We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel, centrally located”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Art Nouveau Palace Hotel
Ranked #54 of 651 Hotels in Prague
Certificate of Excellence
Israel
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Good hotel, centrally located”
Reviewed 16 October 2013

We (two elderly couples) spent 2 nights at this hotel in October 2013. The hotel is very pleasant, the staff all speak good english and are helpful in many ways. We managed to get tickets to the Opera (Carmen) for the same night with the help of the hotel staff and without a commission or any extra charge. Very helpful. The breakfast (included) was very good with plenty of choices.
Easy walking distance to the main attractions of the old town. I do highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RafiKornfeld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,448 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    978
    379
    65
    21
    5
See reviews for
238
839
40
74
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (196)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Victoria, Canada
Level Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 October 2013

The service at the front desk, the dining room, the room service and the bar was excellent, slow, but excellent. The hotel is in a great location. Easy walking to many, many local points of interest.
The hotel has a great consierge. Price is reasonable, the rooms are dated, but I understand a lot of upgrading is going on. Not a Hilton, but definitely worth a stay..

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Saffron D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rohnert Park, CA
Level Contributor
30 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 October 2013

This is a diamond in the rough. The exterior belies the fact that this is a five star hotel in a country trying to re invent itself after communist rule. The lobby and restaurants are designed beautifully, and we found the staff always pleasant and helpful. We ate dinner several nights in the bar restaurant and enjoyed chatting with the staff, and had excellent food and wine. Took me a minute to figure out the bed - two separate duvets, one for each of us. A very modern bathroom and a pleasure to stay here.

Room Tip: Our room faced the street so we dealt with noise form the streetcars and hostel across the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Italylover47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tampere, Western Finland, Finland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 24 September 2013

Good hotel, excellent location. Nice breakfast. Funny stuff in reception. We had a room with balcony, funny extra. Express coffee machine in room made me happy and the beautiful bathroom. Only minus was the the old and unhappy man as a doorman/bellboy. Great place!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Janne V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stoughton, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
600 reviews
81 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 168 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 September 2013

When we pulled up to this hotel I said to my fellow travelers this was not a five star hotel, but you should not judge anything by its external appearance. It looked like a rundown building that was covered in a green paint. However, I was in for a total surprise, this was definitely a five-star hotel. The lobby, was exquisite, I grade a hotel on the amenities it provides and fortunately, I was provided with a face cloths, lotion, free computer in the room and in the lobby,but no hair conditioner, and I did not need a card to get electricity in my room. Also, there were safety bars in the shower / bath The disadvantages were that the TV was old and small and slow to respond, however, the good thing was that you had many channels in English to choose from. They provided bathrobes and slippers for the guests. Even a long handle metal shoehorn was within the closet to be used. One of the unique items I really enjoyed was that I could check the water temperature prior to my entering the tub and shower.
On the negative side, there was no bath soap only shower gel, I also found the mattress extremely hard and yet at home, I sleep on an extreme firm mattress. I rate this hotel a 4.8 out of five star's.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank steven d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Munich
Level Contributor
30 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 September 2013

Booked via hotwire. On arrival hotel seemed clueless that you could book via hotwire. On checkout tried to charge me again. Always slow service at reception, courteous but slow.

Room large but dated. Very dated.

Concierge great, friendly and deserved the nice tip i gave him.

A grand hotel let down by poor service and lack of care.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SadAndLonely
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 September 2013

+ Hotel is in a decent location.
- Staff don't seem to care much for their guests.
- Hotel stole 390 euro from us.

On check-in they didn't have the correct room for us or the bottle of Czech sparkling wine I had requested. When they did get a room for us it was much smaller than I was expecting (not the end of the world I suppose). There was also no Sparkling wine so I rang down to make sure it was taken off the bill. In the end they tried to charge us for it anyway :(

To be fair they gave us a free drink at the bar while we waited on a room so I have to give them that.

Anyway, the worst thing is we are back in Ireland now and it seems they charged us twice for the room (and a bit extra on top)!

What happened was we arrived and checked in and used my girlfriends card to secure the room for 10,000 Koruna(my card didn't work but that was my fault), and on check-out we used my card to pay (issue resolved with my card so no probs charging it). So they charged my card for the stay,but also the 10,000 Koruna (390 Euro) that was locked on my girlfriends card was never released and debited from her account on Monday morning.
We've been on to the bank and it was indeed debited and not just locked as is normal when securing a room (to make sure you can pay and cover any extras etc).

I will try to ring them again today as they wont reply to emails. As English is not the first language of the staff its difficult to get any response via phone as they don't seem to know what I'm on about. They have said they will get a manager to call me back but nothing yet.

Enjoyed Prague, have been many times and will be again, but not in this hotel.

Prague has a reputation for pickpockets and this is something you have to watch out for (in most cities as well). But you don't expect the hotel to steal from you :0(

If we get a resolution from the hotel I will update this review to reflect that.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Steve M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Prague hotels
Nove Mesto (New Town)
Art Deco Hotel Imperial
Art Deco Hotel Imperial
#48 of 651 in Prague
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,720 reviews
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Grand Hotel Bohemia
Grand Hotel Bohemia
#45 of 651 in Prague
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,684 reviews
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Ventana Hotel Prague
Ventana Hotel Prague
#20 of 651 in Prague
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,256 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Hotel Paris Prague
Hotel Paris Prague
#51 of 651 in Prague
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,955 reviews
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
The Emblem Hotel
The Emblem Hotel
#34 of 651 in Prague
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,008 reviews
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Friday Hotel Prague
Friday Hotel Prague
#74 of 651 in Prague
4.5 of 5 bubbles 700 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Art Nouveau Palace Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Art Nouveau Palace Hotel

Property: Art Nouveau Palace Hotel
Address: Panska 12, Prague 11121, Czech Republic (Formerly Hotel Palace Praha)
Phone Number:
Region: Czech Republic > Bohemia > Prague > Nove Mesto (New Town) , Praha 1
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#35 Family Hotel in Prague
#49 Luxury Hotel in Prague
#57 Romantic Hotel in Prague
#79 Business Hotel in Prague
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Art Nouveau Palace Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 127
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
ROOMS RENOVATED 2014 & 2015 Art Nouveau Palace Hotel is a centrally located unique property in historic ambience of original Viennese Art Nouveau building from 1909. Softlights in the warm and inviting elegant guest rooms create a cosy atmosphere where guests can forget the hustle and bustle of the city below. All 127 spacious rooms in classic style with high ceilings, some with lovely city views offer complimentary high-speed internet access, tea & coffee making facilities,mini-bar,Italian Carrara marble bathrooms,bathrobes&slippers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , TravelUp, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Art Nouveau Palace Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palace Praha Hotel
Palace Praha Prague

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing