We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved it!! Definately going to return!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Design Hotel Josef Prague
Ranked #40 of 648 Hotels in Prague
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 21 June 2011

We stayed in Hotel Josef from 6th-9th June 2011. Firstly, the chauffer service to the airport and back that we organised by emailing the Josef concierge was brilliant. We got picked up in the airport by an audi! It was 60 euros altogether. Our room was lovely and spacious and clutter free! The shower was excellent and we were provided with several shower gels/shampoo/conditioner which was nice. I am very conscious about cleanliness and my high standards were definately met!
You can ask at reception for use of the sauna and they book u in a slot where you have full use of the sauna and shower and changing room facilities on the top floor. Its very romantic! There is unlimited bottled water which was excellent. There were free bottles of water scattered in the gym, sauna and computer room etc. Also on the top floor was the gym which was excellent, and 3 sunloungers outside on the roof. The weather was lovely when we stayed and we spent hours of the rooftop where we never met another person. There was also free wifi which was excellent! They give you the password when you check in! And you can use the computer rooms which have top of the range apple desktop computers and free printing. We used these on the last day when we were too sunburnt, ran out of money and were waiting for our transport to the airport. Overall, Prague is a very romantic city, with lots of places to eat and drink! We will definately be recommending Hotel Josef to our friends and hope to return in the future!
P.S. As already mentioned , breakfast is AMAZING and the beds are incredibly comfortable!

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Megsy_66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,532)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,431 - 1,437 of 2,532 reviews

Reviewed 19 June 2011

It is the best hotel since quite a long time for me. First the hotel seems brand new, well decorated , modern and clean. All the employees are very helpful and friendly. >We had the concierge who did reserve for us a tour in Kutna Hora and even prepared us lunch boxes (I was askind for a place to buy lunch but she preferred to offer us something fresh from the hotel). The room are nice with a lot of light and bright color on wall, garden view, expresso coffee machine. The breakfast is one of the best I hve seen, pastry (croissant, strudel, cheesecake), large choice of cheeses, jams, different breads, salmon, eggs, omelettes and you can even have pancake made to order and included in room price. very well located, few step from the old Prague, restaurants and Astronomical tower. everything positive

Room Tip: I believe a room with a garden view is more quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mado63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2011

The hotel is like many other design hotels, flawless and nice, but without any real charm. The staff was really helpful, breakfast quite good and the deluxe rooms was very good. Not that big, but with a great balcony.

The location however is near perfect: in the outskirts of the "old town", just far enough away to not have all the noise and crowds, but just a few minutes walk to get to the "old town square".

Room Tip: deluxe rooms has balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank krissv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 June 2011

We had chosen this hotel after reading the good reviews on Trip Advisor. After visiting the hotels website and looking at some photos we went for room 806. Before the trip we e-mailed a few times with reception and concierge service and each time, no matter the question, they replied promptly and friendly providing answers on the questions, great service al round. So, naturally we were interested to see if this service would continue at the hotel itself. It most certainly did. Nice people, good service and follow up, always offering that little extra. Nice and easy also, the Ipad service at reception. Easy and functional and if not directly finding your answer reception would jump in and help you again. Could keep going on.
Breakfast!!! As mentioned before on Trip Advisor, the best! High standards! Friendly service again but also great and extended choice of good food, even a pot of Arabica next to al espresso based drinks. An extra menu for daily choices on top of already an extended buffet. Each plate from the chef at breakfast was nicely presented as if it would be for diner. Little and big details every where. When the bar was closed always some extras at reception.
The room, ours was 806, very nice. Spacious for the price, nice balcony, good bed, little salon, overlooking courtyard but from the side of the balcony also part of the city and from distance the castle. Quiet and nice. We had the great fortune of enjoying perfect weather and each morning enjoyed a little espresso on our rooms balcony. We were offered a bottle as we were celebrating our anniversary during the stay. It is a modern but great hotel which feels personal and warm. Location is perfect. If going easy on arrival, make sure you booked car service from the hotel. Nice ride to the hotel and so easy, good way to start you stay.
Prague is beautiful, a must visit in your life. Hotel Josef gives you modern comfort but perfect fitted in an historical city.
A big thanks to the whole staff, most certainly also Eva, for the good service, follow up and just making our stay so comfortable in hotel Josef and Prague.

Room Tip: Room 806 and booked directly with the hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Peter-op-trip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hoteljosef, Guest Relations Manager at Design Hotel Josef Prague, responded to this reviewResponded 19 July 2011

Dear Peter,

thank you for sharing your experience here! I am happy that we made your stay in Prague comfortable. It was also pleasure for me to be able to assist you during your stay at Josef.
I wish you once again all the best for your marriage and hope to show you our hospitality in the future again.

P.S. good luck with your book!

Kindest regards from Josef,
Eva

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2011

5 min away from old center, shiny clean, comfortable, light, fresh hotel with anything you may want for both business and pleasure. We always stay there and love that place. The breakfast is very good. I think they have also sports facilities - i just never used them. There are nice restaurants around and you get some things arranged at hotel too. Highly recommendable

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Elalfi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2011

Well, all wrong. I'm in what is said to be the best room, a penthouse 801, small, not enough design, really a shame. Besides all that today I left the room at 7 pm and they didnt clean ( I did leave the sign to clean ) and after dinner when I complainned with the idiot in the front desk he said he couldnt do nothing to us. OK , stay in the dirt I stupid that paid extra high in my opinion for this crap room. Leavin tomorrow to another place, tks god.
Dont ever stay here.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank phibrz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hoteljosef, Front Office Manager at Design Hotel Josef Prague, responded to this reviewResponded 27 May 2011

Dear Valued guest

First I would like to thank you for taking the time to comment about your stay here at Hotel Josef.
Second i would like to point out that our housekeeping staff respected your request for privacy in the room from morning till 6pm that evening, while the turning down service is being carried out. Cleanliness is among a top priority for us at Josef and had we have known about your new request for your room to be cleaned, I know this would not have been a problem for us. Also after talking personally with my colleague on the evening reception shift, I now understand that he was cut short on your phone conversation together late that evening, thus resulting in the problem to remain unsolved.

I hope this clears matters for you and your comments are definitely noted by all members of the team.

Kind Regards,

John Brennan
Front Desk Supervisor

Hotel Josef

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 May 2011

The Hotel Josef may not be a luxury hotel by American standards because there are not tennis courts and shopping kiosks, but it has all that most travelers need. The rooms are thoughtfully designed and soundproofed. This in itself is a reason to book this hotel. After all, a good night's sleep is essential, and for sound sensitive people like my wife and me, it was wonderful to put away the earplugs and know it would be quiet. The breakfast at the hotel was delicious and the food buffet would satisfy the pickiest eater. A free computer room allowed for email acquisition, boarding pass printing, and general net surfing without having to lug a laptop/tablet around.

The location of the hotel is on a quiet sidestreet in the heart of the old quarter, near many tourist attactions, and restaurants. Last, the staff is multilingual, extremely friendly, helpful, and had excellent recommendations for restaurants.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LJman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Prague hotels
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Maximilian Hotel
Maximilian Hotel
#25 of 648 in Prague
2,407 reviews
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
The Emblem Hotel
The Emblem Hotel
#30 of 648 in Prague
1,166 reviews
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Ventana Hotel Prague
Ventana Hotel Prague
#20 of 648 in Prague
1,322 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Savic Hotel
Savic Hotel
#34 of 648 in Prague
2,495 reviews
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Grand Hotel Bohemia
Grand Hotel Bohemia
#46 of 648 in Prague
1,791 reviews
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Hotel Hastal Prague Old Town
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Design Hotel Josef Prague? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Design Hotel Josef Prague

Address: Rybna 693/20 | 11000 Praha, Prague 110 00, Czech Republic
Phone Number:
Region: Czech Republic > Bohemia > Prague > Stare Mesto (Old Town) , Praha 1
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Prague
#31 Family Hotel in Prague
#31 Romantic Hotel in Prague
#37 Luxury Hotel in Prague
Price Range: £91 - £259 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Design Hotel Josef Prague 4.5*
Number of rooms: 109
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the very heart of one of the most beautiful medieval cities in Europe, designer Eva Jiricna has managed to create a modern masterpiece. The 109-room Hotel Josef in Prague's old town offers a design concept that elegantly blends the most modern elements with the rich history of its surroundings. iPod Docking Stations are available free of charge at reception. Breakfast is included if you book directly through our hotel website. hoteljosef. com ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), HotelsClick, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Design Hotel Josef Prague reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Josef Prague

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing