We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Minimal design an oasis of calm”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Design Hotel Josef Prague
Ranked #41 of 649 Hotels in Prague
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Minimal design an oasis of calm”
Reviewed 18 August 2011

Originally I was looking for a hotel with lots of old world charm but a friend recommended this hotel so decided to book this design hotel. We were so glad we did. Great location, great reception staff, and good room. We lucked out with no view but had booked late and got a good deal on one of the last minute booking websites. Because of the good room rate there was no breakfast which we prefer as we like o get amongst the locals and drink coffee where they do. The hotel recommended a coffee shop literally two minutes away, the Bakehouse with one of the best coffees we've had in six weeks of traveling through Europe and a great selection of pastries, cakes fresh fruit salad and muesli and yoghurt. Hotel organized their car to pick us up from the station - this is a private car and driver nit a taxi service for around ten euros. After a hard days sightseeing with sire feet and head swimming with facts and images it was a pleasure to walk through the doors if this design hotel with it's clean lines and minimalistic feel.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Newport36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,469 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,845
    524
    73
    14
    13
See reviews for
294
1,195
119
315
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (338)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
61 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2011

While the see-through bathroom was unnecessary, everything else about the hotel was quite nice. Well located on a quiet street readily accessible to the Old Town Square, the amazing Jewish Quarter and the Charles Bridge. Breakfasts were well done. Concierge was helpful. Room service good. Some reception staff were friendly and engaging, others somewhat distant. Prague can seem like Disneyworld at peak times, and other hotels in Prague in which I have stayed seem to have the same crowded tempo, but Hotel Joseph provides a pleasant escape from the crowds.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 6101FCD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swords, Ireland
Level Contributor
28 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 August 2011

Stayed for six nights and loved it! Soundproofed rooms, great pillows, showers etc. Breakfast a daily treat. Calm, tranquil building and garden. Walking distance from central square and tourist tat. My wife was hospitalised after a Segway accident (!) and hotel prepared fresh fruit etc. for her every morning. We'll be back,

  • Stayed June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pentetetra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 August 2011

Went for a long weekend with 2 girlfriends. Stayed in superior twin room. Excellent value. Room very comfortable. Lovely Aveda products in bathroom. Breakfast is excellent and goes till 11.30. It was included in our room rate and we could order off menu as well as help ourselves to the buffet. We stayed for hours! The location is great. The staff were very friendly and ready to help in whatever way we needed. I will return!

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travelometer039
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gatineau, Canada
Level Contributor
480 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 298 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2011

We spend a long weekend at this hotel and we were pleased with absolutely all aspects of this stay. First, the hotel is modern and comfortable, with large and well appointed rooms. The bed was particularly comfortable and the blinds were pretty good, making it possible for the room to remain dark in the morning. We certainly appreciated the modern style of the hotel which design was very pleasant and not too cold. With a nice restaurant and terrace outside, its also a bit of an oasis of calmness in a city where there are toursits everywhere. The hotel also offers a very pleasant and well equipped Gym which is somewhat of a rare thing in Europe and it also offers a Sauna and some sun chairs on the roof to get a bit of sun.

The service was absolutely superb. In Prague, we noticed that the service in many places was a bit cold and distant. This was certainly not the case here. All staff we met were upbeat, very friendly and willing to do what it takes to please.

Finally, the location of the hotel is absolutely great as it is within very short walking distance of essentially all major attractions in Prague. All I can say is that I very muich recommend this hotel and to top it off, the price was very moderate. Well done!

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BBreton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Luxembourg City, Luxembourg
Level Contributor
133 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2011

We stayed here for a weekend. We had a room on the 8th floor with beautiful views. Could see the castle from the bed ! Modern interior in bright colours. Clean bathroom. The room also had a nice terrace. The breakfast is superb. Very good location and very helpful staff. We will certainly come back to this hotel.

Room Tip: A room on the top floor with view to the castle.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank snorringBommel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alkmaar, NL
1 review
Reviewed 3 August 2011

Stayed here back in 2009, but still remember the great buffet breakfast, the modern room with a balcony and the helpful staff who lent me an ipod docking station. I also did some laundry which, while expensive, was prompt and efficient. Also got a thai massage - also quite expensive but still worth it!

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Darren_Philby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Prague hotels
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Maximilian Hotel
Maximilian Hotel
#28 of 649 in Prague
2,259 reviews
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Unitas Hotel
Unitas Hotel
#10 of 649 in Prague
1,669 reviews
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Ventana Hotel Prague
Ventana Hotel Prague
#22 of 649 in Prague
1,270 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Savic Hotel
Savic Hotel
#35 of 649 in Prague
2,451 reviews
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
The Emblem Hotel
The Emblem Hotel
#30 of 649 in Prague
1,050 reviews
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Design Hotel Jewel Prague
Design Hotel Jewel Prague
#13 of 649 in Prague
724 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Design Hotel Josef Prague? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Design Hotel Josef Prague

Property: Design Hotel Josef Prague
Address: Rybna 693/20 | 11000 Praha, Prague 110 00, Czech Republic
Phone Number:
Region: Czech Republic > Bohemia > Prague > Stare Mesto (Old Town) , Praha 1
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Prague
#31 Family Hotel in Prague
#31 Romantic Hotel in Prague
#37 Luxury Hotel in Prague
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Design Hotel Josef Prague 4.5*
Number of rooms: 109
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the very heart of one of the most beautiful medieval cities in Europe, designer Eva Jiricna has managed to create a modern masterpiece. The 109-room Hotel Josef in Prague's old town offers a design concept that elegantly blends the most modern elements with the rich history of its surroundings. iPod Docking Stations are available free of charge at reception. Breakfast is included if you book directly through our hotel website. hoteljosef. com ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, MyHotelShop, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), Hotel.de, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HRS, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Design Hotel Josef Prague reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Josef Prague

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing