We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Value for money”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
BEST WESTERN PLUS Hotel Meteor Plaza
Ranked #176 of 649 Hotels in Prague
Certificate of Excellence
Herts
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Value for money”
Reviewed 12 March 2014

Stayed here 6th -10th March 2014. Quite a nice but very small hotel. Reception staff quite nice and helpful. First night used hotel restaurant as we checked in after 9pm. Was empty and we got a less than welcoming greeting from the older waiter. Think he was hoping for a flyer. He begrudgingly gave us the menu and opened our wine. We ordered ( decided to go straight to main as he seemed so dis chuffed!). What we ordered was very nice and he cleared away.....no menu brought back for desert...he kept a very low profile and it was obvious we were holding him up. So we left the table, signed the check and left. We didn't use the restaurant again for that reason. There are plenty of places nearby who actually do want your business so in future we chose that option.
The bedroom was pretty good. We were comfortable enough. Pillows are a bit too thin and we both had neck aches the next few days. But beds are very comfy. Clean and tidy. Mini bar, TV (only one English Channel so we hardly bothered). Bathroom, had only showers which were excellent but with Prague being very much about sightseeing I feel a bath is a necessity to soak aching bones (and mine do ache!). But lots of space in the bathroom. As mentioned by another the safe is a comedy safe. So tiny. It would hold passports and a couple of wallets! We had ipad and mini Ipad, large purse, wallet, camera, itouch etc and none of that lot fitted. Just lucky no one broke into our room. So we didn't bother renting or asking for the safe key. Room 423 overlooked the courtyard and whilst the view was boring it was very quiet and we would rather that.
Because husband is a gym freak and I needed a soak (no bath as mentioned) we decided to enquire about the spa and fitness room. We were concerned that they told us the spa was 30° and not 35° as others are and they said this was because of the infections caused ( we assumed they meant legionella). Anyway it's €10 per person and we decided to go for it as hubby wanted the gym anyway. We booked it for 6pm (could choose as no one else had booked it). When we got down to use it, reception staff started rushing around and barking orders at each other, couldn't understand what as they were speaking Czech. We finally get taken down and the room itself was warm which was a good start. They said " you can have an extra 20 minutes in case it's not warm enough" and as we were looking round a man in a suit was rushing around and switching on the sauna and throwing scoops of water on its heater......almost like we hadn't booked it till the last minute. They left us and hubby went into gym and I went into the spa. It's a nice sized spa but was no where near hot enough. I have used jacuzzi's all over the world and this is the coldest I have ever been in. The jets are great, the seating would take about 8-10 but for my aching bones it was useless and I was actually cold. Whilst I was assessing these facts my husband appeared and said " what's the jacuzzi like because the gym is crap!". So I said way too cold. He said the bike had no resistance ( and as a keen cyclist that's useless) and the step machine and rowing machine didn't cut the mustard either. So never mind have another 20 minutes....we were out of there, having showered and dressed ( which we could have done for free in our room) within 35 minutes. We complained to the guy at the desk ( night audit clerk I think) and he shrugged his shoulders and said "we always have a cold jacuzzi here, it's how it should be, you use sauna, then douche - shower I assume - then jacuzzi to cool down". I said it's the only place in the world we have used a cold jacuzzi. He told us to speak to someone the next day.following two days there was always someone on checking in or out or talking to the reception staff so we didn't bother. However, on us checking out we did say that we complained about the spa and she asked us why - we told her and she did remove the charge. This we were grateful for because we did feel aggrieved. The gym is not fit for purpose with sub standard gear - makeshift would be a good word to use for it. We didn't want to use a sauna anyway, neither of us like them. Also the pictures in the lift show other items that are in the spa area, including a bath....but none of that is there now. I longed to get home to use my own jacuzzi bath!!!
Breakfast, we tried two out of three. As others have mentioned the staff are miserable. Never once did any one of them smile. They are there to remove plates etc from tables and they do that a bit too quickly. We struggled with what was on offer, usual meats and cheeses for the Europeans, cereals were bland, fruit salad didn't look appetising, there was tagliatelle? Soup, Radishes, very spicy sausages, bacon was ok but very fatty and scrambled eggs were okay too. A good supply of breads and a few cakes, butters and jams and a hot plate griddle to cook toast on. Coffee from the machine was plentiful, just help yourself, and there was hot milk that was about as hot as the jacuzzi!!! We just couldn't hack the third morning there so we decided to forget it and eat at the airport which was a good plan.
Air conditioning didn't work. It came on and went straight off. I think they must have it switched off centrally so it doesn't work till they want it to. One night I was so hot I was still awake at 3 am and I googled the make of the unit to download the user manual, I managed to find a way to override the unit.......forget the remote control - stand on a chair and press and hold the on button on the main unit near the ceiling for a few seconds till it bleeps twice. The system came on each time I did that for about 20 minutes which was enough to cool the room and get me to sleep. Windows open let in some oar but also some noise too so that didn't help.
So all in all a good enough hotel, comfy and quiet rooms, very local to the powder tower and 5 minutes from the square. But don't bother with breakfast, or the restaurant if you arrive late and give the spa a miss if you want a good workout and to heat your tired bones cause that won't happen! Having said all that - and I have tried to be as fair and honest to be helpful to others, we did have a nice trip and the hotel is fine....it's the extra's that let it down. Enjoy your stay.

Room Tip: Ask for one overlooking the courtyard as it's quiet at night. Ask them to set the air con as our...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Heartinherts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,105 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    341
    549
    166
    29
    20
See reviews for
171
475
74
74
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (122)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 February 2014

Although only a few things stood out as excellent, everything was clean and comfortable, so overall this was definitely the best hotel to book.
Staff were friendly and helpful (apart from the bell-boy, who always looked miserable), the rooms were clean and the beds really comfortable - beats the Hilton and other 'fine' hotels I have used in the past hands down, and the softest pillows I have ever had in a hotel.
Loads of space in the bathroom and plenty of hot water. The shower was a bit small - but that might just be because I'm not!
Breakfast was plentiful and adequate, although nothing special. Bar prices seemed reasonable.
Position - very central and easy to find your way back to!!
Absolutely no hesitation in recommending this hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chainsaw22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brentwood, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 February 2014 via mobile

This hotel is situated close to the Gothic Tower and is therefore well located for sightseeing. The staff are generally pleasant although the breakfast staff could learn to smile a bit more. If you smile at them for long enough you usually get a smile back but it would be nice if one didn't have to try so hard. The breakfast buffet is vile forcing me to go out for breakfast which isn't such a big deal. The rooms were fine but they should have double beds rather than two singles shoved together with single duvets. Next time I will stay on the other side of the river.

Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank GavinPerrett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, MA
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 January 2014

The best feature in the rooms at the Best Western Meteor Plaza is beautiful paintwork on the ceilings. The most comical feature is sub-miniature room safes. Miniaturization carries through to the rooms themselves, at least insofar as we saw. The staff is generally quite competent, though the maid had not cleaned our carpet or dusted our furniture before we moved in. She vacuumed at our request, but since we said nothing about dusting, that remained undone during our stay. The worst feature overall was the internet, which worked so poorly that I couldn't post this review until I went home.

On the plus side, the staff is extremely kind and the breakfast is generous. From the time we made our reservation until the time we left, front-line staff members all did their jobs with care and accuracy. I should especially mention Klara at the front desk, who helped us find the best available room with grace and good cheer. Overall, we had a pleasant-enough stay in a quiet room, and our disappointments may have been driven in part by too-high expectations based on generous TripAdvisor reviews. It’s not a bad hotel, but we've been more satisfied by equivalently-priced hotels elsewhere in Prague. The Meteor Plaza is OK if you’re on a budget and require a central location, but the building is a little strange and the the imitation-wood furniture doesn't flatter the rooms.

In Prague we generally stay at the Red and Blue Design Hotel, which we prefer in all respects except for location.

Room Tip: The rooms facing the main courtyard are more quiet. We rejected the first room offered, at the end o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CanyTech
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
preston
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 January 2014

This hotel is in an ideal location in the heart of the city good value lovely rooms and friendly staff we had 3 days over New year and it was great breakfast was an extensive hot and cold continental buffet rooms clean and well equipped
The only reason I have not given it a 5 rating is because we ate in the restaurant in the basement and were extremely disappointed average food and pushy service with little if no atmosphere

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank moya f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Szczecin, Poland
Level 5 Contributor
85 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 December 2013

We just visited this hotel and it was a very good choice. The hotel is in the old fashion style but it is a great value for the price. The location is great just walking distance from all the atractions. The service was very good and smiling. This is a hotel which I will be coming back.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mario L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ashford, Surrey
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 December 2013

We visited Prague for a short break and to see their Christmas Markets. The hotel has a great location just outside the Old Town but only 5 minutes walk to the Old Town Square the site of the main Christmas Market and close to all the major attactions, metro and main station. Our room was very comfortable with a good wifi connection. The free breakfast was excellent giving a good choice of both hot and cold food. We ate in the cellar restaurant on our first night as we were offered a 20% discount and the food was again excellent but was a little expensive compared with local restaurants but not exceptionally so for a hotel. We had a room facing into the central courtyard and was very quiet.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the central courtyard as it will be quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Geoff W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Prague hotels
Nove Mesto (New Town)
BEST WESTERN Hotel Pav
BEST WESTERN Hotel Pav
#205 of 649 in Prague
1,372 reviews
Nove Mesto (New Town)
K+K Hotel Central
K+K Hotel Central
#89 of 649 in Prague
2,763 reviews
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Friday Hotel Prague
Friday Hotel Prague
#73 of 649 in Prague
712 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Praha 5
Best Western Hotel Kinsky Garden
Nove Mesto (New Town)
Hotel Century Old Town Prague - MGallery by Sofitel
Nove Mesto (New Town)
Hotel Atlantic
Hotel Atlantic
#169 of 649 in Prague
826 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN PLUS Hotel Meteor Plaza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS Hotel Meteor Plaza

Property: BEST WESTERN PLUS Hotel Meteor Plaza
Address: Hybernska 999/6, Prague 110 00, Czech Republic
Region: Czech Republic > Bohemia > Prague > Nove Mesto (New Town) , Praha 1
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
#31 Spa Hotel in Prague
#116 Romantic Hotel in Prague
#149 Luxury Hotel in Prague
#167 Family Hotel in Prague
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS Hotel Meteor Plaza 4*
Number of rooms: 88
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
First references to this hotel come from the year 1307. The BW Meteor Plaza is situated directly in the center of Prague next to The Palace Hibernia, Powder Gate and The Municipal House. You can reach Wenceslas Square, The Old Town Square or other places of interest on foot within minutes. All 73 air-conditioned spacious standard rooms are very well furnished with all amenities including shower and/or bath, WC, hair dryer, satellite, wireless high-speed internet access free of charge, IDD telephone, personal safe, coffee/tea maker and mini-bar. There are 5 suites and 10 triple rooms in BW Hotel Meteor Plaza, which express an ambience of largesse, comfort and functionality. Except standard room equipment you will find cosy sitting area with reading lamp, trouser press. Some of the rooms have a hydro maser bath or combination of the bath and a shower bath. Some of our apartments have a special wide screen television. The triple rooms have three separate beds or double bed with sofa bed.Room service is available during limited hours. Are you a keen musician? Especially for you we have the room with a piano.The BEST WESTERN Meteor Plaza is truly in the heart of Prague - everything you'll want to do - business, leisure, vacation activities - it's all at our door step. Because of our central location you can be almost anywhere in the city in just a few moments. Prague's famous attractions such as The Palace Hybernia, the famous Powder Gate and fabulous art nouveau pearl: Municipal House are just 2minutes walk away. You can reach Wenceslas Square, Old Town Square, the legendary Royal Road and other places of interest on foot within a few minutes. You can get easily to the hotel by your own car. Of course you have the possibility of parking in the hotel garage.Our shiny restaurant with terrace is situated on the first floor of the hotel and is open every day for breakfast. Rich buffet breakfast is served from 7AM till 10AM.The ground floor of the hotel has a trendy bar, cosy restaurant and terrace where guests may enjoy a drink in the summer months.Dinners are served in a romantic wine cellar, which answered its purpose already back in 14th century.For those who seek the more solitary rewards of an invigorating workout, the Hotel offers a whirpool and Sauna. Per person per hour, private use, is charged fee 10 EUR.We are focused to provide the independent traveler with maximum comfort by providing the following services:■We can arrange a wide range of events, such as parties, banquets, conferences and more. Our Gothic Wine Restaurant is ideal for encounters of up to 40 persons. Equipment of new communication and interpretation systems is possible on request.■Garage parking directly in the house is available for hotel guest on premises.■Telefax service at the reception desk.■Wireless high-speed internet access in public area free of charge.■Meeting room for 10 people with PC and internet connection.■E-mail delivery for hotel guests.■Excursions.■Tickets to opera, theatre and shows.■Flight confirmations.■Photocopy.■Dinners are served in a romantic wine cellar, which answered its purpose already back in 14th century.■Pets allowed. ■Baby cot on request free of charge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Ebookers, Nozio Netplan srl, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Hotel.de, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, HRS and Cancelon so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS Hotel Meteor Plaza reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Meteor Plaza
Best Western Prague
Prague Best Western
Best Western Hotel Prague

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing