We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous hotel with friendly, helpful staff”
Review of Unitas Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Unitas Hotel
Ranked #10 of 649 Hotels in Prague
Certificate of Excellence
Sutton Coldfield
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Fabulous hotel with friendly, helpful staff”
Reviewed 5 March 2012

There really is not a lot more that can be said about the hotel that hasn't already been said. The standards of cleanliness in all areas were extremely high, the staff exceptionally helpful and friendly and the rooms were fab. Our room overlooked the court yard which was lovely and quiet and perfect for chilling in before going out to do more sight seeing. We found Prague easy to get around by foot and the hotel ideally located for all the main sights.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank catlover34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,669 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,450
    197
    18
    1
    3
See reviews for
200
1,078
82
46
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (231)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
sunny lancs
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 March 2012

Just returned from our first visit to Prague; booked the Unitas for three nights based on the Trip Advisor reviews and we weren't disappointed. The staff spoke good English and were extremely helpful in making transport arrangements, restaurant recommendations etc. Our room was well appointed, immaculately clean and surprisingly large( which isn't always the case with rooms in capital city hotels). The complimentary coffee stations on each floor are a nice idea - although be prepared to meet with fellow bare footed/bleary eyed guests first thing in the morning who are also making that essential first hot drink of the day! As highlighted in previous reviews the hotel is in a good location and all the major sights are a relatively easy walk away (with the possible exception of the top of Petrin Tower!). The breakfast selection was comprehensive and served in lovely room. One small gripe, the room was rather too warm for a comfortable nights sleep and the air conditioning didn't appear to be working effectively - although it's probably not normally required in February! I would have no hesitation in recommending the Unitas to anyone visiting Prague.

Room Tip: A room facing the courtyard would be best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank 20legend1999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
avoda, Owner at Unitas Hotel, responded to this review, 5 March 2012
Dear Unitas friends, thank you so much for your note and nice words about us in the Unitas hotel. There is, my good guess to be followed, a word needed about the heating and cooling systems we operate here for our guests´ comforts. In fact it is two separate systems working so that there is, hopefully, no match inbetween them. The heating is a centrally steered thing what makes the hot water for bathrooms and heats all rooms and other places in the hotel. In the room it is located underneath the window and has a handle with a scale from 0 - 5, so everybody can set up a temperature at his liking turning this thing around finding the optimal degree to heat the room. The heating works round the clock with the same intensity, so an individual set up makes the room temperature adequate. The air conditioning in the contrary works in warmer months and the whole system starts cooling the circulating water in case there is more than 10 degrees Celsius outside of the building whole day, i.e. even at night what is not a case in February in Prague. So the air condition system is out of its job during the winter. I hope I managed to explain technical issues, even though beeing no technician at all, in understandable manner and I thank you again for all your attention. Jiri Vidim, owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 March 2012

My girlfriend and I stayed here for four nights and we cannot say enough good things about this hotel.

The hotel was an easy walk from Narodni Trida station (even with large suitcases and the slippery sidewalks) and check-in was a breeze. Our room was very spacious, clean, and overlooked the courtyard. Wi-fi was strong and consistent throughout our stay and the buffet breakfast was extremely generous.

Outside, it was a quick walk to Stare Mesto (10 minutes?) and for anybody remotely active, it wouldn't be a stretch to continue on walking across Karluv Most and to Prague Castle. Otherwise, most sights are only a couple of stations from Narodni Trida, either by tram or train.

Special thanks to Tereza for all her assistance during our stay! She was incredibly helpful in handling all our requests. Particularly, her restaurant recommendations (all of them spot on!); and, for managing to secure a refund for a tour that we cancelled on the 11th hour when it was just too cold for us to venture out.

This hotel is excellent value and is highly recommended.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Marzlock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norfolk
Level Contributor
33 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 February 2012

Stayed at the Unitas last weekend, what a great place, rooms were big and very comfortable, agree that view wasn't great - (Police Station) but didn't spend enough time to worry about it.
The staff were all excellent and spoke good English, they recommended a couple of good restaurants within easy walking distance and arranged a booking at the the Stoleti - fantastic meal and not expensive at all.
Getting into the city from the airport was very easy (thanks to a previous review) 119 bus to terminal and then the green metro line to Mustek station out onto Narodni and a short stroll to the hotel. Recommend that if you need to buy a ticket that you have small change as it is only 32 crowns for 90 minutes travel, and the ticket office has no change for large notes!!!!
Every time we asked how to get anywhere the staff in the hotel pulled a map out and showed us, marked the map and gave it to us.
Prague is a city that is easy to get around by just walking, nothing seems to be that far away.
Therefor no real need to use the public transport which looked to be very efficient. Can not recommend this hotel highly enough.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Nokiarae
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manningtree, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 February 2012

I stayed at the Unitas in December it was a Christmas Market break for my Mums 80th birthday. I couldn't have picked a better hotel it ticked all the boxes and we had a great stay in Prague

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Deborah S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newark-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 February 2012

On our first visit to Prague, we spent three nights is this hotel (13-16 Feb 2012) and could not fault it in any way. Good location (even though no great views from the room - located opposite a large police buiding in a plain back steet) but easy to walk everywhere of interest in the centre of the city. Large room and the thick walls of this old building made it very quiet and peaceful. Staff were most welcoming, friendly and helpful - without exception - and communicated well in English. The whole place was really clean, spacious and a joy to stay in. First-class breakfast, with large choice of excellent fresh food. We will definitely stay here again (soon!) and we have absolutely no hesitation in recommending this hotel.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Simon T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cirencester, UK
Level Contributor
32 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 February 2012

Myself and my wife have just returned from 3 night trip to Prague. Paid £225 for bed and breakfast, so that is £75 per night, which I think is good value. Breakfast was good and is available till 11, handy if you like a sleep in! Staff were very welcoming, helpful and polite. The location was central, under 10 mins walk to Charles Bridge and Old Town Square. Our room was spacious and smart, if a little austere, and the whole place looks like it has just been completely refurbished. Prague itself is a very grand and historic location, however, some of the main attractions were perhaps a little underwhelming. We found some great live music (if you like jazzy stuff). All in all, a fantastic trip.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CoriniumTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Prague hotels
Mala Strana (Little Quarter)
Hotel Pod Vezi
Hotel Pod Vezi
#2 of 649 in Prague
2,567 reviews
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Hotel Residence Agnes
Hotel Residence Agnes
#1 of 649 in Prague
3,054 reviews
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Design Hotel Jewel Prague
Design Hotel Jewel Prague
#13 of 649 in Prague
724 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Nove Mesto (New Town)
BoHo Prague Hotel
BoHo Prague Hotel
#6 of 649 in Prague
739 reviews
Hradcany & Letna
Questenberk
Questenberk
#11 of 649 in Prague
1,004 reviews
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Savic Hotel
Savic Hotel
#35 of 649 in Prague
2,451 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Unitas Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Unitas Hotel

Property: Unitas Hotel
Address: Bartolomejska street 9, Prague 110 00, Czech Republic
Region: Czech Republic > Bohemia > Prague > Stare Mesto (Old Town) , Praha 1
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Prague
#9 Luxury Hotel in Prague
#9 Family Hotel in Prague
#34 Business Hotel in Prague
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Unitas Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 22
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, HRS, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Unitas Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Unitas Hotel Prague

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing