We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“so glad we stayed at Unitas”
Review of Unitas Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Unitas Hotel
Ranked #9 of 649 Hotels in Prague
Certificate of Excellence
san carlos,
Level 6 Contributor
170 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“so glad we stayed at Unitas”
Reviewed 24 August 2012

Wonderful hotel, quaint with an interesting history. Be sure to see the prison cell on the lower level. Breakfast was included and delicious. Within walking distance of downtown. The staff was extremely helpful and friendly. Snacks and wine provided in the afternoon.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank lindadrew13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,699 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,479
    198
    18
    1
    3
See reviews for
206
1,094
84
46
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (231)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Newport Beach, California
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 August 2012

Breakfast is included and is served until 11am. In the middle of breakfast, I had to take an urgent call regarding a family member who is in the hospital, and when I tried to come back around 11am, the door leading to the breakfast room was closed and locked, and the staff would not let me back in, even when I explained that I just wanted to finish the food on my plate and did not want to get any more food from the buffet. I left a full plate of hot food, coffee, and juice on my table, which went to waste.

Also, for women out there: this hotel is off the beaten path from Old Town, and the street it is located on is poorly lit. The streets surrounding it are also poorly lit, and there are several dark pubs and clubs. Even though there is a police station nearby, walking back to the hotel late at night after dark is a fearful experience -- it's not like there are police on patrol all the time.

There are much better hotels here in Prague -- I've stayed at them.

Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
7 Thank socaltraveler07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
avoda, Owner at Unitas Hotel, responded to this review, 22 August 2012
What a comment, what a rage!! I wonder if the girls knew you were coming back after your urgent phone call was over? I am sure if they knew, they would not have locked the entrance door and they would have kept your food warm and tasty. I spoke with all of them who were in charge that day and they were simply not told. And the city lights, oh yes, it is the thing one usually blames a hotel for..... the clubs and bars, dark and suspicious, are in fact a sort of very civilized businesses, mostly frequented by locals or our guests. I am sorry we were targeted as a lightning rod for your fury over issues we simply couldn´t influence. But anyway, as you put it straight away - we have had good people coming as all other comments testify upon. Thank you. Jiri Vidim - hotel owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 August 2012

Excellent location, extremely close to old town. The staff are friendly and helpful. We got a family suite which was very spacious. Breakfast was in a beautifully furnished room and was excellent. We stayed 3 days and would have liked to have stayed for more.

Room Tip: Family suite for a family
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank teufel47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
california
Level 4 Contributor
19 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 August 2012

Everything has pretty much been said in the previous reviews. This is an excellent hotel with a great location in Prague. It is very quiet, with huge rooms and a terrific breakfast. It has been modernized but still has a wonderful "old world" charm.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank jag1jag1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 August 2012

Hotel room (luckily one of the larger ones overlooking the inner courtyard), decor and ambiance are all excellent. Only the electric airfresheners were disagreeable, we just put them in a drawer. Quiet location opposite the poilce station, but within 2 or 3 minutes of all the good bits. Staff were very friendly and the breakfast was varied and plentiful. They also had a selection of books and DVDs to borrow, which was a nice little extra.

Room Tip: Room 221 was lovely, big bathroom and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank _Clive_02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong, China
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 143 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 August 2012

We booked with Unitas Hotel and stayed there for 6 nights based on (1) TA reviews and (2) friends' positive feedback. Absolutely no regrets!

Reception staff (Zuzana the petite young lady who helped us call our driver and tour company with her mobile phone to fix a transfer to Kutna Hora and an evening tour, Jakub the friendly guy in the evening and Aneta that we often saw during the day and replied my enquiries before our arrival).

My praise also goes to the breakfast lady. Despite the fact that she had to serve a number of guests in the breakfast room, she was always calm and smiling (never rushing around in a hectic manner). One night (7 Aug) I was using the desktop computer next to the reception, the lady happened to walk by and she took the initiative to say hello to me (smiling as usual). The male staff member dressed in black and standing near the computer was also very friendly and he helped me translate some Czech text in an email, which I had no idea about. Staying in a hotel with such friendly staff around was truly a pleasant experience.

The room itself is very spacious. The corridor is very wide too... For the purpose of energy saving, the corridor lighting is not always on. Simply press the switch and the lights will go on... the funny thing is my husband and I felt a bit scared when walking alone in the WIDE, QUIET corridor, having in mind that the hotel used to be a prison (sometimes I asked him to accompany me to the coffee corner LOL!!)

Air-conditioning worked very well during our stay. Bed and pillows are comfy. Free wifi provided.

Foods served at breakfast are fresh. There was a wide variety and so both my husband and I were very satisfied.

We will certainly stay at the Unitas again if we visit Prague in the future :)

Alice (stayed during 3-9 Aug 2012)

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank TAalice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
California
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 August 2012

Our family of 5 spent 3 nights here in August. We had a family suite with a very large main room (including an area with small fridge, sink, dishes and microwave), a love seat and chair, a small dining table and a desk. A separate room had three twin beds. The only downside was one bathroom for 5 of us, but it was impeccably kept and outfitted with nice amenities. If you're looking for a sophisticated, artsy hotel, this is not it. Rather it is spacious, clean, simply decorated and located close - but not too close - to major sites and restaurants in the Old Town. It reminded me of a very nice large pensione. The staff was incredibly friendly and helpful. There was even an area with a piano where our kids stopped to play and sing!

A major plus was the just 'right-sized' buffet breakfast included in our already low price. Our three kids were craving eggs after many previous continental type breakfasts, and the Unitas delivered tasty omelets to order. Note that the stuffed pancakes you can order separately are actually crepes.

A bit of humor - avoid the candies on your pillow if you want a good sleep. The first night was a chocolate called "Coffee Dreams" and the second night was a Cappuccino hard candy.

Some advice on taxis - if you need one, have the hotel call one for you (or at the train station - the traveler info booth). Taxis will try to charge 2 -3 times the normal amount to tourists (for example, the cabs at the train station wanted 680 K to go to the Unitas (less than 3 kilometers) when the info center arranged cab was 250). Unitas called an extra large van cab to the airport for 5 of us with lots of luggage - a 25 minute drive - for only 900.

Room Tip: Room 336 is a family suite - perfect for 4 or 5!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank cfhemail
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Prague hotels
Mala Strana (Little Quarter)
Hotel Pod Vezi
Hotel Pod Vezi
#2 of 649 in Prague
2,637 reviews
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Hotel Residence Agnes
Hotel Residence Agnes
#1 of 649 in Prague
3,095 reviews
Hradcany & Letna
Questenberk
Questenberk
#11 of 649 in Prague
1,017 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Savic Hotel
Savic Hotel
#35 of 649 in Prague
2,464 reviews
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Design Hotel Jewel Prague
Design Hotel Jewel Prague
#12 of 649 in Prague
732 reviews
Nove Mesto (New Town)
BoHo Prague Hotel
BoHo Prague Hotel
#6 of 649 in Prague
780 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Unitas Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Unitas Hotel

Property: Unitas Hotel
Address: Bartolomejska street 9, Prague 110 00, Czech Republic
Region: Czech Republic > Bohemia > Prague > Stare Mesto (Old Town) , Praha 1
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Prague
#8 Luxury Hotel in Prague
#9 Family Hotel in Prague
#34 Business Hotel in Prague
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Unitas Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 22
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, Agoda, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Unitas Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Unitas Hotel Prague

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing