooms: 84
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Kampa-Stara Zbrojnice reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Kampa
Best Western Prague
Prague Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing