We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a gem of a hotel”
Review of Unitas Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Unitas Hotel
Ranked #10 of 649 Hotels in Prague
Certificate of Excellence
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“What a gem of a hotel”
Reviewed 4 September 2009

My wife and I had a short break in Prague and chose this hotel based on other feedback on TripAdvisor and we were not disappointed.

The hotel is in an excellent location, with most of the attractions in Prague within a few minutes walk. The welcome we received was first class and the staff throughout our stay were very helpful and friendly. The rooms were a good size and very clean and the breakfast was typical European, a mix of cold and hot dishes and plenty of it.

This is one of the best hotels we've stayed in and I would recommend it to anyone going to Prague.

One word of warning about Prague itself though. Do NOT get into a taxi without agreeing the fare up front. The taxi drivers are extremely happy to rip you off if you don't.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gordon R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,675 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,455
    198
    18
    1
    3
See reviews for
201
1,080
83
46
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (231)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
North Somerset
2 reviews
Reviewed 3 September 2009

We found this hotel via Expedia whilst searching for somewhere to spend our 20th wedding anniversary. We wanted somewhere reasonably priced and comfortable that would give us good access to the old town of Prague and all that it had to offer. This hotel definitiely ticked all the boxes and more. The hotel has a minimalist clean crisp feel to it and has been renovated to a very good standard. The hotel was always extremely clean and had a very quiet and peaceful feel to it. All of the staff we encountered were exceptionally friendly, helpful and attentive to our needs. The hotel is situated down a street that actually has a Police station directly opposite but this in no way detracted from our experience. The road was always very quiet, which was great when you consider how busy and noisy the streets directly adjacent to the old square can get. At a leisurely stroll you could be in the main square within 10 minutes from the hotel. We can be fairly 'critical' travellers at times but we have absolutely no negative comments about this hotel at all and would definitely recommend it to others.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cloverwick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buckinghamshire
Level Contributor
71 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 September 2009

Very clean, modern hotel in a quiet side street but only 10 minutes walk from the Charles Bridge. Very good breakfasts. Helpful, friendly staff. They realised it was my birthday and brought me a chocolate pancake with a candle at breakfast - a lovely touch - and left wine in our room.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jilly278
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
seattle
Level Contributor
49 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 August 2009

The Unitas hotel was a nice surprise...other than the location (very easy to reach from the main train station), we weren't sure what to expect.

Our room turned out to be a suite, with a kitchenette and dining area. Clean, quiet and comfortable, the Unitas is also perfectly situated in the city...so easy to just nip back for a nap or change of clothes.

Our bathroom also had a deep, soaking tub, which was heaven after walking around all day on the city's gorgeous streets. Oh, and the beds were perfect. Also, free wifi in the rooms.

The only two things that might irk some were: No self-serve coffee at breakfast (which is nothing fancy, but perfectly fine, with eggs, toast, cheese, cakes and fruit). So you have to order coffee and wait. Also, while the rooms are spotless, housekeeping is a little sloppy with tidying up (glasses weren't replaced, bathroom counter wasn't wiped down, and toiletries were never replaced during three night stay). Small things, but in the interest of giving a complete review, there you are.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank availablename
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CPH
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 August 2009

We stayed the for 3 days and the service was in top shape! The buffet are really nice and the staff are nice and friendly -´real value for money! It is placed perfectly if you only like us have a few days to experience Praque, they have made this former prison into a cosy, pleasant and friendly spot in a fun unique city. We had a problem after we left and they were really nice to help us out afterwards - that proves excellent service - that we wasen't "out of sight-out of mind" thank you for 3 lovely days. I would deffinately return!

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Beingajewel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hertfordshire, UK
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2009

I cannot recommend this Hotel highly enough.
I honestly can't find a negative so I will just summarise the good stuff.
The location is very convenient for sightseeing but utterly peaceful in a quiet back street. Just far enough away to feel as if you are escaping the crowds, yet close enough to be in the Old Square in 5-10 minutes (strolling). My friend and I arrived in very hot weather (which remained for the duration of our stay) and the Hotel was a haven. The street entrance is very understated and you could easily miss the Hotel altogether.
We were 3 hours early for check-in but were able to leave our bags and were handed a very useful city map by the lady on reception to get us started. When we returned our bags had been taken to our room for us.
Unitas is utterly spotless everywhere, airconditioned, and minimally decorated in natural shades that add to the feeling of calm throughout. There's a small 'bar' area in front of reception and just to one side is a computer for guest use, a small selection of useful books on Prague, maps etc and a small free DVD library for guests to use.
Our (twin) room was a decent size, with a lovely bathroom (shower), controllable airconditioning, flat screen TV with DVD player and free wi-fi (ask at reception for a password). The breakfast room was just down the hall from our room and each morning there was a plentiful buffet with hot and cold food (replenished frequently) and with attentive but unobtrusive staff always on hand to make sure you had everything you needed. Breakfast ran for 4 hours while we were there so it was very flexible for early/late risers.
The rooms do not have tea/coffee making facilities but on each floor there is an area with supplies where you can sit and have a tea/coffee at any time.
The staff were without exception helpful and pleasant. Everyone we encountered spoke good English and the whole Hotel seemed to run almost silently and yet totally efficiently. Very, very peaceful.
Reception is 24 hour so you can come and go as you please and know that someone will always be there. After dark/overnight they disable the automatic doors so you have to be let in by reception - a welcome touch of security and we never waited more than about 20 seconds before someone saw us.
On check out we were allowed to leave our bags for 4 hours prior to our flight and they put them in safe storage for us on another floor. They were cheerfully and promptly retrieved for us when we returned to meet our taxi.
There's nothing else to say - it was simply perfect. I honestly can't think of one single negative. I would not hesitate to return and I would recommend it unreservedly.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MillieViv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shanghai, China
Level Contributor
27 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 July 2009

We had a great stay here in Jul 09. We had two rooms (booked at wotif.com). One of the rooms they arranged for us had two beds separated in two different rooms so we asked to have two beds or a large bed in the same room and they had that arranged for us. I guess the booking description was not too clear and hence the hickup.
Location is great.
Fantastic large and bright bathroom.
Free wireless internet (I hate paying extra for that)
Breakfast was of good standard (espresso and real OJ)
The staff was all very friendly and accomodating although perhaps not the best trained
I would love to stay here again, Unitas made our Prague experience perfect

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hdpxx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Prague hotels
Mala Strana (Little Quarter)
Hotel Pod Vezi
Hotel Pod Vezi
#2 of 649 in Prague
2,581 reviews
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Hotel Residence Agnes
Hotel Residence Agnes
#1 of 649 in Prague
3,060 reviews
Hradcany & Letna
Questenberk
Questenberk
#11 of 649 in Prague
1,004 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Design Hotel Jewel Prague
Design Hotel Jewel Prague
#13 of 649 in Prague
724 reviews
Nove Mesto (New Town)
BoHo Prague Hotel
BoHo Prague Hotel
#6 of 649 in Prague
743 reviews
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Savic Hotel
Savic Hotel
#35 of 649 in Prague
2,454 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Unitas Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Unitas Hotel

Property: Unitas Hotel
Address: Bartolomejska street 9, Prague 110 00, Czech Republic
Region: Czech Republic > Bohemia > Prague > Stare Mesto (Old Town) , Praha 1
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Prague
#9 Family Hotel in Prague
#9 Luxury Hotel in Prague
#34 Business Hotel in Prague
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Unitas Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 22
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Agoda, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Unitas Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Unitas Hotel Prague

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing