We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent location but below our expectation and too expensive for what it offers.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Kampa-Stara Zbrojnice
Ranked #142 of 650 Hotels in Prague
Certificate of Excellence
Brussels
Level Contributor
143 reviews
83 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“Excellent location but below our expectation and too expensive for what it offers.”
Reviewed 13 May 2014

In spite of the very attractive website and professional photos, I was disappointed by this hotel considering the price. The positive thing is its location, at 5 minutes walk from the Charles bridge, Vltava river or National theatre. Located in the “no parking” area, hotel proposes its own parking at 450 CZK a day. Not cheap as for this price you have a nice diner for four it the same area. However, the border of this “no parking” zone is at some 200 m and with little bit of lack, you can park your car at no cost once you unloaded your luggage. The rooms are small, oldish and not extremely clean. I found the previous guest's hair (a lot) on the carpet, not so appetizing. The bathroom is small. I had just a shower, very small, with the wet shower curtain sticking on my back, not really hygienic. The bath has a simple soap dispenser, no body lotion, or body milk, no shampoo. No coffee set is proposed either. I paid between 100 to 200 Euro depending the night (strange practise) and consider therefore that for a price of 200 Euro the room is much too expensive. The breakfast was good with a large choice of items. Notably the local cakes/tarts were excellent but also were quickly gone and not “restocked”. Attractive choice of fresh fruits and fruit salad is a plus point.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank VaclavBrussels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Přemysl M, Manager at Hotel Kampa-Stara Zbrojnice, responded to this review, 25 May 2014
Dear VaclavBrussels,
thank you very much for taking the time to share your feedback from your recent stay with us at Hotel Kampa – Old Armoury. Bathroom is equiped with all the basic hygienic needs – other products are availabe at the reception desk. I am very pleased to learn that you enjoyed your trip. Thank you for your positive rating and for recommending our hotel to TripAdvisor.
Best regards.

Přemysl M.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

803 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    281
    341
    122
    37
    22
See reviews for
86
418
55
55
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 April 2014

We stayed at the hotel for three nights. Though the hotel was a bit small, it also was cozy and comfortable. The rooms are tastefully decorated. Spectacular dining room with nice music played by a pianist during breakfast. The breakfast itself was very, very rich and delicious. Great location at a good price. We would defiantly stay there again.
On the down side the mattresses were too hard and the rooms bit too small.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lisunm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Přemysl M, Manager at Hotel Kampa-Stara Zbrojnice, responded to this review, 25 May 2014
Dear Lisunm,
thank you very much for taking the time to share your feedback from your recent stay with us at Hotel Kampa – Old Armoury. I am very pleased to learn that you enjoyed your trip.
Thank you for your positive rating and for recommending our hotel to TripAdvisor.
Best regards.

Přemysl M.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 April 2014

The location is great on a quite street in a convenient location. When you walk in you think this place is going to be great as it has a nice feel and they did a nice job of the aesthetics. It runs down hill from there. There is no AC so do not stay here when it is hot. As for comfort, we got a large king bed but they gave us to separate small quilts to lose. The bed was uncomfortable and pillows were thin. The shower is tiny and they do not give you shampoo and conditioner. Bathroom was tiny in general. The staff was nice but not helpful when it came to trying to find restaurants. Answering most of our questions seemed to be very difficult for them.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Howard S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Přemysl M, Manager at Hotel Kampa-Stara Zbrojnice, responded to this review, 26 April 2014
Dear Howard S.,
I am very pleased to read your positive review from your recent stay with us at Hotel Kampa – Old Armoury. Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback and your observations. Our hotel is fully equiped with the new mattress from the eminent german producer, with the certificate for the hotel use. Bathroom is equiped with all the basic hygienic needs – other products are availabe at the reception desk.
Our hotel is historical building with very strict rules from the Antiquities Authority, for this reason it is not possible to install aircondition. Our guests can ask for the fan at the reception desk.We train our staff regularly and we teach them the accommodating behavior. We welcome you again at our hotel during your next visit.
Kind regards.

Přemysl M.
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
32 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 April 2014 via mobile

So, I travel a lot and am used to quirky places. Next time I will not stay here. This is not quirky, this is bad.

Uncomfortable beds, too small quilts, lumpy pillows, cramped bathrooms, small rooms, paper thin walls between rooms, lack of a/c, death trap of an elevator (fits two people only), no parking, weird little pump soap dispensers in the bathrooms instead of little shampoo bottles / soap, no wash cloths, no facial tissues, minute desks (not work / laptop friendly), not enough electrical outlets, minimal tv channels (only cnn in English), definitely not kid friendly, breakfast until 10 but out of food by 9:30, no security peephole in hotel room door, $6 bottled water in the room, minimal common area / space (it's your room or outside) ... I could go on ... Some of these things may not be important to you, but the total effect is bad.

This is a slapped together renovation of an old building that doesn't work well. They should have invested a little more money and done it right. Maybe they still have the chance as the building across the road looks to be falling down and in dire need of renovation.

The breakfast area and bar are cute to a non-European eye. They obviously employed some sheet metal craftsmen to make a lot of replica armor / weapons / stuff to create atmosphere. Europeans may find it tacky - especially when coupled with the live piano music at breakfast (the little guy seems really nice though and can bang out the tunes). Shame that none of that creative energy made it to the rooms that you stay in. They feel straight from the 80s.

Find somewhere else. 2 stars for location and the live piano music at breakfast. None for comfort. I am writing this at 2am after being woken up by my noisy neighbor next door with the creaky bed. But it didn't take much as this bed is so darned uncomfortable. Good thing the city is so pretty - that's the only excuse to stay somewhere like this - it would fail anywhere else.

Come on guys - you can do better. There are some easy things you can fix right away that could push this hotel back into the quirky category rather than have me not want to stay here again.

Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Patrick_from_PA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Přemysl M, Manager at Hotel Kampa-Stara Zbrojnice, responded to this review, 13 April 2014
Dear Patrick from Pa,
thank you for feedback and let me reply to your review.
We are sorry that you were not satisfied with your stay with us. Hotel is historical building with very strict rules from the Antiquities Authority Hotel is called the Old Armory, so at the decoration of the historical period.Our hotel is fully equiped with the new mattress from the eminent german producer, with the certificate for the hotel use.
Bathroom is equiped with all the basic hygienic needs – other products are availabe at the reception desk. Our hotel has a car park 10 meters away. We train our staff regularly and we teach them the accommodating behavior. We prepare the fresh breakfast every day and breakfast in our hotel fully meets the requirements of **** hotel. We always want to do something more for our guest (line extension of dishes, live pianist during the breakfast, etc..) Our receptionist can help you with orientation in our beautiful city. All historical sights are in walking distance, but in case you need public transfer tickets, do not hesitate to contact our reception desk. We sincerely hope that this situation did not influence your impressions from our hotel and from Prague and we would like to invite you for the next stay.

Best regards
Přemysl M.
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 April 2014

A very quirky, eccentric hotel which we loved (as the standard hotel rooms these days are all the same- you could be anywhere in the world). We stayed for four nights.
Reception staff were very helpful, opening doors, carrying luggage, leaping to get the lift for you etc. The older bedroom staff were a bit guarded and aloof, but the younger ones friendly- this is more to do with their history I suspect .
Breakfast was very varied and plentiful, with British and european tastes in mind- though the bacon was overzealously cooked! Our room overlooked the museum carpark at the rear and was very quiet- though all of the rooms would be quiet as the hotel is down a side street. A pity our window wouldn't open, as we hit the first hot weather of the year- there is no aircon.
We were comfortable though, the beds are lovely and the ceilings high, so you get a good sense of space.
A tip for getting to the Charles bridge: turn right outside the hotel- at the end of the hotel turn right through an arch into the carpark. Cut diagonally across and cross the bridge onto Kampa island. Turn right and follow your nose to the bridge steps.

Room Tip: The bottled water is expensive- fill your own from the tap or buy while you're out.Lots of mini...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LouiseG1510
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Přemysl M, Manager at Hotel Kampa-Stara Zbrojnice, responded to this review, 13 April 2014
Dear LouisseG1510,
I am most grateful for your kind comments on TripAdvisor. Thank you kindly for taking the time to share your experience and for indicating you would recommend our Hotel Kampa – Old Armoury. Hotel Kampa is ideally situated in the most prestigious and beautiful part of Prague just few meters from Kampa Island.
All sights of the historic city center are within walking distance.
We certainly look forward to welcome you.

Sincerely
Přemysl M.
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
durham uk
Level Contributor
521 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 256 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 March 2014

Prague is an exceptionally beautiful city,and one we always enjoy spending a short break in,and Hotel Kampa has always served us well on our visits. It's perfectly located in a very central area yet tucked away on a discreet,quaint cobbled lane,so allows you to relax and let Prague sink in gently. It is equipped with free Wifi and all mod cons,and yet manages to pull off a medieval atmosphere with it's décor of suits of armour,and weapons etc. The rooms,breakfast,and staff all work well together and contribute to a highly satisfactory stay.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sunlunlad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Přemysl M, Manager at Hotel Kampa-Stara Zbrojnice, responded to this review, 30 March 2014
Dear sunlunlad
I am very pleased to read your kind comments on TripAdvisor. Thank you very much for taking the time to share your feedback from your stay at Hotel Kampa – Old Armoury.
We welcome you again at our hotel during your next visit.
Kind regards.
Přemysl M.
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berlin, Germany
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 March 2014 via mobile

We stayed there for 3 nights and all in all liked it. It is very affordable, the staff is very friendly, the breakfast buffet offers many choices. The hotel is in a quiet neighbourhood and rooms are not too small. On the downside, the drain in the bathroom was very very smelly, so we needed to keep the window open.

Helpful?
Thank Krustowsky
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Přemysl M, Manager at Hotel Kampa-Stara Zbrojnice, responded to this review, 30 March 2014
Dear Krustowski,

I am very pleased to read your positive review from your recent stay with us at Hotel Kampa – Old Armoury. Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback and your observations. We train our staff regularly and we teach them the accommodating behavior. In case of any problem, always contact our hotel reception.I am delighted to read that you have been overall impressed with the quality of our hotel and service. We welcome you again at our hotel during your next visit.
Kind regards.
Přemysl M.
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Prague hotels
Mala Strana (Little Quarter)
Kampa Garden
Kampa Garden
#79 of 650 in Prague
4.5 of 5 bubbles 716 reviews
Mala Strana (Little Quarter)
Hotel William
Hotel William
#118 of 650 in Prague
4.0 of 5 bubbles 672 reviews
Mala Strana (Little Quarter)
Hotel Roma Prague
Hotel Roma Prague
#151 of 650 in Prague
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,789 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mala Strana (Little Quarter)
Certovka Hotel
Certovka Hotel
#132 of 650 in Prague
4.5 of 5 bubbles 305 reviews
Mala Strana (Little Quarter)
Archibald At the Charles Bridge
Mala Strana (Little Quarter)
Hotel U Krize
Hotel U Krize
#211 of 650 in Prague
4.0 of 5 bubbles 277 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Kampa-Stara Zbrojnice? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Kampa-Stara Zbrojnice

Property: Hotel Kampa-Stara Zbrojnice
Address: Vshehrdova 450/16, Prague 118 00, Czech Republic
Region: Czech Republic > Bohemia > Prague > Mala Strana (Little Quarter) , Praha 1
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#123 Luxury Hotel in Prague
#150 Family Hotel in Prague
#151 Romantic Hotel in Prague
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Kampa-Stara Zbrojnice 4*
Number of rooms: 84
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, Odigeo, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Kampa-Stara Zbrojnice reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Kampa
Best Western Prague
Prague Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing