We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not as good as the reviews claim” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Unitas Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Unitas Hotel
Ranked #9 of 670 Hotels in Prague
Certificate of Excellence
Warsaw
Level Contributor
141 reviews
80 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 162 helpful votes
“Not as good as the reviews claim”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 September 2013

I chose to stay in Unitas Hotel encouraged by the positive reviews on internet. In overall, it was disappointing experience.

The room was very large, but the fixtures and fittings were of very low quality. I would prefer a bit smaller room with some decent stuff (naturally, large room is fine too if the furniture is not trash).

The breakfast was very poor. The service in breakfast room was below standards. There were several waitresses serving a relatively small number of guests. However, trying to get you coffee cup filled in was a major challenge. To be fair the service in reception was good but the poor breakfast service (every day) left a bad taste in mouth.

The location of Unitas Hotel is good but there is a huge number of hotels in Prague in equally good location. Personally, I think one is better off in some branded business hotel in Prague. Unitas is not a disaster but I can't understand the highly positive reviews for a very average hotel.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tygrys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jan K, Deputy General Manager at Unitas Hotel, responded to this review, 5 September 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for your constructive feedback following your stay with us at the Unitas.

I am delighted to note that you enjoyed our front desk service and found our location superb as these are two very important factors when selecting a hotel.
I'm very sorry to read that you found the room cheaply decorated and compared our funiture to trash.
We are a small private property housed in building which was originally convent and we have worked hard to retain the original feeling of the property (clean modest style) whilst ensuring that we provide every luxury and thoughtful extra that we believe that our guests will enjoy. Each and every one of our rooms is individually decorated and the furniture is custom production made by small Czech and Austrian companies.

Also please accept my apologies that you found our breakfast service to be slow. Whilst we don't like to rush our guests at the morning, we should always try and gauge the right pace according to each guest.

Warm regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,604 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,395
    189
    16
    1
    3
See reviews for
189
1,039
78
45
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (226)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
85 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 August 2013

This ex convent and ex Czec state police head quarters is a really special hotel now. Minimalist decor in the rooms and hallways that are still divided by cloisters. Comfortable beds with modern ammenities. Very attentive and helpful front desk staff. Nicely located near the Old Town and Charles bridge, close to some very good restaurants and bars. The breakfast is excellent and very diverse.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nfazerna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 August 2013

Stayed in the Unitas hotel in early June. It was wonderfully located near the Charles bridge in the Old Town. The room was large and quiet. The service was excellent.The staff was extremely helpful in telling us how to get around. They went above and beyond as far as I am concerned to let use their phone to contact our travel agent in Canada when our cruise was cancelled. The buffet breakfasts had something to appeal to every palate.

Room Tip: Quiet street, all rooms are good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank EllenE285
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Antwerp, Belgium
Level Contributor
115 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 August 2013

We chose this hotel, based on the Tripadvisor reviews and we were not disappointed. We booked 2 rooms for the 4 of us.
It is located close to the old town center and not far from the Charles bridge, but away from the busy streets. The rooms face a courtyard, so there is no street noise. The rooms are large, clean, modern and the same applies to the bathrooms. The breakfast buffet offers you a great choice. Staff is very friendly and helpful. There is internet access in all of the rooms.
About the history: the building used to be a convent but during the communist era, the basement was used as a prison. If you ask for it, you can see the cell were president Vaclav Havel was detained.

Room Tip: Room 210 is very large, with a separate sitting room and small kitchen with microwave oven.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tineke_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oakland, California, United States
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 August 2013

I recommend this hotel to anyone visiting Prague. This hotel is clean, quiet, good service, great breakfast, and average wireless Internet. It is central with secure parking if needed. It is next to police station on a quiet side street. But easily walkable in 5 minutes to the Charles Bridge and places to visit.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Julia B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 August 2013

Stayed here in July 2011 (I'm not very good at getting round to writing reviews) for 3 nights. Fantastic stay, great location, wonderfully friendly and helpful staff. Great building with interesting history, feels quite unique when wandering around. Comfy beds, good air con, spotlessly clean and very quiet. Only minor issue for us was that the curtains didn't do a great job of blocking out the light from the huge windows (despite looking very elegant). Only really a problem if you're wanting to sleep late after enjoying the Prague nightlife, but maybe a good thing as it stops you missing the wonderful breakfast which included amazing crepes. Also good value, you could easily pay three times as much for a similar hotel in Rome or Paris, ridiculous as that sounds.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bluestar87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 August 2013

The room, the staff, the location, the breakfast -- all excellent. I thought that was all that needed to be said, but Trip Advisor wants me to write 200 characters so I'll mention what a beautiful place it is, rich in history, with staff who spoke excellent English and were very helpful. Two computers for guests, free wifi everywhere.

Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Miriam L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Prague hotels
Mala Strana (Little Quarter)
Hotel Pod Vezi
Hotel Pod Vezi
#2 of 670 in Prague
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,389 reviews
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Hotel Residence Agnes
Hotel Residence Agnes
#1 of 670 in Prague
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,934 reviews
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Design Hotel Jewel Prague
Design Hotel Jewel Prague
#12 of 670 in Prague
5.0 of 5 bubbles 698 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hradcany & Letna
Questenberk
Questenberk
#11 of 670 in Prague
5.0 of 5 bubbles 950 reviews
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Savic Hotel
Savic Hotel
#32 of 670 in Prague
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,404 reviews
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Maximilian Hotel
Maximilian Hotel
#29 of 670 in Prague
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,147 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Unitas Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Unitas Hotel

Property: Unitas Hotel
Address: Bartolomejska street 9, Prague 110 00, Czech Republic
Phone Number:
Region: Czech Republic > Bohemia > Prague > Stare Mesto (Old Town) , Praha 1
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Prague
#8 Luxury Hotel in Prague
#9 Family Hotel in Prague
#34 Business Hotel in Prague
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Unitas Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 22
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Unitas Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Unitas Hotel Prague

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing