We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel”
Review of Unitas Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Unitas Hotel
Ranked #10 of 649 Hotels in Prague
Certificate of Excellence
Sevenoaks, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
285 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
“Great hotel”
Reviewed 4 September 2013

We were the last to check in as we arrived late and received a very pleasant welcome & drink. First impressions of the hotel were very good. Even though the area is quiet its only just off a main street. There are a number of bars within a few minutes and its very close to the main square. We stayed in a junior suite which was huge. Very clean. Breakfast is excellent, large choice of hot & good food. If we return to Prague we will definitely stay here

Room Tip: Very quiet hotel certainly on the 3rd floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MichH43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,675 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,455
    198
    18
    1
    3
See reviews for
201
1,080
83
46
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (231)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Spring
1 review
Reviewed 3 September 2013

My daughter and I stayed at Unitas Hotel during a European jaunt in 2010. The usual comforts one looks for in a hotel were all there, including a magnificent breakfast every morning. What was interesting was the history of the hotel, the bigger than life statute of Jesus standing in the courtyard, the coffee/tea niches outside of the rooms always available for guests added a nice surprise, and finally, the hotel was in Old Town and walking distance to the Charles Bridge! The Old Jewish Cemetery (and Museum) were well worth the walk. We celebrated my son's birthday at the interesting and fun Budda Bar one night while there. The tiny flashlights were a talking point :)

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Roxy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 September 2013

We found Unitas to be a clean and tidy hotel within easy walking distance of most things you would want to see in Prague. From the (rather grubby) street it doesn't look much, but upon entering you are pleasantly surprised by the clean modern reception area and are greeted by friendly staff who are keen to help and get you settled. This includes a complimentary drink and offer of a snack. The room we had was reasonably spacious and comfortable and the bathroom was excellent. There is an excellent breakfast to be had before a busy day and it was our experience to be attended by friendly staff who are always nearby to offer more coffee. If you have a car you can leave it in their locked courtyard (albeit for an extra fee if I remember correctly). We had a nice stay at this hotel, we would give it 9 out of 10.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Christina H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 September 2013

We stayed twice on our single trip to Prague. We checked out for a few days to visit Vienna before we returned for the remaining trip In Praque. The hotel arranged our pickup at the airport for 600cz. We used the service to return to the airport for 550cz. Please read other reviews for the interesting history of the hotel. We found the daily breakfast to be satisfying and it changed slightly each day. You can expect the buffet to have scrambled eggs each day with bacon and various sausages, a Czech food staple. I like the herring and another type of sausage (we would call it a big, fat pickled hot dog in the US) they put out every day for breakfast. They also have a cheese table and various juices and even wine. And you can order eggs or pancakes to order if you wish. The staff as pointed out in other reviews are as nice as can be and most speak English well or well enough for the people who can't speak Czech. I did notice while visiting Prague that people from other countries who can also speak English will use it speak to people In Prague. English is very common in Prague.But do learn some Czech. I thought the area around the Unitas was excellent. It is near the #22 tram stop at the National Theater which gets you up to the Castle area. The Hemingway Bar and some very nice restaurants like the Rilke are a short walk away. Old Town Square is a 10-15 minute easy walk away. The rooms (we stayed in 2 different ones) are quite spacious. One came with a coffee maker and the other didn't, but there is coffee machines on all the floors with chairs and tables or take your coffee outdoors to some covered patio areas they have. The bathrooms were spacious, clean and had hair dryers. However, the walls on the bathtubs to the shower and tub area are quite high in both rooms we stayed. Someone, elderly maybe, would have a hard time getting in. Ask for a room with low or no tub height (shower only?) if they are available or be prepared to sit on the ledge of the tub and swing yourself around. If you need a hotel with a lot of amenities, look elsewhere. There are no exercise rooms, no pool, and no bar/cafes. There are a couple of seats in the small, lobby bar where you can get a drinks and there is seating in the lobby so a nightcap or drink before you go out is something that you can do. I liked this hotel a lot and would stay here again.

Room Tip: If getting in a high wall tub is a problem, ask for another room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chelsea0011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 2 September 2013

An excellent hotel - well located, quiet, clean with very pleasant and helpful staff. Vojta, at the front desk in the evenings, was particularly helpful and unfailingly polite. He offered to help arrange tours and gave clear directions to sites we were interested in seeing. The breakfasts were lovely and the wait staff very attentive. We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank harrowhilton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warsaw
Level Contributor
146 reviews
85 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 163 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 September 2013

I chose to stay in Unitas Hotel encouraged by the positive reviews on internet. In overall, it was disappointing experience.

The room was very large, but the fixtures and fittings were of very low quality. I would prefer a bit smaller room with some decent stuff (naturally, large room is fine too if the furniture is not trash).

The breakfast was very poor. The service in breakfast room was below standards. There were several waitresses serving a relatively small number of guests. However, trying to get you coffee cup filled in was a major challenge. To be fair the service in reception was good but the poor breakfast service (every day) left a bad taste in mouth.

The location of Unitas Hotel is good but there is a huge number of hotels in Prague in equally good location. Personally, I think one is better off in some branded business hotel in Prague. Unitas is not a disaster but I can't understand the highly positive reviews for a very average hotel.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tygrys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jan K, Deputy General Manager at Unitas Hotel, responded to this review, 5 September 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for your constructive feedback following your stay with us at the Unitas.

I am delighted to note that you enjoyed our front desk service and found our location superb as these are two very important factors when selecting a hotel.
I'm very sorry to read that you found the room cheaply decorated and compared our funiture to trash.
We are a small private property housed in building which was originally convent and we have worked hard to retain the original feeling of the property (clean modest style) whilst ensuring that we provide every luxury and thoughtful extra that we believe that our guests will enjoy. Each and every one of our rooms is individually decorated and the furniture is custom production made by small Czech and Austrian companies.

Also please accept my apologies that you found our breakfast service to be slow. Whilst we don't like to rush our guests at the morning, we should always try and gauge the right pace according to each guest.

Warm regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
85 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 August 2013

This ex convent and ex Czec state police head quarters is a really special hotel now. Minimalist decor in the rooms and hallways that are still divided by cloisters. Comfortable beds with modern ammenities. Very attentive and helpful front desk staff. Nicely located near the Old Town and Charles bridge, close to some very good restaurants and bars. The breakfast is excellent and very diverse.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nfazerna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Prague hotels
Mala Strana (Little Quarter)
Hotel Pod Vezi
Hotel Pod Vezi
#2 of 649 in Prague
2,580 reviews
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Hotel Residence Agnes
Hotel Residence Agnes
#1 of 649 in Prague
3,060 reviews
Hradcany & Letna
Questenberk
Questenberk
#11 of 649 in Prague
1,004 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Design Hotel Jewel Prague
Design Hotel Jewel Prague
#13 of 649 in Prague
724 reviews
Nove Mesto (New Town)
BoHo Prague Hotel
BoHo Prague Hotel
#6 of 649 in Prague
743 reviews
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Savic Hotel
Savic Hotel
#35 of 649 in Prague
2,454 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Unitas Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Unitas Hotel

Property: Unitas Hotel
Address: Bartolomejska street 9, Prague 110 00, Czech Republic
Region: Czech Republic > Bohemia > Prague > Stare Mesto (Old Town) , Praha 1
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Prague
#9 Family Hotel in Prague
#9 Luxury Hotel in Prague
#34 Business Hotel in Prague
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Unitas Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 22
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Ebookers, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Unitas Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Unitas Hotel Prague

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing