We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent small hotel in Prague”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Unitas Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Unitas Hotel
Ranked #9 of 672 Hotels in Prague
Certificate of Excellence
Green Valley, Arizona
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Excellent small hotel in Prague”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 January 2014

My wife and I stayed at the Unitas Hotel for two nights Dec 26 and 27, 2013; then returned for two more nights Jan 5 and 6, 2014 prior to our departure for the States. In all, we spent 20 days in Europe, and nowhere did we find a small, moderately priced hotel as good as this one. For the first stay we were in room 134, which is listed as a Superior Double, and superior it was! The beds and pillows were as comfortable as the ones at home, and the cleanliness was outstanding. I have rarely had a breakfast, complimentary or otherwise that had selection and quality like the one at Unitas. The buffet table had 3 levels, with at least 6 kinds of bread, amazing croissants, maybe 5 kinds of cheese, herring and mackerel,fruits, juices, sausages, and local egg-based dishes that were excellent. Kitchen-made omelets were available as well.

For the second stay we had room 337, a double suite. Again, lots of room, huge bathroom, a bath tub, kitchenette, and super-comfortable beds.

Hotel staff were very friendly and spoke excellent English. The transport contracted by the hotel had good, polite drivers and very good vehicles. On one trip to the airport we were given an Audi.

If you are interested, the chapel adjoining the hotel has Mass at 11:30 AM. Quite anonymous from the street, the interior is beautiful!

Location is excellent: several blocks to Old Town Square or Charles Bridge.

Room Tip: All rooms are quiet. Superior Double and Double Suite were both excellent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank AuSearch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,625 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,414
    190
    17
    1
    3
See reviews for
192
1,051
80
46
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (227)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Okinawa, Japan
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 January 2014

The Unitas Hotel is in a great location, has spacious rooms, serves a delicious breakfast, has an interesting history, and employs a friendly, helpful staff. When we get back to Prague, we'll be going back to the Unitas.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mgc1183
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 January 2014

Stayed at the Unitas with my boyfriend for three nights over my birthday in November. We were greeted with a glass of champagne each (I think this is standard) and I was wished happy birthday when we checked in - always a nice personal touch. The reception staff were very helpful in booking us in for dinner at some local restaurants which was appreciated. The room was surprisingly roomy for a European city centre hotel with a comfortable bed and a great shower in the bathroom. The hotel itself was very nicely decorated (I think it has been refurbished recently) and certainly felt a lot more 'luxury' than the price tag suggested. Our deal included breakfast and the selection was very good - pastries, bread rolls & loaves, fresh and dried fruit, meats/cheeses, yogurts, vegetables and a selection of hot egg options - the omelettes were delicious and set us up well for the day. When you come back to the hotel mid-afternoon they had a hot drink and small pieces of cake set out in reception - another nice touch. The hotel was well situated for the local sights - we walked everywhere during our stay - and some nice local restaurants for lunch and dinner. Would highly recommend a stay at Unitas.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank _Steph_C1986_
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laurencekirk, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 January 2014

All the praise lavished on this hotel by other guests is well-deserved – it quickly became our favourite hotel ever. From check-in (complete with prosecco) through to hiring a taxi to return us to the airport, our four night stay was perfect in every way. Our room was spacious and comfortable, with a great bathroom (and tea/coffee facilities in the room, despite what some reviewers say). We were a few minutes walk from several excellent restaurants, as well as the city centre itself. The breakfasts were excellent, with anything you could wish for, in a relaxed and friendly atmosphere, and we also made use of the DVD and book libraries. But above all the friendliness and helpfulness of the staff made this a hotel we want to return to – very soon!

Room Tip: We were on the second floor - some noise from the room above, but not a problem. No street noise be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LCF467
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wyoming
Level Contributor
163 reviews
94 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 January 2014

We choose the hotel because of the positive reviews and the location within an easy walk of downtown. We had room 325 which was large, clean and well equipped. The building dates from the 14th century but has been nicely refurbished.

The room had a bit of a strange air freshener/soapy smell. The bed was a little soft, there were live plants in the room, plenty of towels, soap, etc.

There was a fancy thermostat on the wall but it only controlled AC, not heat. Radiators are hidden behind the drapes and controlled by their own thermostats.

The desk was staffed 24 hours a day and greeted us with a complimentary glass of wine. Desk was very helpful in providing us a reliable taxi both times we needed one.

Breakfast was wonderful! There was a variety of cold cuts, scrambled eggs, sausages, fruits, veggies, bread and desert breads, various spreads, including a small jar of Skippy. Breakfast room staff was friendly, helpful and bustling about to meet our needs. Wonderful breakfast.

I've not done pix because those already there tell it all.

A wonderful hotel. We'd stay again.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Maurice95
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
60 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 January 2014 via mobile

We stayed at the Unitas Hotel for two nights with our two children. We had rooms 207 & 208.

The hotel is in an excellent location for easy walking access to tourist attractions. There are also many good restaurants and bars in the neighbourhood.

Staff at the hotel are friendly, professional and welcoming.

Rooms are a very good size, very clean and well maintained. They do lack some facilities such as phone, clock and tea and coffee making facilities. You need to use a shared area on the floor for making tea and
coffee which means getting dressed first. Internet access was very good.

The hotel has commercial type floor tiles which do not absorb much noise. I recommend asking to be on the top floor as it was noticeably noisy with guests in the rooms above us.

Hotel does not have lunch or dinner room service. It also does not have a fitness centre.

Breakfast was very good.

Stayed January 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank CDinBKK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
56 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 January 2014 via mobile

The hotel is located in a quiet street but only a 5min walk from the center of Old Town.
We booked a twin and a double room which were spotlessly clean as were all the public areas of the hotel.
Breakfast is included in the nightly rate and the choices were endless.
The management and staff of the Unitas need to be congratulated for having a great hotel.

Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank Brisdave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Prague hotels
Mala Strana (Little Quarter)
Hotel Pod Vezi
Hotel Pod Vezi
#2 of 672 in Prague
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,443 reviews
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Design Hotel Jewel Prague
Design Hotel Jewel Prague
#10 of 672 in Prague
5.0 of 5 bubbles 710 reviews
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Hotel Residence Agnes
Hotel Residence Agnes
#1 of 672 in Prague
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,983 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Nove Mesto (New Town)
BoHo Prague Hotel
BoHo Prague Hotel
#7 of 672 in Prague
5.0 of 5 bubbles 671 reviews
Hradcany & Letna
Questenberk
Questenberk
#12 of 672 in Prague
5.0 of 5 bubbles 970 reviews
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Savic Hotel
Savic Hotel
#32 of 672 in Prague
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,418 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Unitas Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Unitas Hotel

Property: Unitas Hotel
Address: Bartolomejska street 9, Prague 110 00, Czech Republic
Phone Number:
Region: Czech Republic > Bohemia > Prague > Stare Mesto (Old Town) , Praha 1
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Prague
#8 Luxury Hotel in Prague
#9 Family Hotel in Prague
#34 Business Hotel in Prague
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Unitas Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 22
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Unitas Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Unitas Hotel Prague

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing