We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel in excellent location”
Review of Unitas Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Unitas Hotel
Ranked #9 of 649 Hotels in Prague
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 22 May 2011

We arrived by taxi and the room was spotless with huge bathroom. The maid didn't clean our room the next day but after complaining to reception, it was swiftly dealt with. The reception staff were helpful. The turn down service never materialised. The location was excellent, an easy walk to all the main sites and the Charles Bridge 5 minutes away. The breakfast was ok but not as good as some of the reviews we had read. I would overall recommend this hotel. It was really quiet and peaceful.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Milly00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,767)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,125 - 1,131 of 1,767 reviews

Reviewed 21 May 2011

We recently enjoyed a week in Prague and can heartily recommend this hotel, which was once a convent, and more recently a prison. No evidence of that now! It is spacious, has modern fittings, clean and cared for, quiet, and with good friendly staff. The history sheet records that Prince Charles, accompanied by Vaclav Havel, was at its re-opening in 2006. 5 minutes from Prague's 'high street', and walking distance to all main attractions, including opera, museums. Loved the nearby cafes.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank valan62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
avoda, Owner at Unitas Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 May 2011

Dear friends, thank you very much for your comments and reviews. I am glad you liked the history of the place, even though you couldn´t find a glimpse of it today. I wish you asked at the reception, I would have been delighted to give you a tour as the history can be found almost everywhere. The convent, what this building has always been, is visible from the infrastructure of the house - a convent was, in fact, a cousin of a hotel - you have corridors and cells attached to it., take it and you can convert it into hotel rooms just over night. But our cells had much more moved history, they were offices of the feared state secret police after 1950 who made the place its headquarters. So the history continues - the interrogation cells are still kept in the basement and the most known of them, P6, bears a small plate for the memory of future generations saying President Vaclav Havel was jailed here. This was the reason he and Prince Charles visited the building in 1992 what gave me and my companion the idea to start a hotel here. Beeing in Prague again, please don´t hesitate to ask for me at the reception, I´ll be happy to show you all hidden gems we have in our house Bartolomejska 9 - Unitas Hotel.
Thank you agin for your comments and I hope to see you here again. Jiri Vidim - owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2011

We stayed at Hotel Unitas 3 nights & have been extemely happy with our choice since we arrived. The rooms are spacious, very clean & every small detail has been thought of, from beautiful toiletries to a fantastic king size bed. The rooms are equipped with everything one needs plus mini bar, laundry service, robe, slippers, DVD player etc. The decor is modern & fresh & the staff are very courteous & helpful with any enquiry. Breakfast is great, all dietry needs catered for including Champagne for those wanting to indulge at such an early hour! A personal negative would be the room becomes light at an early hour around 6 so for those that are light sensitive it may be a slight issue. We would highly recommend this hotel, just loved it!!

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Duzzy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 May 2011

We stayed here for 4 nights on the recommendation of a friend who is from Prague. The Unitas is a superb hotel.

It is located down a quite, safe side street and is a few minutes walk from all of the major sights. There are many bars, restaurants and shops within a five minute walk but the hotel itself is very quiet and peaceful.

All of the staff were polite, efficient and friendly. There is a comfortable lobby area with drinks available, a DVD and book library, and an internet enabled computer. Our room was very spacious and light, with a comfortable bed, minibar, desk and TV. The bathroom was well equipped with a powerful shower and large bath.

The hotel is quite large - it was a long walk from our room to the breakfast room - but there are interesting artworks on the walls and each floor has a 'tea and coffee station' with seats, magazines, instant coffee, teabags etc.

We would definitely recommend the Unitas to people visiting Prague.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mxlondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 May 2011

The Unitas hotel is in a perfect location within walking distance of all the attractions yet not itself surrounded by crowds. Without exception the staff are friendly and helpful. Breakfast is first class with a wide range on the buffet as well as an a la carte with with one item included in the overnight price price. Our room was spacious and the shower room large warm and comfortable. The information available at recemption was good and you can buy Prague transport tickets there. This hotel helped to make our stay comfortable and enjoyable.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JohnandTuula
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 May 2011

This was a brilliant choice of hotel, many thanks to previous reviewers’ comments on the TripAdvisor website. I was a bit uncertain about the location, but it turned out to be well situated a half-hour’s relaxed walk with my luggage from the main train station. It’s close to the river, and all the main attractions are within walking distance, especially in Stare Mesto and Mala Strana, but Prague is a dense city and much more of it is accessible on foot than I had guessed by looking at the map. My lovely, large, high-ceilinged room was tastefully decorated, airy and light, with tall windows overlooking the quiet street and a large, well-designed bathroom. The hotel staff were consistently friendly and helpful, going out of their way to answer my many questions. Breakfasts at the hotel exceeded all expectations, even after reading the very positive comments in other reviews - the food, service, decor and music equal to any fine restaurant, and it was never overcrowded. I was able to borrow DVDs to play in my room and check my email on the computer in the library. I can fault nothing whatsoever about this charming and historic hotel. I spent ages comparing many Prague hotels on the internet, and it turned out to be time well spent. I can’t thank the staff at Unitas enough for making my stay in their exquisite city so pleasant and relaxed.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank scoutsilver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 April 2011

One of the quietest hotels - central but opposite a police station (no sirens during stay) so all very orderly and safe. Breakfast excellent - ask for the ham&eggs a la carte (included in price) rather than pick from hot selection. Tea and coffee station not well stocked - but as hotels rarely offer drinks exactly as you want them just remember a supply of your favourite tea bags and no problem. I personally hate thick plastic/rubber sheets covering mattress marginally more than I hate sleeping on a slightly soiled mattress.. a real problem for overheating at night for the older woman especially.. not sure what the answer is - but additional blankets in the wardrobe could be used to buffer the clamminess this arrangement induces I guess. large rooms. Very spacious. Former secret police headquarters / convent - rich history! Great value. Friendly / efficient staff. Reasonable bar prices.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travelbug57UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Prague hotels
Mala Strana (Little Quarter)
Hotel Pod Vezi
Hotel Pod Vezi
#2 of 649 in Prague
2,859 reviews
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Hotel Residence Agnes
Hotel Residence Agnes
#1 of 649 in Prague
3,254 reviews
Mala Strana (Little Quarter)
Appia Hotel Residences
Appia Hotel Residences
#11 of 649 in Prague
747 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hradcany & Letna
Questenberk
Questenberk
#12 of 649 in Prague
1,068 reviews
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Savic Hotel
Savic Hotel
#36 of 649 in Prague
2,519 reviews
Mala Strana (Little Quarter)
Alchymist Grand Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Unitas Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Unitas Hotel

Address: Bartolomejska street 9, Prague 110 00, Czech Republic
Region: Czech Republic > Bohemia > Prague > Stare Mesto (Old Town) , Praha 1
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Prague
#8 Luxury Hotel in Prague
#9 Family Hotel in Prague
#34 Business Hotel in Prague
Price Range: £76 - £231 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Unitas Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 36
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Unitas Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Unitas Hotel Prague

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing