We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel in Prague (with a taxi tip)”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Design Hotel Josef Prague
Ranked #39 of 646 Hotels in Prague
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 26 August 2011

Arrived in Prague by train from Germany for our 3rd visit. Big tip here, if you want a taxi at the train station, go to the Information Desk and get them to book for you. Avoid the Yellow Perils at the station unless you have deep pockets. I was quoted CzK900 (£33) for a 2km journey but walked away from the offer. One of the drivers caught up with me and offered CzK480 including tip. We finally settled for CzK400 (£14). On checking in at the Josef the staff found it amusing that I had managed to get there for CzK400 as some travellers get hit for CzK1200 (£44). I was told that getting a taxi from the Info Desk would be about CzK200 (£7). Lesson learned.

Back to the Josef, we found it the boutique hotel we had hoped for. Very clean, very modern and very white. Staff were very pleasant and helpful. The room was big enough for our needs and comfortable. Breakfast was very nice with buffet and fresh cooked options. My wife found cheesecake available which is a first for breakfast. We were lucky to get a 3 nights for 2 deal which made the cost very affordable. The hotel is 5 minutes walk from the main square and there are plenty of bars, restaurants and cafes in the area.
The gym and sauna are small and very quiet during our visit. If you want to use the sauna you have to give an hours notice so it can be heated up (that's a first for me).
The hotel offers their own in-house cars if you don't want to use taxis and the price, although a bit more expensive well worth it (haggle the price at reception to get it nearer to a taxi fare). It made a nice end to our holiday being whisked to the airport in a very well equipped executive car driven by a chauffeur.

Prague is one of our favourite places and still affordably cheap but getting more expensive each time we visit.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank burnieScotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,566)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,423 - 1,429 of 2,566 reviews

Reviewed 25 August 2011

I was happily shocked to see how close to the Old Town Square, and yet away from the tourist crowd this hotel was. I accompanied my husband who was in Prague for business. It was awesome being able to walk alone simply everywhere, down the Old Town Square, across the Charles Bridge, up the hill to the Vitus Cathedral and all the way back again. The decoration of the hotel was modern, but not sacrificing comfort. Not traditional Czech at all, but having enjoyed the city throughout the day, I welcomed modern comfort at night. Breakfast was excellent and I enjoyed eating in the silent garden very much.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TRAVELIST-34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2011

My husband and I stayed in this hotel for 3 nights and we loved it!

I love this hotel's interior design. It was very modern and had a character. Its breakfast was lovely. In addition to normal hotel buffet, they had a menu that you could choose from (ie. egg benedict, pancakes etc). We had a such a big breakfast that we did not even bother to have lunch. Our room was very spacious but the bed was a little uncomfortable. Again, I liked their furniture and how they decorated their room. Bathroom was lovely. We are even thinking of renovating our bathroom like what they have so we took some photos :) I also enjoyed their Aveda soaps. They also had free wi-fi which was really fast.

Overall, if I go back to Prague, I would use this hotel again.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank njhy438
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2011

Originally I was looking for a hotel with lots of old world charm but a friend recommended this hotel so decided to book this design hotel. We were so glad we did. Great location, great reception staff, and good room. We lucked out with no view but had booked late and got a good deal on one of the last minute booking websites. Because of the good room rate there was no breakfast which we prefer as we like o get amongst the locals and drink coffee where they do. The hotel recommended a coffee shop literally two minutes away, the Bakehouse with one of the best coffees we've had in six weeks of traveling through Europe and a great selection of pastries, cakes fresh fruit salad and muesli and yoghurt. Hotel organized their car to pick us up from the station - this is a private car and driver nit a taxi service for around ten euros. After a hard days sightseeing with sire feet and head swimming with facts and images it was a pleasure to walk through the doors if this design hotel with it's clean lines and minimalistic feel.

  • Stayed: August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Newport36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2011

While the see-through bathroom was unnecessary, everything else about the hotel was quite nice. Well located on a quiet street readily accessible to the Old Town Square, the amazing Jewish Quarter and the Charles Bridge. Breakfasts were well done. Concierge was helpful. Room service good. Some reception staff were friendly and engaging, others somewhat distant. Prague can seem like Disneyworld at peak times, and other hotels in Prague in which I have stayed seem to have the same crowded tempo, but Hotel Joseph provides a pleasant escape from the crowds.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 6101FCD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2011

Stayed for six nights and loved it! Soundproofed rooms, great pillows, showers etc. Breakfast a daily treat. Calm, tranquil building and garden. Walking distance from central square and tourist tat. My wife was hospitalised after a Segway accident (!) and hotel prepared fresh fruit etc. for her every morning. We'll be back,

  • Stayed: June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pentetetra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2011

Went for a long weekend with 2 girlfriends. Stayed in superior twin room. Excellent value. Room very comfortable. Lovely Aveda products in bathroom. Breakfast is excellent and goes till 11.30. It was included in our room rate and we could order off menu as well as help ourselves to the buffet. We stayed for hours! The location is great. The staff were very friendly and ready to help in whatever way we needed. I will return!

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travelometer039
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Prague hotels
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Maximilian Hotel
Maximilian Hotel
#29 of 646 in Prague
2,478 reviews
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
The Emblem Hotel
The Emblem Hotel
#32 of 646 in Prague
1,241 reviews
Nove Mesto (New Town)
Hotel UNIC Prague
Hotel UNIC Prague
#27 of 646 in Prague
1,728 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Nove Mesto (New Town)
The ICON Hotel & Lounge
The ICON Hotel & Lounge
#42 of 646 in Prague
1,368 reviews
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Savic Hotel
Savic Hotel
#35 of 646 in Prague
2,542 reviews
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Unitas Hotel
Unitas Hotel
#9 of 646 in Prague
1,779 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Design Hotel Josef Prague? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Design Hotel Josef Prague

Address: Rybna 693/20 | 11000 Praha, Prague 110 00, Czech Republic
Phone Number:
Region: Czech Republic > Bohemia > Prague > Stare Mesto (Old Town) , Praha 1
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Prague
#27 Family Hotel in Prague
#31 Romantic Hotel in Prague
#36 Luxury Hotel in Prague
Price Range: £75 - £282 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Design Hotel Josef Prague 4.5*
Number of rooms: 109
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the very heart of one of the most beautiful medieval cities in Europe, designer Eva Jiricna has managed to create a modern masterpiece. The 109-room Hotel Josef in Prague's old town offers a design concept that elegantly blends the most modern elements with the rich history of its surroundings. iPod Docking Stations are available free of charge at reception. Breakfast is included if you book directly through our hotel website. hoteljosef. com ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Travel Republic (UK), Evoline ltd, Ebookers, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Design Hotel Josef Prague reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Josef Prague

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing