We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Design Hotel Josef Prague
Ranked #41 of 647 Hotels in Prague
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 31 July 2011

We had an amazing time here. The rooms are clean and modern and the staff were very helpful and spoke good English. We also managed to squeeze in a trip to the sauna which was very worth it after a long day sight seeing in below zero temperatures!

  • Stayed: February 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Screebs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,533)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,414 - 1,420 of 2,533 reviews

Reviewed 29 July 2011

Be careful....things like these should not happen...even if I was offered a taxi to another hotel, the fact they did an overbooking is unacceptable....

Stayed: July 2011, travelled on business
1  Thank ANDREAARI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2011

This is a hotel I must recommend ! Location is very good, service is fine (however not in particular in the breakfast room), but what I really liked is the design layout of the hotel and especially the little extras. Free coffe and juices/water in the reception, Nespresso in the room, Aveda products, fresh bottles of water by the bedside, DVD in the room, and other little extras that just makes you feel they want to service you. We also appreciated the super breakfast buffet incl. ala carte. We can highly recommend two nearby restaurants Local (which is local food, good service and excellent beer), and Lary Fary, which is fab food and resonable price ! Do try them out for two different experiences. Enjoy Hotel Josef. We will definitly be back !

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 5familie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2011

Our 4 nights stay in this hotel, (double superior glass room) was wonderful !
Locations was perfect…10 (slow) walking minutes from Old town square.
The room (front side 6th floor) was very stylish and modern, super clean, (must be quite a job with all that glass), bathroom…the same high level with magnificent rain shower.
The bed (king) was of a high comfort level. Rooms are very soundproof so we have slept very well. Room was equipped with a complementary espresso machine to make a nice cup of coffee, large flat screen TV and minibar with reasonable prices.
When it comes to the breakfast…we have stayed in many different hotels in the world but the breakfast that was served here was outstanding ! As well in taste, quality, freshness and selection. There was even a side menu from which you could choose several other type of eggs, we had “egg Florentine” 3 times from 4 and they were marvellous (see pictures).
The service we encountered in this hotel was beyond our expectations, perfect, professional and polite. A true example of customer service !
Our thanks to the whole team for the service and hospitality they provided !!!
Tips :
-diner in Restaurace “22” and U Medvídků , look for our reviews at TA.
-Good and reliable rate to change money : at blue change office, corner of Kaprova street, only 50 meters from St Nikolas church/Old town square.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank eMBieAntwerp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2011

We just spent five days in fabulous Prague and stayed at Hotel Joseph. We have never written a review before but Hotel Joseph was so outstanding and deserving of a great review that we wanted to share our experience. The room was roomy, comfortable, modern and clean. The hotel is located in a quiet street about a five minute walk from Old Town Square. The staff were so friendly and helpful. Any information we requested about the city and surrounding area they researched for us. The breakfast was fantastic. There was a wonderful selection at the buffet plus a daily menu. We ordered room service one night and the dinner was very good. There were lots of little extras that we appreciated such as bottled water for free each day, a big bowl of fruit at the front desk, coffee in the lobby and free DVDs on a rainy evening. We cannot say enough about this outstanding hotel. It made our trip to Prague extra memorable. Thanks to Hotel Josef!

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DandECalgary_Canada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2011

Stayed for our Easter break, we did a lot of research before and chose JOSEF as it was recommended by nearly every travel book and it's clear website. Turnout we were more than satisfied. Since we arrived very early, our room was not ready, we left our luggage, waited at a bakery nearby and had very good breakfast there. At near 11 we returned and they gave us a room that over looking the front street, I enjoy watching the people walking around while I used my laptop(Internet was free). The room design was minimal and it's very clean, exactly like the one we saw on their site, the mattress was very comfy. Bathroom with rain shower and very good amenities (AVEDA), bathrobe and slippers were provided also.

The breakfast was excellent, not only they have standard buffet items, but there's a daily menu to choose from. Since my hubby prefer to be served, he enjoyed this service very much. We ordered also room service two nights, they were both in excellent quality and very reasonable price, so I guess maybe hotels in prague don't charge you a fortune for in-room dining. The lobby barman made very good cocktail also, as we have a free welcome drink at the 1st day, we also stayed a couple of times for drinks there, the atmosphere was casual.

The hotel location was perfect, we walked everywhere for sightseeing except the castle.
At the 4th day's morning we requested to upgrade our room to executive one with bathtub and expresso machine since I need a bath to soothe my feet after days of walking. They upgraded our room without any extra charge for the next 2 nights and we were really surprised. The staff were really nice and smily, we just felt like we were at home.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank yy715
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2011

On our arrival to the hotel last Friday,we were surprised at how modern and trendy it looked and we were looking forward to our stay; however, when we checked in we were informed that our breakfast was not included although we had requested breakfast when we booked with hotels.com.(this complaint we will take up with them as they had mislead us when we booked our room, this has no reflection on the hotel)

The Duty Manager John Brennan apologised and offered us a complimentary breakfast for the following morning.

Our room was spacious, bright and spotlessly clean. The bathroom was fabulous and the shower .... well we fought to be the 1st in ever time! I required a needle and cotton, I called reception to request this and prompt is an understatement, my husband and i wondered how on earth the young lady got to the 4th floor seconds after i had put the phone receiver down.

On the Sunday when we checked out, Mr Brennan again invited us for a complimentary breakfast. This was a very kind gesture and something that really touched us.

The hotel is perfectly situated right in the heart of the city; with a few minutes walk to Old Town Square and the main tourist attractions; however there are many wonderful restaurants and a beer hall just around the corner from the hotel.

We cannot recommend this hotel highly enough, and are planning another trip for our wedding anniversary in September ... this time we will book directly with the hotel.

Room Tip: book direct with the hotel, excellent offers on their website, and the staff speak with very good En...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Reddj73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hoteljosef, Front Office Manager at Design Hotel Josef Prague, responded to this reviewResponded 26 July 2011

Dear Valued Guests,

I would like to take this opportunity to personally thank you for your great review of Josef.
Also we are all delighted that you will be visiting us again soon to celebrate your special day (Prague is perfect for a romantic September break). Let us make it extra special for you, send us an email after booking, through our Website which includes our delicious Breakfast as you know, indicating your arrival date so we can make sure that you have a weekend you'll never forget. You can ask for me by name at Guestrelations@hoteljosef.com and we truly look forward to meeting you both again soon. Until then...

My Kindest Regards,

John Brennan & The Josef Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Prague hotels
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Maximilian Hotel
Maximilian Hotel
#25 of 647 in Prague
2,413 reviews
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
The Emblem Hotel
The Emblem Hotel
#31 of 647 in Prague
1,174 reviews
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Ventana Hotel Prague
Ventana Hotel Prague
#20 of 647 in Prague
1,323 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Savic Hotel
Savic Hotel
#34 of 647 in Prague
2,495 reviews
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Grand Hotel Bohemia
Grand Hotel Bohemia
#45 of 647 in Prague
1,793 reviews
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Hotel Hastal Prague Old Town
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Design Hotel Josef Prague? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Design Hotel Josef Prague

Address: Rybna 693/20 | 11000 Praha, Prague 110 00, Czech Republic
Phone Number:
Region: Czech Republic > Bohemia > Prague > Stare Mesto (Old Town) , Praha 1
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Prague
#31 Family Hotel in Prague
#31 Romantic Hotel in Prague
#38 Luxury Hotel in Prague
Price Range: £92 - £250 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Design Hotel Josef Prague 4.5*
Number of rooms: 109
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the very heart of one of the most beautiful medieval cities in Europe, designer Eva Jiricna has managed to create a modern masterpiece. The 109-room Hotel Josef in Prague's old town offers a design concept that elegantly blends the most modern elements with the rich history of its surroundings. iPod Docking Stations are available free of charge at reception. Breakfast is included if you book directly through our hotel website. hoteljosef. com ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Design Hotel Josef Prague reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Josef Prague

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing