We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“You would never know it was a Convent nor Secret Police Headquarters”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Unitas Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Unitas Hotel
Ranked #9 of 672 Hotels in Prague
Certificate of Excellence
Carefree, Arizona
Level Contributor
46 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“You would never know it was a Convent nor Secret Police Headquarters”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 September 2013

This hotel was a pleasant surprise. Tucked away but near everything. 10 minute walk to the old town and new town, bridges, Republic Square, etc. The hotel staff was attentive, pleasant and very helpful. The rooms were nice size, clean and the history of the hotel made it special. The breakfast was excellent as well. Great value for the price.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bigdadwangchung
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,624 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,413
    190
    17
    1
    3
See reviews for
191
1,051
80
46
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (226)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Tromso, Norway
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 September 2013

Very nice hotel close to everything, under 10 minutes to The Charles Bridge and Old Town. Big room, clean and quiet. Very good breakfast buffet with champagne, which as available to 11am with an extra 30 minutes on a weekend. There is coffee/tea machines on all the floors with chairs and tables. If you order taxi through the hotel to the airport it is much cheaper. I really recommand this hotel!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FrkRose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 September 2013

This was a lovely and very clean hotel, location was great and the building fascinating. Really clean! Big bathroom, big room! Especially the boys of the staff were really nice.
On the same street there are few bars, but I heard nothing in my room. They have a big patio for us smokers as well, that was really nice. I managed to get from the airport to the city and straight to this hotel at first try, which is usually very unlikely.

Bed was a bit hard, but not harder than my futon at home. Huge pillows, I asked for a smaller one and got it right away. Wi-Fi worked all the time, no need for a password either. Breakfast was till 11 am (11:30am on weekends).
At night the hotel was like a spooky castle with long hallways, at least for the first night right after I arrived. Complimentary drink as well.

Would recommend and go again, thank you Unitas!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ubernetty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wisconsin
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 September 2013

I only spent one night here but it was great. The room was huge, actually more like a suite. Bedroom was large with nice TV with cable. Windows looked out over a charming courtyard. A smaller room with closet space. Bathroom had a huge tub. Upon checking in I was greeted with a glass of sparkling wine. Unfortunately I had to leave early in the am and didn't get to check out the breakfast. Breakfast starts at 7 am during the week and 7:30 on weekends. They do have a computer in the lobby hooked up to a printer so you can print out your boarding passes for free. Also had a DVD library which I didn't use. On a nice quiet side street.

Stayed August 2013, travelled solo
Helpful?
2 Thank calicocatcallie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal, Quebec, Canada
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 September 2013

My son and myself visited Prague recently and I selected this hotel based on some reviews that I had read. I was not disappointed with my stay. Its centrally located in Old prague with everything within walking distance, very quiet and they serve a great breakfast buffet. I was very impressed with this hotel. I highly recommend the Unitas to anyone who visits Prague. In fact Prince Charles has visited the hotel.

Room Tip: pay the extra cost to be met at the airport if arriving by airplane. its only a few euros more and w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 299Chuck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norway
Level Contributor
78 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 September 2013

An absolutely lovely hotel. Only a 10 to 15 minute walk to the sites of Old Town, near a tram stop to the castle and yet a world alway from the hustle and bustle of the tourist area. We like to sleep with the windows open, something that is not possible at most hotels. Here it was peacefully quiet
The personnel at the front desk are friendly, helpful and knowledgeable, providing useful tips and recommendations and calling to make reservations. The rooms are spacious, quiet, clean and impeccably furnished.
The mattresses are unusually comfortable, perhaps better than home.
The breakfast buffet has a large selection of delicious foods, including stuffed crepes, fruits and eggs prepared however you desire.
we
We recommend this hotel highly. The only possible drawback would be that it is a bit of a walk to the breakfast room, which could be an issue if you have walking problems

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank reisermedfamilie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
442 reviews
79 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 149 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 September 2013

Odd looking street with the police station across from the hotel. But the location is great, most of Pragues attractions are within easy walking distance. The hotel is clean with good sized rooms. Staff are friendly and helpful. Good breakfast buffet which as available to 11am with an extra 30 minutes on a weekend. Only complaint is the wifi is not strong and regularly drops out although the rooms do have wired Internet access.
On booking I found other websites significantly cheaper than the hotels so good to research before booking.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank david s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Prague hotels
Mala Strana (Little Quarter)
Hotel Pod Vezi
Hotel Pod Vezi
#2 of 672 in Prague
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,440 reviews
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Design Hotel Jewel Prague
Design Hotel Jewel Prague
#10 of 672 in Prague
5.0 of 5 bubbles 710 reviews
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Hotel Residence Agnes
Hotel Residence Agnes
#1 of 672 in Prague
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,979 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Nove Mesto (New Town)
BoHo Prague Hotel
BoHo Prague Hotel
#7 of 672 in Prague
5.0 of 5 bubbles 669 reviews
Hradcany & Letna
Questenberk
Questenberk
#12 of 672 in Prague
5.0 of 5 bubbles 969 reviews
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Savic Hotel
Savic Hotel
#31 of 672 in Prague
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,418 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Unitas Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Unitas Hotel

Property: Unitas Hotel
Address: Bartolomejska street 9, Prague 110 00, Czech Republic
Phone Number:
Region: Czech Republic > Bohemia > Prague > Stare Mesto (Old Town) , Praha 1
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Prague
#8 Luxury Hotel in Prague
#9 Family Hotel in Prague
#34 Business Hotel in Prague
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Unitas Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 22
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Unitas Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Unitas Hotel Prague

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing