We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb staff, beautiful rooms (utterly quiet if courtyard window), great location!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Art Nouveau Palace Hotel
Ranked #52 of 649 Hotels in Prague
Certificate of Excellence
Schenectady, New York
Level 6 Contributor
186 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
“Superb staff, beautiful rooms (utterly quiet if courtyard window), great location!”
Reviewed 4 June 2014

My group just returned from a ten-day stay at the Art Nouveau Palace. We could not have been treated better, especially by the manager, who left us a welcoming letter (with fruit) and a good-bye letter (with a Mucha postcard) in our rooms and who was so attentive to our needs. He even had wine for us in the lobby before we went out on our final evening. There are no words to express how professional, friendly, and helpful the staff is, from the front desk to the concierge to the housekeepers. The place felt like a luxurious home I was reluctant to leave.
Other reviewers have commented, justly, on the terrific breakfast buffet and convenient location. A few words about breakfast: I think the diabetic pastries (don't miss the apple one) tasted better than the regular ones, and the fact they even had a diabetic section on the buffet was impressive. The selection of cheeses, meats, fresh fruit and vegetables, yogurts, nuts and seeds, and hot dishes would satisfy anyone. Omelets are good, but I liked my poached eggs on toast squares. There are five kinds of juice available, plus champagne on Sunday mornings. My only issue is that no one comes by your table after you sit down to ask for your beverage order. Coffee drinkers have good luck, bug it can be tough to snag an English speaker to request hot water or tea.
The rooms are scrupulously cleaned, usually twice a day, with nice fresh towels, and sometimes there are chocolates on the bed when you get back at night. I could have eaten off the bathroom floor (marble, as other reviewers have noted.) The bed is firm and comfortable, especially good for the back and there are plenty of fluffy pillows. The TV does indeed offer many channels - my favorite was the Chinese documentary channel (number 6). I was fortunate to have room 519, at the very end of the corridor across from the laundry area for housekeepers, as far as possible from the elevator and opening on the inner courtyard. Sleep is excellent and undisturbed in such a quiet environment - not even the minibar fridge makes any noise. The temperature controls are easy to use and quickly responsive. I have rarely (maybe never) been so comfortable in any hotel room.
To top it off, the hotel offers an excellent cafe on the ground floor (a delicious menu and good bar), plus a gourmet restaurant. There was apparently an Internet terminal though I never made an effort to find it.
Regarding the tram construction work on Jindrisska Street: it continued apace during our visit (May 24-June 3) and it looks like the section near the Palace Hotel will be completed soon. During the day, in my room I could hear some noise like a power drill or jackhammer. But I found this opportunity to witness tram line construction fascinating. There is no problem walking around the roadwork, and it is actually nice because vehicles can't get through right now, so you can cross the street more easily.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with windows opening onto the courtyard if you want to escape the noise of constructi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank TravelNut12309
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,496 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,013
    389
    68
    21
    5
See reviews for
248
869
41
75
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (202)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, Washington
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2014

Three friends and I stayed at the Palace Hotel in Prague and enjoyed the amenities, staff and service. The rooms were a good size and the bathroom very nice. The location was just across the street from the Mucha Museum and within easy (relatively speaking as cobblestones can be daunting) walking to the Old Town Square, Metropolitan building, shopping and restaurants. Staff was friendly and gave good recommendations for eating. The hotel recommends that guests take their car service as evidently taxi drivers in Prague can be rude and unethical. Their drivers and cars were super! The breakfasts were sumptuous which is an understatement. Only below par service that I noted was an antiquated computer system that I never could call up my e-mail on but I suppose that doesn't matter so much since everyone seems to have their own devices. Rooms have safes to secure passports, technology, etc.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pjh57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rishon Lezion, Israel
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2014

I stayed at the hotel for 4 nights. It's location is perfect. the subway 4 min. from the hotel . perfectly located from the Old Town Square. The staff is very friendly. clean and nice room . The breakfast was very good.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank david s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mississauga, Canada
2 reviews
Reviewed 27 May 2014

We were very happy with the location, facility & service - right in the centre of Prague, on quiet side street, we got very nice large room &.excellent breakfast. Very good value, we can recommend this hotel

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Igor M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sussex, England
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 May 2014

I stayed in this hotel on a business trip and it was perfectly located to my office and all the restaurants and shopes you could want. The staff spoke excellent English and were very helpful and courteous. The room was a good size with a big bed, the bathroom was fine but lacked a good shower which was a shame but not a big deal. The breakfast was very impressive and there was a huge selection of everything. I would recommend this hotel to anyone visiting Prague on business or holiday the location to all the attrractions make it a great place to stay. It has also just been refurbished so it was clean and well looked after. My only warning would be be aware the bar is very expensive

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BelleS_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lafayette, CA
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 20 May 2014

A friend and I stayed at the PAlace for 3 nights. It's location is great----a block from the subway and a quick walk it the Old Town Square. The staff is very friendly and accommodating. The breakfast has many choices including made for you omelettes and poached eggs. I highly recommend the Palace and would stay here again!

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SallyLafayette_CA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frankfurt, Germany
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 May 2014

Stayed for a weekend to enjoy central location, local food and great weather. The hotel is just off the Wenceslas Sq which was very useful for getting around easily.
The stay was smooth, good breakfast with an omelet station and helpful staff.

Room Tip: We booked on the hotel web and got discount and renovated room. Our room faced Mucha museum, it was...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tamara S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Prague hotels
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Grand Hotel Bohemia
Grand Hotel Bohemia
#44 of 649 in Prague
1,731 reviews
Nove Mesto (New Town)
Art Deco Hotel Imperial
Art Deco Hotel Imperial
#47 of 649 in Prague
2,799 reviews
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Hotel Paris Prague
Hotel Paris Prague
#48 of 649 in Prague
1,999 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
The Emblem Hotel
The Emblem Hotel
#31 of 649 in Prague
1,092 reviews
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Ventana Hotel Prague
Ventana Hotel Prague
#21 of 649 in Prague
1,288 reviews
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Friday Hotel Prague
Friday Hotel Prague
#72 of 649 in Prague
713 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Art Nouveau Palace Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Art Nouveau Palace Hotel

Property: Art Nouveau Palace Hotel
Address: Panska 12, Prague 11121, Czech Republic (Formerly Hotel Palace Praha)
Region: Czech Republic > Bohemia > Prague > Nove Mesto (New Town) , Praha 1
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#35 Family Hotel in Prague
#49 Luxury Hotel in Prague
#57 Romantic Hotel in Prague
#79 Business Hotel in Prague
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:5 star — Art Nouveau Palace Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 127
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
ROOMS RENOVATED 2014 & 2015 Art Nouveau Palace Hotel is a centrally located unique property in historic ambience of original Viennese Art Nouveau building from 1909. Softlights in the warm and inviting elegant guest rooms create a cosy atmosphere where guests can forget the hustle and bustle of the city below. All 127 spacious rooms in classic style with high ceilings, some with lovely city views offer complimentary high-speed internet access, tea & coffee making facilities,mini-bar,Italian Carrara marble bathrooms,bathrobes&slippers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Fastbooking, Booking.com, Expedia, Jet2Holidays , Nozio Netplan srl, Odigeo, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ctrip TA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Art Nouveau Palace Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palace Praha Hotel
Palace Praha Prague

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing