We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stylish hideaway”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Mamaison Riverside Hotel Prague
Ranked #107 of 649 Hotels in Prague
Certificate of Excellence
Yorkshire
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Stylish hideaway”
Reviewed 4 April 2008

I stayed here with my partner in August 2007, for three nights.
Don't let the outside put you off (it's in need of a paint job), the staff and the service in this hotel was just lovely.

The rooms are very "boutique hotel" i.e. small but unbelievably comfortable. Best thing about the Riverside are its beds. The bed was large, soft and covered with cushions, you just blissfully sink into it. Found it rather amusing and just slightly unsettling that the en suite bathroom has an almost see-through glass door with a mirror directly opposite - go with someone you're very comfortable with, is all I can say...!

We also had a free minibar included in our deal, and no corners were cut there either - fully re-stocked daily and full of very good quality spirits and Toblerone!

Downside to the hotel is that it's at least 15 mins walk from Charles Bridge and even further from the newer part of Prague. We didn't mind the walk as it's along the river, but for those looking for City Central, this isn't for you.

If you're wanting a stylish hideaway for a sexy long weekend, away from the Hen/Stag groups then I'd definitely recommend the Riverside.

  • Liked — The beds
  • Disliked — The location
  • Stayed August 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank travelbiscuits
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,526 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    897
    471
    117
    32
    9
See reviews for
141
870
56
140
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (286)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Houston
Level Contributor
25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 January 2008

We stayed at the Riverside Christmas 2007. While initially I wasn't crazy about the location- a bit far from things when you're walking in 25 degree weather, I came around and have become a big fan.

Here's what distinguishes this hotel from others-- the employees! They were terrific. Anything we wanted, they helped. Their english was good and they enjoyed assisting their guests.

The rooms while somewhat smallish are decorated beautifully. The bathrooms are wonderful- even heated floors. The beds are very comfortable. My only complaint is that the rooms lack a clock. I don't wear a watch but rely on my cellphone for the time. When your cellphone is at home and there's no clock--well-its a bit disorienting.

Breakfast was wonderful and the woman that runs the breakfast has been well described in this forum. What no one has mentioned is the room service. Its very good! The food is fresh and tasty, well priced and gets to you right away.

While Prague was not at all crowded over the Christmas holidays, I can imagine how the small streets fill up. The Riverside with its location would provide a calming respite from the crowds of summer. The location was a hike when walking to city center but is well located to a great tram route and 2 subway stations.

There is construction going on now and on two mornings, our room was somewhat close to the hammering and drilling but construction didn't being until 8 am or so which was fine with me.

  • Liked — Staff
  • Disliked — no clocks
  • Stayed December 2007, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank Hous2n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Whistler, Canada
Level Contributor
49 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 128 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 December 2007

Hotel:
We were really impressed with this hotel, i dont really know where to start, firstly are reason for visit was my partners birthday of which was a surprise. I had booked the Prague romance package which included 2 nights accommodation, transfers from the airport, dinner on 1 night in a choice of 2 restaurants, we chose Le Perle de Prague (which i will come back to later as that was fantastic), a 1 hour city tour with private guide and a welcome drink on arrival, and breakfast. The package itself was great value for money, i had also been cheeky and asked to upgrade to a suite for an extra 50 euro's a night, well worth it. We were met at the airport by our driver who took our bags straight to a fairly new mercedes car and taken straight to the hotel, check in was a breeze, we were sat with drinks as they were currently dealing with other guests. At present it seems the hotel has taken on the building next door and is currently converting it, the room we had originally be allocated was right next to this but at check in they explained that they did not want to put us in that room due to the noise so moved us to another suite (1 of 3) with a terrace looking directly across the river and still with a castle view through a small window. I was really impressed with this that they had not just put us in the room we had wanted but had thought about it and actually moved us not only that but i had found that the door between our room and next door was open on asking reception about this so it could be locked incase guests arrived they said not to worry it was for our use also, so in-fact for the 2 of us we had the use of 2 rooms!!! At check in we were given the low down of Prague and then whisked off to our room were a bottle of sparkling Czech wine was waiting on ice, complimented with chocolates and biscuits. Our room was amazing, everything has been really thought about here when it comes to finishing touches. The bathroom was heaven, beautifully fitted out with White Company products. The bed is probably the best i had ever slept it. So much so on return we realized how much better it was we have since been out a brought a new mattress for home. Another part i particularly liked was a welcome letter personalized to us. As mentioned the hotel is kept to just the rooms and the bar at reception, but i go away to se other cities, countries etc so find my hotel time is confined to sleeping so i dont look for lots of facilities in a Hotel. They do a 24 hour room service menu though despite not being a restaurant there are kitchens downstairs that can prepare food. Breakfast was very good i admit i wasn't expecting much but was very impressed with the attentiveness they remembered what we drank tea/coffee wise and as soon as we entered the small breakfast room straight away were asked if we wanted any hot food etc. The hotel will call a taxi for you which is defiantly the safe bet as the taxi drivers in Prague are worse then in Rome for trying to rip you off. Many people have commented on the hotels location being out of town i dont think it was at all noticeable, it is in a beautiful residential district and the walk to charles bridge was all of about 10-15 mins along a lovely river front path past some huge old palace buildings. I certainly would think about getting a taxi into the old town from the hotel which only cost us 140 Koruna to save your feet, but to go to charles bridge and the castle its a lovely easy walk.
Food:
We ate the 1st night at Kampa Park this was very good, i wouldn't say its amazing you pay for the view but it was still very good, get a table at the water front and watch the swans and ducks swimming around by your table. The 2nd night we ate at Le Perle de Prague in the fred and ginger building, this was 1st class and the 3 course meal was paid for by the hotel as part of our package, you only need to pay for your drinks. We thought not being true paying guests we wouldn't be treated as well as other customers but we had the best table in there right over looking the city and really were waited on hand and foot.
For Lunch we ate at more traditional eatery on the walk up hill to the castle i cant recall the name but they have a funny red cow statue outside, we had the 3 course menu advertised on the door which consisted of Garlic Soup, Goulash and dumplings then Czech pancakes for 265 Koruna's each.
Prague:
Prague itself we found to be absolutely beautiful i would go again tomorrow given the chance and do wish we had more time then just the 2 nights there is so much we didn't get to see. Being december i suppose its out of season despite the christmas markets i found it relatively quiet. The christmas markets arnt up to much and if your looking for them then especially stick to Germany's. As i said watch out for the Taxi drivers they will rip you off. Shopping is probably as expensive if not more so then London when i compared prices of things i have brought back home, but the selection of shops in Prague is good. Architecturally its a stunning city so so beautiful. Drivers as i find in most of europe are mad and skoda's are the choice motor. The Castle complex is lovely and St Vitus cathedral was very stunning, make sure you walk around the side to the back and just dont walk in through the front look around then come back out the way you went in as your missing the best view from the other side.
All in all a great trip, the Riverside is probably to date the best hotel to date i have stayed in, the staff are all excellent and the service second to none. We will be back.

  • Liked — Location, Rooms, Service etc
  • Disliked — Nothing really
  • Stayed December 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
5 Thank roseoakhil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberdeen
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 December 2007

As previously stated by other reviewers this is a good, clean hotel within walking distance to the Old Town / Charles bridge (15-20 mins). There are tram stops and Metro stations within 5 mins walk. The travel passes can be purchased from the reception. The staff were very helpful and friendly, even recommending and booking restaurants.
There is no restaurant at the hotel to speak off, though there is quite an extensive room service menu. We didn't eat anything from it, so cannot comment on the quality, though I did notice that people next door to us had the room service 2 nights running , so it couldn't have been that bad. The breakfast is a cold buffet, though a few hot items can be ordered (ie, bacon / eggs). The bar is small and slightly pricey.

  • Liked — Location / Staff
  • Disliked — Price of soft drinks.
  • Stayed December 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Murph35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 December 2007

Stayed on recommendation of other reviews and wasn't disappointed. Initially stayed in a River View Deluxe Room which was great. We were then upgraded to a suite with no hassle or problems when our neighbours proved rather noisy. Hotel is a short distance from the tourist sights but has excellent transport links (metro and trams are a few minutes away). The hotel staff were superb, e.g. gave an excellent overview of Prague and how to get around at check-in. I can't think of anything negative!

  • Stayed November 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank NEBLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Essex, England
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 November 2007

Stayed here for 3 nights as as part of a small group for a special occasion. We got a good deal through relaxabroad in a double/superior room with breakfast. There was an option to go room only which was cheaper.The hotel is near to the river and has great views. It is a good 15 minute walk to the centre which was perfect for us. The hotel is very clean and staff were very friendly what more could you want! Think you would find it hard to beat on price and standard. Would definatley go back and recommend.

  • Stayed October 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Cord21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cornwall
Level Contributor
62 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 November 2007

We used trip advisor to find a good hotel in Prague. The Riverside came up time and again with excellent reviews and fitted the criteria we wanted. It isn't in the centre of town, but is within walking distance of everything, though those who have travelled to Prague before will no doubt remember how good the tram system is. A definite throw-back from the communist days I suspect, but they are on time, clean and regular as clockwork!!!! Prague as a city is beautiful - quite different than what I had anticipated and is somewhere I would definitely re-visit!!! Everyone is very friendly and they all appear to speak very good English too! The hotel staff were more than helpful in explaining routes and things to see/visit.

The Riverside is undergoing 'an extension' in that there is work going on next door in the adjacent building. It is worth paying for a Riverview Room or Suite as Prague at night is quite captivating. There is no shortage of places to eat in the evening, although taxis are scarce but if the hotel car is available you can generally ask for a reduced rate and get dropped off and collected in a nice Merc!!! The Kampa group of restaurants are superb and provide a good cross range of restuarants to eat in. Check out their website before you leave England.

Overall Prague is a superb place to visit and the Riverside provides the luxury you would expect from a 5* boutique hotel.

  • Liked — The cleanliness
  • Disliked — No evening restuarant on site
  • Stayed October 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank Firethorne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Prague hotels
Praha 5
Hotel General
Hotel General
#21 of 649 in Prague
1,403 reviews
Praha 5
Hotel Julian
Hotel Julian
#25 of 649 in Prague
1,571 reviews
Hradcany & Letna
Questenberk
Questenberk
#11 of 649 in Prague
1,004 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Praha 2
Park Inn Hotel Prague
Park Inn Hotel Prague
#62 of 649 in Prague
2,259 reviews
Mala Strana (Little Quarter)
Archibald At the Charles Bridge
Nove Mesto (New Town)
K+K Hotel Central
K+K Hotel Central
#89 of 649 in Prague
2,742 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mamaison Riverside Hotel Prague? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mamaison Riverside Hotel Prague

Property: Mamaison Riverside Hotel Prague
Address: Janachkovo nabrezhi 1115/15, Prague 150 00, Czech Republic
Phone Number:
Region: Czech Republic > Bohemia > Prague > Praha 5
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#53 Business Hotel in Prague
#94 Luxury Hotel in Prague
#95 Romantic Hotel in Prague
#145 Family Hotel in Prague
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Mamaison Riverside Hotel Prague 4.5*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Uniquely located and boasting award-winning Art Nouveau-style design, the upscale Mamaison Boutique Hotel Riverside Prague provides ideal accommodation for both leisure and business travellers in the trendy Smichov district of Prague. Charming and sophisticated, Mamaison Hotel Riverside Prague enjoys close connections to the city’s business districts, the airport and its main cultural attractions. With elegant accommodation, views and top facilities, the hotel offers fantastic rates for city stays in stylish and historic surroundings, making it one of the most charming boutique hotels in Prague and number one for your Prague hotel reservation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK), Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Mamaison Riverside Hotel Prague reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mamaison Riverside Prague
Prague Mamaison Riverside Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing