We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Small, very small room!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel U Tri Pstrosu (At the Three Ostriches)
Ranked #183 of 649 Hotels in Prague
Certificate of Excellence
Morgantown, West Virginia
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Small, very small room!”
Reviewed 27 July 2013 via mobile

Breakfast excellent, but rooms are really small even by European standards. Location at the Charles bridge is great but w/o AC u want the windows open and its noisy well passed 1am on Friday night. Staff was friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Billbyrne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

391 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    221
    124
    34
    10
    2
See reviews for
49
224
30
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2013

It is a bit surprising to open your room window and see all the tourists taking pictures of you, ok actually they are taking pictures of the west tower of the Charles Bridge and the Prague Castle which is behind you.....Great location in the middle of the pedestrian stroll...I mean right in the middle from the Castle to the Wenceslas Square! Romana Risova the front dest manager...was a delight to work with about arrangements and her english was better then mine...great spot to spend a night or two...and oh I should tell you the breakfast buffet had everything you could want.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the Bridge side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ron6674
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newton, Massachusetts
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 June 2013

Our first time in Prague for a 3 night stay. Oldest hotel building in Prague, wonderful location at the foot of the Charles Bridge. Fine breakfast included, room price was a great value. The hotel staff was most friendly and eager to help. There is no elevator here, so if that is a concern this place is not for you. If not, you can't miss. Great little bakery right outside hotel front door. Several very good restaurants within 50 meters of so, as well as a number of casual sandwich shops, pizza, etc.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank newtonpair
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 May 2013 via mobile

I recently came back from a stay at this hotel. The hotel is located right at the foot of the Charles Bridge on the Mala Strana side which made it very convenient. The drawback to its location is that it can be rather loud, with so many tourists coming and going right outside your window. While the rooms were clean, I thought the bathroom was very, very small. The shower was so tiny that I have bruises from banging my arms against the glass and I am a petite woman. In addition, the Internet connection was terrible. On my first day, I was unable to connect my iPad on the wifi. When I asked the receptionist, she told me that I needed to "try again." After several tries on my iPhone and iPad, I finally gave up and went to Starbucks. The next day, the Internet finally worked but the connection was not very strong and I kept getting dropped. Since I stayed in two different rooms on two different floors at this hotel during my time in Prague, I can say that the Internet connection was very bad on the third floor and even worse on the second floor.

As others have said, there is no lift. I had to drag my suitcase up three flights of stairs after getting off a 14 hour flight, which was not a happy experience.

Stayed May 2013, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank Olivia T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
utripstrosu, Manager at Hotel U Tri Pstrosu (At the Three Ostriches), responded to this review, 28 August 2013
Dear guest, thank you for your review. We were checked WIFI connection, but we did not found any problems..I think maybe at the same time somebody has downloaded big file. However, we decided to install more transmitters in our hotel. I hope, if you come next time to our hotel, you will be more satisfied. With regards, David Starý, manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 April 2013

Loved our stay at this hotel. Walk out the hotel onto the Charles Bridge. Couldn't be a better location. Room was nice, clean and bed comfortable. Very good breakfast too (included a fritata that was quite yummy). Very friendly and helpful desk staff. Adjoining restaurant is nice but a bit expensive. Good, inexpensive restaurants are a couple of minutes walk away. Only drawback to this hotel is there is no lift. If you are on a top floor and have lots of luggage it could be a drag.

Room Tip: Ask for a lower room if you have heavy luggage.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tim H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swansea, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 April 2013

We recently stayed for four nights at this hotel over the Easter period ,it is a fantastic location at the foot of the Charles bridge the staff are friendly and helpful ,breakfast was fantastic with loads of choice ,we expected just continental but there was also a hot selection available (bacon egg sausage etc) there was also free Wi-Fi .The Hotel is steeped in history and was orriginally built in the 1500's ,the rooms was Warm and functional and there was antique furniture everywhere .I would recommend staying here to all great base for exploring a fantastic city .

Room Tip: We stayed in room number 12 which did not look over the charles bridge ,although we did not find thi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank madbyker1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Udine, Italy
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 April 2013

For our first time in Prague we could not have made a better choice. The location is fantastic. Our room was not large but clean, elegant, with antique furnishings, ornate ceilings and an enchanting view on the Charles Bridge. Breakfast is good, and the staff is kind. There's free wi-fi in the hotel and a computer available for customers in a cute lounge on the first floor. No elevator. As long as the prices of the rooms remain affordable, if we go back to beautiful Prague (very soon, I hope!) we'd love to stay again at Hotel U Tri pstrosu. We would also recommend the fresh specialities of the bakery which is right next to the hotel, and the unique atmosphere of the restaurant U Patrona in the small square nearby.

Room Tip: Rooms with a view, higher floors (but remember there is no elevator)
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank giuli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Prague hotels
Mala Strana (Little Quarter)
Hotel U Pava
Hotel U Pava
#180 of 649 in Prague
359 reviews
Mala Strana (Little Quarter)
Certovka Hotel
Certovka Hotel
#125 of 649 in Prague
315 reviews
Mala Strana (Little Quarter)
The Golden Scissors
The Golden Scissors
#82 of 649 in Prague
340 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mala Strana (Little Quarter)
Hotel U Jezulatka
Hotel U Jezulatka
#329 of 649 in Prague
89 reviews
Mala Strana (Little Quarter)
Archibald At the Charles Bridge
Mala Strana (Little Quarter)
Kampa Garden
Kampa Garden
#76 of 649 in Prague
742 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel U Tri Pstrosu (At the Three Ostriches)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel U Tri Pstrosu (At the Three Ostriches)

Property: Hotel U Tri Pstrosu (At the Three Ostriches)
Address: Drazhickeho namesti 76/12, Prague 118 00, Czech Republic
Phone Number:
Region: Czech Republic > Bohemia > Prague > Mala Strana (Little Quarter) , Praha 1
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#107 Romantic Hotel in Prague
#125 Family Hotel in Prague
#154 Luxury Hotel in Prague
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel U Tri Pstrosu (At the Three Ostriches) 4*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel U Tri Pstrosu **** is located directly in the heart of the historical centre at the famous Charles Bridge and in the immediate vicinity of the other distinguished Prague sights. A beautiful renaissance house from 1597 is situated in place of original middle-age pub, which was frequently visited by Charles IV, the Czech king and Holy Roman Emperor, when he watched the construction works on the gothic stone bridge in the 14 century. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo, Agoda, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel U Tri Pstrosu (At the Three Ostriches) reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel u Tri Pstrosu (At The 3 Ostriches)

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing