We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely hotel, great staff”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Design Hotel Josef Prague
Ranked #41 of 647 Hotels in Prague
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 11 August 2012

We stayed at the Hotel Josef on a trip to Prague at the end of July. The hotel is lovely--very light and modern. We had a deluxe room for the first three nights, which had a little balcony and a large and elegant bathroom. We were going to Budapest for a few days, then returning to Prague, and cancelled our reservation at another Prague hotel to return to the Josef. We had a standard room on the return, which was somewhat smaller, with a very cool glassed in bath (no tub, if that is important to you).

Breakfast is exceptional--wide variety of options, and a menu also available.

The staff was unfailingly friendly and helpful; the reception team made thoughtful dining recommendations, and appeared to take a genuine interest in our activities and requests. They were, in large part, why we chose to return.

Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
Thank Ann M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelJosef, Guest Relations Manager at Design Hotel Josef Prague, responded to this reviewResponded 18 August 2012

Dear Valued Guest,

thank you for your kind review. We are happy to know you enjoyed your stay in Hotel Josef, and came back after your trip to Budapest.

Our restaurant staff is delighted to know you found the breakfast exceptional, and the reception team is pleased to read your great comments about their work.

We will be looking forward to seeing you again in the nearest future,

Kind regards,

Uliana Ardeeva

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,532)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,232 - 1,238 of 2,532 reviews

Reviewed 10 August 2012

Hotel Josef, is a great city centre hotel. It is located just a short stroll from Old Town Square and the main shopping/tourist area's. Breafast is always good and the staff are very helpful. It is best to seek a discounted rate by phone as savings can be made. The rooms are well appointed and the beds are excellent. There is a nice bar/ reception area and the hotel also provides it's own transport. My favourite when I visit Prague.

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the top of the House.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank johnmfenit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelJosef, Guest Relations Manager at Design Hotel Josef Prague, responded to this reviewResponded 18 August 2012

Dear Valued Guest,

we are delighted to read your kind review, following your stay in Hotel Josef.
All our team is happy to know you rated us as a best hotel in Prague, and we are truly looking forward to welcoming you back on your next trip to Czech Republic.

Kind regards,

Uliana Ardeeva

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2012

one always wonders if the hotel pix really tell you what the place is like. Hotel Josef is all that and more. great location, fabulous contemporary rooms, constantly smiling and helpful staff in all departments. stayed in room 801 - so worth it! The view of Prague Castle at night was spectacular. A must stay.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BarbaraSS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelJosef, Guest Relations Manager at Design Hotel Josef Prague, responded to this reviewResponded 18 August 2012

Dear Valued Guest,

we are so happy to receive such a great feedback from a Senior Contributor! Thank you for being our guest and all your kind comments.

I will share your review with all our team, which is looking forward to welcoming you back.

Kind regards,

Uliana Ardeeva

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2012

after travelling round bavaria for a week our group ended up in prague. We stayed in design hotel josef for 2 nights. The best stay of all our vacation. The rooms big and super clean. The breakfast the best we had on our vacation. The staff at the front desk VERY helpful especially Christine. Many thanks to all the staff.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Afroditi_1949
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelJosef, Guest Relations Manager at Design Hotel Josef Prague, responded to this reviewResponded 18 August 2012

Dear Valued Guest,

we are pleased to know you fully enjoyed your stay with us, and grateful you took time to write a review. Thank you for commenting on your room, breakfast and the staff.

We are looking forward to your next stay with us,

Kind regards,

Uliana Ardeeva

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2012

My wife and I recently spent 3 glorious nights at Hotel Josef and there isn't really much I can add to all the praise that other reviewers have so justly written about this fabulous hotel. We would like to personally thank the young man Petr at the bar for his outstanding service along with all the great staff who made our stay so wonderful. We won't hesitate to recommend Hotel Josef to our families and friends and would love to come back soon for another visit. Thank you all for making our stay in Prague a memorable and extremely pleasurable experience!

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ManUfan007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelJosef, Guest Relations Manager at Design Hotel Josef Prague, responded to this reviewResponded 18 August 2012

Dear Valued Guest,

thank you for being our guest and leaving your great review on TripAdvisor. All your positive comments inspire us to do our absolute best to offer our guests the highest level of hospitality.

I am happy to hear you and your wife had an excellent stay in Hotel Josef, and truly pleased to learn you will be recommending us to your families and friends.

All our team, including Petr, is looking forward to your next stay with us,

Kind regards,

Uliana Ardeeva

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2012

What a great hotel! My husband and I ended a 2 week sweep of Europe with a 3 night stay in Prague (July 19-22). From the moment we walked in, we could tell this was going to be the best hotel we stayed in out of all the cities.

It's the little things about this hotel that really stood out for us. For example, each morning, there are free fresh pastries, a bowl of fresh fruit and a free nespresso machine with all the fixings set up for the guests to pick up quickly on their way out. You may also choose to have their semi-buffet breakfast, though it was a bit pricey, and we had it only on our last day before our flight home. The semi-buffet breakfast was wonderful though! They have a buffet of nice fresh breakfast items, and you may also order from a menu with options such as pancakes (crepes) and omelettes.

The guest rooms also have nespresso machines, which are all complementary. It's nice to not be nickle-and-dimed for everything like other hotels. The internet was also free, and it was a very very strong connection!

We had the Superior Deluxe room with the glass bathroom (on 5th floor). The room was a very nice size, and the glass bathroom didn't pose any privacy concerns because the only part that is see-through from the bedroom is the sink area. The showers and the toilet area have separate non-see through doors.

Note that our room did not have an iron or ironing board, so you might need to bring one with you.

The only reason for not giving this hotel 5 stars is that I didn't feel totally safe walking back to our hotel at night from the old town area. Most of the way back to the hotel is fine, as it is filled with cafes and bars, but the last few minutes before you reach the hotel is deserted and a little sketchy. This would be the only reason I wouldn't stay here again - though in another year or two, that small stretch of area might be updated and expanded to be completely filled with people like the other areas are, so you never know.

Room Tip: we were on the 5th floor, and there was no outside noise - we faced a nice courtyard. and Bring an i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kristen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelJosef, Guest Relations Manager at Design Hotel Josef Prague, responded to this reviewResponded 18 August 2012

Dear Valued Guest,

let me thank you for leaving such an explicit review, following your stay in Hotel Josef! I am glad you experienced and enjoyed our breakfast, your room, amenities and all the little touches that made your stay unique and special.

It is a great pleasure to know you rated us as a best hotel during your trip around Europe. We will be truly looking forward to welcoming you back, happy to provide a complimentary iron and an ironing board, available for all our guests upon request.

Kind regards,

Uliana Ardeeva

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2012

This hotel is centrally located near the Old Town Square and about a 15 minute walk from Charles Bridge. It is a posh neighborhood with many expensive shops nearby. Yet, the area maintains the feel of the "old town" and is very charming. The room was decorated with a modern feel, and with a large comfortable king bed (the equivalent of a North American king bed, not a British king bed).

We got a great deal off hotels.com that didn't include breakfast but there are breakfast spots nearby. The washrooms are a bit weird in that the sink area is encased by clear glass; the glass walls leading to the toilet and shower are opaque. The carpet in the room could use cleaning but otherwise the room was clean.

Overall I would strongly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wanderingnomad111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelJosef, Guest Relations Manager at Design Hotel Josef Prague, responded to this reviewResponded 18 August 2012

Dear Valued Guest,

it is great to know you had a pleasant stay in Hotel Josef. Thank you for commenting on the location of the hotel and the room.

I agree that even though the hotel is located in the very center of Prague, the area has an 'old town' feeling to it, and it is a pleasure to be walking in the neighborhood.

Looking forward to seeing you again,

Kind regards,

Uliana Ardeeva

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Prague hotels
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Maximilian Hotel
Maximilian Hotel
#25 of 647 in Prague
2,405 reviews
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
The Emblem Hotel
The Emblem Hotel
#30 of 647 in Prague
1,166 reviews
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Ventana Hotel Prague
Ventana Hotel Prague
#20 of 647 in Prague
1,321 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Savic Hotel
Savic Hotel
#34 of 647 in Prague
2,493 reviews
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Grand Hotel Bohemia
Grand Hotel Bohemia
#48 of 647 in Prague
1,789 reviews
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Hotel Hastal Prague Old Town
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Design Hotel Josef Prague? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Design Hotel Josef Prague

Address: Rybna 693/20 | 11000 Praha, Prague 110 00, Czech Republic
Phone Number:
Region: Czech Republic > Bohemia > Prague > Stare Mesto (Old Town) , Praha 1
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Prague
#31 Family Hotel in Prague
#31 Romantic Hotel in Prague
#37 Luxury Hotel in Prague
Price Range: £92 - £267 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Design Hotel Josef Prague 4.5*
Number of rooms: 109
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the very heart of one of the most beautiful medieval cities in Europe, designer Eva Jiricna has managed to create a modern masterpiece. The 109-room Hotel Josef in Prague's old town offers a design concept that elegantly blends the most modern elements with the rich history of its surroundings. iPod Docking Stations are available free of charge at reception. Breakfast is included if you book directly through our hotel website. hoteljosef. com ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), HotelsClick, Ebookers, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Design Hotel Josef Prague reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Josef Prague

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing