We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Hotel But Not Quite 5 Star”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Art Nouveau Palace Hotel
Ranked #49 of 648 Hotels in Prague
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 12 May 2014

We went to Prague for my birthday in April and chose this hotel as it looked very nice and was centrally located, close to Wenceslas Square. Its proximity to the Mustek metro station makes it easy to get to and from the airport. We arrived at the hotel late on a Sunday evening and was told that we had booked a twin room, which we had not. As it was late we agreed to stay in the twin room and we were moved to a double room the next day. The room on the 7th floor was comfortable but not very big and in no way resembled the picture of the deluxe room shown on the Venere website. There were tea and coffee making facilities in the room, and a minibar however I was disappointed to find that the bottles of mineral water were priced at £4, as in other hotels I have stayed, water is provided free of charge. We had a problem with the smell of cigarette smoke coming into our room, which must have been coming through the air conditioning ducts, even though we were supposed to be on a non-smoking floor. We reported it to Reception staff who promised to investigate, but the smell persisted. The air conditioning didn't seem to work when we tried it and the TV seemed to have a continual problem with the digital signal. Breakfast was very good with a large selection of hot and cold items, although on the first morning, the hot food was lukewarm. Despite these little problems we enjoyed our stay, and for the price we paid, the hotel was good value, but probably not the 5 Star quality that we were expecting.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Neil F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,622)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

984 - 990 of 1,622 reviews

Reviewed 2 May 2014

Excellent friendly staff
Nice room
Great restaurant

I like this place , always when I go to Prag stay here .
I recommend this hotel on the heart of this city . All what you want see is really close from this place .

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MartinPHA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 April 2014

My experience started with your magical atmosphere there. A sense of calm, touch of warm colors and escape to undisturbed atmosphere. Employees did a great job and your Concierge made a colorful program for me. I would definitely recommend this hotel as it is a great value for money.

Room Tip: Try the Gourmet Club Restaurant, it is amazing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mary L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MartinZidek, General Manager at Art Nouveau Palace Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 April 2014

Dear Mary,
thank you sincerely for your time and effort to share your experience from our hotel with other travellers. Your compliment to our concierge is the best recognition the team can get. I am happy to have such experts and Prague ambassadors on my team. Thank you also for the comment about our Gourmet Club Restaurant. We just introduced a new seasonal asparagus menu yesterday and the responses from our first guests were very positive.

Once again thank you for letting the world know about our hotel.

I hope to welcome you back to the Art Nouveau Palace soon.

With my best regards,

Martin Zidek
General Manager
Email: gm@palacehotel.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 April 2014

Had a wonderful four night stay at the Art Nouveau Palace Hotel in Prague. Room spotless cleaned daily. Breakfast was outstanding so much choice we loved the made to order omelettes from the omelette station. Staff couldn't do enough to help you.The hotel was in the ideal location we walked everywhere. Would recommend this hotel and if i returned to Prague would stay here again. There was no spa at the hotel though you could get a free voucher to a spa.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Peter M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 April 2014

This hotel is on a perfect location near all the main sightseeing attraction and that in a walking distance.

the rooms are spacious and the bed was very comfortable. Breakfast has a lot of variety, so a good way to start your day.

One minor issue, was that there is wifi available in the room, but it disconnects a lot and was
very slow. (Internet is not so important on holiday, but when its available it should work proper).

Extra info: The hotel is easy to get there with public transport from airport. Just use bus 119 till his last stop and then use metro A till Mustek. then its only 5 minutes walk to Hotel. Prices for 2 people with one big suitcase is only 80 Local curencie.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lazy-Rudy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 April 2014

We booked this hotel because of its location and reputation. However on arrival we were told that our particular room was under reconstruction and we would be sent to the sister hotel the Marriot. We were very annoyed as it was our preferred option, there was no duty manager available but the staff did offer a complimentary meal. On arrival at the Marriot we were told we were one of a number being sent on that day. The Marriot turned out to be great and much better location for us. We returned for our meal, which was very nice and lovely staff. Following the disappointment we still had a great trip to Prague - unfortunately didnt get to experience the pleasure of the Palace Hotel.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
2  Thank omearas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MartinZidek, General Manager at Art Nouveau Palace Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 April 2014

Dear Mrs. Omeara,
Many greetings from the Art Nouveau Palace hotel. Please accept my sincere apologies for your unexpected relocation to another hotel. One of our cold water pipes exploded the night before your arrival and flooded four of our bedrooms on the 3rd floor. Unfortunately those bedrooms were not ready to be used on the day of your arrival as we had to let them dry and renovate them. As usual, those situations happen when you really don´t want them to happen, our hotel was fully booked on Saturday night. Therefore we had to relocate you along with a few other guests to another hotel. I was happy to read you enjoyed your stay at the Marriott and that all finally worked well for you in Prague. Just to clarify, the Marriott is not our sister hotel but it is the Art Deco Imperial hotel which is very close to the Marriott but it was also fully booked that night. Thank you for your nice comment about your complimentary „apology“ dinner at our fine-dinning Gourmet Club restaurant at the Art Nouveau Palace hotel. I am glad that you returned to our hotel for your free dinner and experienced at least a little bit of our hospitality and atmosphere. Once again sorry for the inconvenience and I hope to see you back in Prague and in our hotel soon.
With my best regards,

Martin Zidek
General Manager
Art Nouveau Palace hotel Prague
Email: gm@palacehotel.cz

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 April 2014

The hotel location is excellent in one of the small streets in the center. This means that on one hand you are step away from everything but not loud. This also means that you can see all the attractions by foot.
If you planning to travel in the comming days, please take into account that the working on the street.
The breakfast was excellent and the overall service was very good.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with innstant.com
1  Thank EliyahuF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Prague hotels
Nove Mesto (New Town)
Hilton Prague Old Town
Hilton Prague Old Town
#93 of 648 in Prague
3,293 reviews
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Hotel Paris Prague
Hotel Paris Prague
#52 of 648 in Prague
2,047 reviews
Nove Mesto (New Town)
Art Deco Hotel Imperial
Art Deco Hotel Imperial
#46 of 648 in Prague
2,952 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Nove Mesto (New Town)
La Ballerina
La Ballerina
#21 of 648 in Prague
742 reviews
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
InterContinental Prague
InterContinental Prague
#96 of 648 in Prague
2,663 reviews
Hradcany & Letna
Questenberk
Questenberk
#12 of 648 in Prague
1,068 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Art Nouveau Palace Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Art Nouveau Palace Hotel

Address: Panska 12, Prague 11121, Czech Republic (Formerly Hotel Palace Praha)
Phone Number:
Region: Czech Republic > Bohemia > Prague > Nove Mesto (New Town) , Praha 1
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#34 Family Hotel in Prague
#45 Luxury Hotel in Prague
#56 Romantic Hotel in Prague
#78 Business Hotel in Prague
Price Range: £70 - £261 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Art Nouveau Palace Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 127
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
ROOMS RENOVATED 2014 & 2015 Art Nouveau Palace Hotel is a centrally located unique property in historic ambience of original Viennese Art Nouveau building from 1909. Softlights in the warm and inviting elegant guest rooms create a cosy atmosphere where guests can forget the hustle and bustle of the city below. All 127 spacious rooms in classic style with high ceilings, some with lovely city views offer complimentary high-speed internet access, tea & coffee making facilities,mini-bar,Italian Carrara marble bathrooms,bathrobes&slippers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Fastbooking, Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Art Nouveau Palace Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palace Praha Hotel
Palace Praha Prague

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing