We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Everything depends on room.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
BEST WESTERN PLUS Hotel Meteor Plaza
Ranked #178 of 649 Hotels in Prague
Certificate of Excellence
Brno, Czech Republic
Level Contributor
98 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Everything depends on room.”
Reviewed 16 August 2012

I stood in this hotel for three times.

First time we got twin room which was really big with comfortable beds.

Second time we got apartment instead of standard room and the room was really the best I have ever got in my life. Big, clean, silent ...

Third time we got double room which was very small, with very very uncomfortable double bed, scratchings on the wall - it was impossible to open the window because of very noisy people in the first floor.

BUT, the hotel is situated in ideal location - absolutely ideal for tourists. Close to bus and train station and also tourist traps:) And you can also enjoy wonderful breakfast:)

Room Tip: Better ask for twin room - it is really bigger. Or book apartment. And also ask for higher floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RadovanDavid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,095 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    341
    540
    165
    29
    20
See reviews for
168
473
72
72
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (121)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2012

While we enjoyed our stay overall, there are some areas that were not satisfactory.

Upon arrival, our luggage was whisked away by an employee without our permission. He did not arrive at our room with it in a timely fashion. When he did arrive, he gave us an unnecessary "tour" of our room, then waited around, expecting a tip. When we told him we did not yet have any koruna, he said, "I also take Euros." We felt shaken down for money for a service we had not requested.

We ate at the hotel restaurant because we were given a 20% off coupon. The coupon was a nice gesture, but we were not satisfied with our waiter. When my wife asked if tap water would be included (free), he said he would have to charge us because "we are in a commerce system". While the food was good, the portions were small for the price.
Finally, the appearance of the hotel lobby is dark and dingy and could use some updating.

Now, on to the pluses.The breakfast was incredibly extensive, one of the best we had on our monthlong travels in Europe in terms of its selection. There were more items than you could possibly eat, both hot and cold with a terrific variety. There were delicious homemade cakes/breads each day. In addition, we were also able to eat outside in a nice courtyard.

Our room was big and clean, and we were satisfied with the housekeeping service. It was nice to have a coffeemaker in our room. While coffee was provided in the room when we arrived, it was not replaced on subsequent days.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MichaelNY_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Doncaster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2012

Situated about 150 metres from the historic Powder Gate, the exterior of the Meteor Plaza belies the warm welcome we received. Externally, it is like so many places in this fabulous city, perhaps a little austere but clean and presentable. Stepping inside, the Reception oozes efficiency without being gushing. Each Receptionist to whom I spoke had a good command of English (to my shame, far far better than my phrasebook Czech!) and simply could not have been more helpful and welcoming.

The room could be described in a number of ways, depending on one's attitude. Those expecting the "plastic fantastic" of certain pretentious establishments would be disappointed. Those who visit Prague to appreciate the traditional aspect would be very much at home. Scrupulously clean, with solid traditional furnishings, we found it extremely comfortable. A word of warning though - don't accept Room 112. Not that there's a single thing wrong with it, just that I don't want to find it occupied when I do finally manage to get back to Prague. I shall most definitely stay at the Metoer Plaza and I'd really, really like this room again. Spot on would be my quick assessment.

Breakfast. Well, I've lost count of the number of folks I've told about the fabulous breakfast. Slightly ashamed to admit it, I had some of everything. The (almost) English with all the usual trimmings, the traditional Czech with cooked meats et al. There was even cake and soup for those thus inclined. Novel, yes. Unusual, well I've never come across it before. Enjoyable? You betcha!

The basement Spa is slightly unusual in that the pool is more of a large Jacuzzi - I'm not a big swimmer but it's probably not ideal for those who are. Excellent jacuzzi though, with acres of room to stretch out and relax instead of playing the usual leg-tangling, slightly embarrassing game.

Location? About 150 metres from the Powder Gate and the stroll down Celetná (street name) to Staroměstské náměstí [Town Hall Square] and the most famous attractions, the Meteor Plaza is also very close to náměstí Republiky [Republic Square] (just to the right of Powder Tower) and shopping. In the opposite direction, you are not very far from the bottom end of Václavské náměstí [Wenceslas Square]. As someone obliged to use a walking stick (cane), the location is everything I could wish for. In fact, the whole of the tourist part of Prague, even up to the Castle and St Vitus' Cathedral is easily walkable. If I can do it, so can most others.

On your way back to the Hotel, pop into the tiny bar on the opposite side of the road, near the arch through to Republic Square (a shortcut). Genuine local atmosphere and as good an espresso as I've ever had anywhere.

So - a fabulous city which was enhanced by a really enjoyable Hotel. Not space-age "plastic fantastic", just good solid traditional quality and value for money.

Room Tip: Please don't book Room 112 - it's mine, mine, mine! Joking (of course).
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ProPhotos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2012

We (mother and daughter traveling in Eastern Europe) stayed in BW for three nights 7/16 onwards.  We had booked through Hotels.com.  It was really easy to get to from the airport.  At the airport we went downstairs to the info window.  The person at the window was very helpful.  Our bus/metro ticket cost us 32 Kr (you can also pay in Euros) and is good for 90 minutes.    Took  bus no. 100 to the end of the yellow metro line, transferred to the metro which took us to the Namesti Republic which is  about  a 2min walk (literally across the street there is a small covered walkway)

- Location - ***** centrally located in the middle of Old Town
- Service **** good but we also did not ask for anything
- Room  ** we were on the 4 th floor without a proper window.  The room was a decent size and clean but not having a regular window made the room dark.  There was a small porthole of a window.  The air conditioner did not work  well.
The bathroom was big and very fresh and clean.
Our overall experience was good  for what we paid.  Next time I will ask for a room with a proper window and so should you!

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mother and daug... S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin
Level Contributor
23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2012

I was supposed to stay in this hotel July 10th to 13th. On arrival however, I was told that due to severe flood damage the previous day, they could not accommodate us and we would be moved to another hotel- better location and hotel, apparently.
It felt like a scam though. There was no evidence of flood damage, Other guests were coming and going freely and there was no sign up to apologise for the inconvenience you would imagine such a serious flood might cause.
We were put in a taxi to the new hotel, free of charge, thankfully. We were not given the name of the new hotel and the taxi driver left us on a big street with loads of hotels and shops, so we had to walk around wondering which hotel would be ours- if any!
Fortunately, we eventually found our hotel, which was very nice and indeed in a good location.
However it was a very worrying start to our trip, with no apology or attempt at compensation. And I'm still not convinced there was ever a flood at all, I'd be worried they just overbook and move guests along as necessary.

Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Laineey_M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2012

This Hotel is placed in a great location, just outside the major attractions which are in easy walking distance. Hotel staff very friendly and helpful, room was clean and spacious and it had a nice view of the patio where you could have breakfast. Breakfast is typical European so don't expect a full English.
Getting from the airport I booked in advance a taxi service which was aprox £17 and i did the same for the way back and worked perfectly well, Professional and polite service.
Prague it self is a beautiful city with a great culture and a fascinating history, there are plenty of cafe and resturants offering traditional Czech food and Beer.
My best tip is for WOMEN, leave your stillettos at home, and wear flats as the streets of Prague are just cobbled.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chris a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sao Paulo
Level Contributor
75 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 July 2012 via mobile

I really liked this hotel. It is very clean, comfortable and it has a good breakfast.
Location was perfect. Close to the Old Town, metro station and Washington Square.
The only thing I like to comment is that I had to try three times to get some information about how to get from airport using public transportation.
They want to sell their taxi services and because of this, they dont tell you how to use and when they told me, it was wrong.
Lucky me that in the airport, they had information and helped me. A bus goes directly from the airport to the metro station near the hotel and you just have to walk 2 minutes to get. The bus costs 60 CKK and the service they offer costs 630 CKK.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LuNavarro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Prague hotels
Nove Mesto (New Town)
BEST WESTERN Hotel Pav
BEST WESTERN Hotel Pav
#200 of 649 in Prague
1,360 reviews
Nove Mesto (New Town)
K+K Hotel Central
K+K Hotel Central
#89 of 649 in Prague
2,744 reviews
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Friday Hotel Prague
Friday Hotel Prague
#73 of 649 in Prague
708 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Praha 5
Best Western Hotel Kinsky Garden
Nove Mesto (New Town)
Hotel Century Old Town Prague - MGallery by Sofitel
Nove Mesto (New Town)
Hotel Atlantic
Hotel Atlantic
#169 of 649 in Prague
821 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN PLUS Hotel Meteor Plaza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS Hotel Meteor Plaza

Property: BEST WESTERN PLUS Hotel Meteor Plaza
Address: Hybernska 999/6, Prague 110 00, Czech Republic
Region: Czech Republic > Bohemia > Prague > Nove Mesto (New Town) , Praha 1
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
#31 Spa Hotel in Prague
#116 Romantic Hotel in Prague
#150 Luxury Hotel in Prague
#167 Family Hotel in Prague
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS Hotel Meteor Plaza 4*
Number of rooms: 88
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
First references to this hotel come from the year 1307. The BW Meteor Plaza is situated directly in the center of Prague next to The Palace Hibernia, Powder Gate and The Municipal House. You can reach Wenceslas Square, The Old Town Square or other places of interest on foot within minutes. All 73 air-conditioned spacious standard rooms are very well furnished with all amenities including shower and/or bath, WC, hair dryer, satellite, wireless high-speed internet access free of charge, IDD telephone, personal safe, coffee/tea maker and mini-bar. There are 5 suites and 10 triple rooms in BW Hotel Meteor Plaza, which express an ambience of largesse, comfort and functionality. Except standard room equipment you will find cosy sitting area with reading lamp, trouser press. Some of the rooms have a hydro maser bath or combination of the bath and a shower bath. Some of our apartments have a special wide screen television. The triple rooms have three separate beds or double bed with sofa bed.Room service is available during limited hours. Are you a keen musician? Especially for you we have the room with a piano.The BEST WESTERN Meteor Plaza is truly in the heart of Prague - everything you'll want to do - business, leisure, vacation activities - it's all at our door step. Because of our central location you can be almost anywhere in the city in just a few moments. Prague's famous attractions such as The Palace Hybernia, the famous Powder Gate and fabulous art nouveau pearl: Municipal House are just 2minutes walk away. You can reach Wenceslas Square, Old Town Square, the legendary Royal Road and other places of interest on foot within a few minutes. You can get easily to the hotel by your own car. Of course you have the possibility of parking in the hotel garage.Our shiny restaurant with terrace is situated on the first floor of the hotel and is open every day for breakfast. Rich buffet breakfast is served from 7AM till 10AM.The ground floor of the hotel has a trendy bar, cosy restaurant and terrace where guests may enjoy a drink in the summer months.Dinners are served in a romantic wine cellar, which answered its purpose already back in 14th century.For those who seek the more solitary rewards of an invigorating workout, the Hotel offers a whirpool and Sauna. Per person per hour, private use, is charged fee 10 EUR.We are focused to provide the independent traveler with maximum comfort by providing the following services:■We can arrange a wide range of events, such as parties, banquets, conferences and more. Our Gothic Wine Restaurant is ideal for encounters of up to 40 persons. Equipment of new communication and interpretation systems is possible on request.■Garage parking directly in the house is available for hotel guest on premises.■Telefax service at the reception desk.■Wireless high-speed internet access in public area free of charge.■Meeting room for 10 people with PC and internet connection.■E-mail delivery for hotel guests.■Excursions.■Tickets to opera, theatre and shows.■Flight confirmations.■Photocopy.■Dinners are served in a romantic wine cellar, which answered its purpose already back in 14th century.■Pets allowed. ■Baby cot on request free of charge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers, Expedia, Priceline, Odigeo, Nozio Netplan srl, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS Hotel Meteor Plaza reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Meteor Plaza
Best Western Prague
Prague Best Western
Best Western Hotel Prague

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing