We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent in every way”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Unitas Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Unitas Hotel
Ranked #9 of 672 Hotels in Prague
Certificate of Excellence
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Excellent in every way”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 May 2014

We stayed at the Unitas Hotel in Prague for a long weekend to celebrate my husband's birthday - a city we had always intended to visit, but had never quite got round to. Booked the Unitas on the strength of other TA reviews, and because it looked interesting. We were delighted with the hotel, its location and staff. As other reviewers have said, the rooms are huge and spotlessly clean, and the breakfast buffet is excellent. We hadn't mentioned that it was a special occasion, but the reception staff had obviously noted my husband's date of birth on his passport, and on the morning of his birthday we were greeted at breakfast with happy birthday wishes from the waiting staff and glasses of prosecco. This sort of touch is indicative of a hotel that genuinely cares about its guests. The only negative comment that I would make is that the bathroom in our room (207) had an over-bath shower, and the bath had extremely high sides. This wasn't a real problem for us, but would have been very difficult for anyone elderly, or with mobility problems. The bath was also very slippery, which didn't help the inelegant process of getting out! (Although I suspect that if we had asked reception they would have given us a rubber mat.)

The Unitas is perfectly placed for exploring Prague, which is a stunning city. We walked everywhere, although public transport seemed to be plentiful and convenient. There are also a number of perfectly acceptable restaurants within easy reach, and the staff were very helpful with directions, etc. The hotel also booked airport transfers for us, which made life very simple. This could have been done independently online, but for the minimal difference in price it was simply more convenient to get the hotel to make the arrangements.

Like many others, if we go back to Prague (which we very much hope to do!), we wouldn't hesitate to go back to the Unitas Hotel.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Flossie229
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,625 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,414
    190
    17
    1
    3
See reviews for
192
1,051
80
46
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (227)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Zionsville, Indiana
Level Contributor
24 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 May 2014

The Unitas is located off a side street directly across from a police station, so it is very quiet, It is a short five minute walk to the Charles Bridge. The staff is very accommodating and English friendly. The rooms are spacious by European standards and the bathrooms 5-star quality. This is one of the best hotel values I have come across in my 20 years of travel throughout Europe

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jwzville
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 April 2014 via mobile

We were twice in one week (we did berlin between two stays in prague). 2nd time we got a nice upgrade to junior suite (big room, more like a doubleroom - i missed some furniture for a nornal junior suite charakter). Nice deco, quite rooms, great bbfst buffet, fresh apples and welcome drink in the lobby. Safe private parking for 15eur. Very nice staff! I will come back. Just one little minus: the most horribile wifi connection in rooms i had- yu must connect your pc every!!! 3-5minutesm after i complained, the receptionist recommended to use the lobby wifi.was great but not so confortable.

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Roland T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bedford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
178 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 April 2014

Really enjoyed our stay at the Unitas hotel. As has already been said, the best bits were the location (quiet but close to everything), the breakfast (both quality and choice) and the staff (helpful and happy). Room (337) was nice if slightly clinical although it was so quiet and the bed so comfortable that the alarm clock each morning was a real shock.

Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank KCandJC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belle Mead, New Jersey
Level Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 April 2014

We selected the Unitas Hotel for our first stay in Prague based on TripAdvisors' Reviews, and it turned out better than expected. The extrememly friendly, English-speaking staff made our stay very enjoyable. Each & every one of them ALWAYS greeted you with a smile and "Good Morning/Evening". The front desk personel helpfully stored our luggage and suggested a wonderful cafe around the corner when we arrived too early for check-in. After returning from an afternoon of castle-touring, we were greeted with a complimentary glass of champagne and were told our bags had been placed in our room. The hotel is off the main road, so you do not have to deal with street-car or traffic noises at all. The comfortable, air-conditioed rooms have 12' high ceilings, and are quite spacious, and have a modern bathroom with glass-enclosed shower. The breakfast buffet is superb! The good-sized breakfast room held about a dozen tables which were set with linen tablecloths and napkins, flowers and a candle. Designed to please travellers from most corners of the globe, it included meats & cheese, bacon, sausage, eggs, & beans, pastries & breads, butter, jams, honey, cream chefs, a variety of juices and a bottle of Czech presecco. Also available were fresh fruit; (whole and sliced), and yogurts. Omelettes, pancakes and boiled eggs could be ordered from the kitchen as could a cappuccino or latte. Your coffee cup was always willingly refilled with strong coffee from friendly waitresses. The lobby has a small bar, and an adjacent loaner library from which you may choose paperbacks and guide books. The hotel wraps around a central courtyard in which you can park your car, or sit & enjoy a little fresh air under a canopy. Overall, a very relaxing and comfortable hotel. I would not hesitate to return to Unitas.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AAflyer_nj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
137 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 April 2014

If you like a hotel which is both central, yet on a quiet street, then this would be a great choice. Unitas is a very good hotel which is a short walk to the Old Town Square and is conveniently placed for the tram network (line 22 takes you up to Prague Castle). The hotel has quite a history - Vaclav Havel himself was imprisoned here by the Secret Police before becoming the first president of the Czech Republic.

The staff are very pleasant and will pour you a glass of sparkling wine on check in. The room we stayed in was very large and clean, with little offerings left by the housekeeping staff when they serviced the room each day. The beds were a little soft for my liking, but I appreciate that's a matter of personal preference. Rooms are equipped with DVD players and DVDs can be borrowed from reception. There is also a system for loan of ipads upon payment of a deposit - a nice feature which I haven't seen on my travels before. Whilst there are no facilities for making hot drinks in your room, each floor has a coffee/tea corner with a table and chairs, plus plentiful coffee and tea which can be enjoyed back in your room if you prefer. The breakfast options are pretty good with the option of buffet style dining and an a la carte service for omlettes and pancakes. The waiting staff are lovely and will really look after you!

All in all a really good hotel at a very reasonable price.

TIP - If taking the tram from Narodni up to the castle, the bookstore near the tram stop (Knihkupectví Academia) sells tram tickets including the 24 hour pass valid on all public transport which works out at approx £4. Don't forget to validate your pass when you first use it.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Reachforthesky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
95 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 April 2014

This hotel is absolutely amazing for any holiday to Prague. We arrived at the hotel after a short walk from the Mustek metro station and were greeted by the extremely friendly receptionist Jakub who greeted us with a welcome drink of champagne! He gave us information on restaurants and how to use the public transport system (trams, metros etc) which proved invaluable. The room was outstanding - very large room, lovely comfortable bed with carpeted floor, wide desk space and very clean bathroom with European shower. The room overlooked a former convent - noise levels at night were literally zero. The hotel is in a very safe area particularly as the city police headquarters is located right next door!
Breakfast is excellent - friendly people serving you cereals, cooked options, hot and cold meats etc, fruit, porridge and coffee, hot chocolate and juices. The whole place feels like a warm, friendly country B&B, except it's in the middle of Prague near all the sights! There is a "tea and coffee corner" on each floor which you can use and also a library on the ground floor.
I can honestly say that for a holiday in Prague, short or long, there is no need to look anywhere else than here. Be lifted out to a warm, friendly world by the cheerful and comfortable Unitas Hotel! Absolutely perfect on all fronts.

Room Tip: Ask for a high up room facing the courtyard - to say it's quiet at night there is an understatem...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ThamesDanube
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Prague hotels
Mala Strana (Little Quarter)
Hotel Pod Vezi
Hotel Pod Vezi
#2 of 672 in Prague
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,444 reviews
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Design Hotel Jewel Prague
Design Hotel Jewel Prague
#10 of 672 in Prague
5.0 of 5 bubbles 710 reviews
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Hotel Residence Agnes
Hotel Residence Agnes
#1 of 672 in Prague
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,983 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Nove Mesto (New Town)
BoHo Prague Hotel
BoHo Prague Hotel
#7 of 672 in Prague
5.0 of 5 bubbles 671 reviews
Hradcany & Letna
Questenberk
Questenberk
#12 of 672 in Prague
5.0 of 5 bubbles 970 reviews
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Savic Hotel
Savic Hotel
#32 of 672 in Prague
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,418 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Unitas Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Unitas Hotel

Property: Unitas Hotel
Address: Bartolomejska street 9, Prague 110 00, Czech Republic
Phone Number:
Region: Czech Republic > Bohemia > Prague > Stare Mesto (Old Town) , Praha 1
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Prague
#8 Luxury Hotel in Prague
#9 Family Hotel in Prague
#34 Business Hotel in Prague
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Unitas Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 22
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Unitas Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Unitas Hotel Prague

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing