We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Design Hotel Josef Prague
Ranked #40 of 649 Hotels in Prague
Certificate of Excellence
Derbyshire, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
“Great hotel”
Reviewed 3 March 2008

Recently stopped at the Hotel Josef to meet a friend for the weekend in Prague. I booked the hotel after finding it on splendia.com as we wanted a modern hotel which was central and was within easy walking distance of the attractions. I was very pleased with the room and the service at the hotel. I also had a loveley little balcony off my room. The only slightly annoying aspect was getting bumped to their sister hotel the first night as they had overbooked the hotel. Other than that I would have rated it a 5*. The bathroom was great with a limestone walk in shower and I really liked things such as the electronic blinds. Breakfast was a really good buffet and drinks at night in the lobby were nice. I thought the design was beautiful. It was within easy walking distance for eating out at night too and just a short walk from the old square. One of the best tips I read on TA was to take comfy shoes to walk up to the castle, the cobbles are really hard on your feet. Prague was beautiful and I was overwhelmed by the architecture, I took hundreds of pictures. I would definately stay here again if I return.

  • Liked — the design
  • Disliked — overbooked 1st night so getting bumped in to sister hotel
  • Stayed January 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank uktripfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hoteljosef, Guest Relations Management at Design Hotel Josef Prague, responded to this review, 28 April 2008
Thank you for your comments. Once again, we are sorry for the relocation on your first night. We are pleased to hear that you still enjoyed your stay and would come back again. We would love another opportunity to welcome you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,487 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,857
    530
    73
    14
    13
See reviews for
295
1,203
121
317
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (341)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 March 2008

Lovely modern hotel right on the centre of things. Rooms were great with excellent customer service touches. Breakfast was amazing with a great choice. Would recommend to anyone who wants to stay in luxury in Prague

  • Liked — Everything
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed August 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Jules094
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hoteljosef, Guest Relations Management at Design Hotel Josef Prague, responded to this review, 28 April 2008
Thank you for your comments regarding our customer service and our rooms. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed both. We hope to be able to welcome you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
armagh
Level 5 Contributor
92 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 February 2008

Just returned from a wonderful 3 night stay at Hotel Josef.
Ultra modern hotel with warm friendly staff and excellent accommodation. Our room on 8th floor had breathtaking views over this beautiful city.
Located within 5 minute walk of The Old Square
Very high standard of service. Reception desk,housekeeping,breakfast were all of a very high standard.Just marvellous.
We booked a transfer from airport with hotel, which we had been advised to do.
Apparently a lot of rogue taxi drivers!!
Only one small negative, bar prices were high.

  • Liked — Breakfast
  • Disliked — bar prices
  • Stayed February 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank joanoArmagh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Yorks
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 February 2008

This was our first visit to Prague & I booked the Hotel Josef as a surprise for my partner's 50th birthday. We had a fantastic time & the Hotel Josef is a wonderful place to stay. The location of the hotel is perfect, only a short 5-7 minute walk to the old town square & we were able to walk the entire city easily.
The staff are fantastic, from the minute their car collected us from the airport until they dropped us back off, we could not fault anything. Nothing is too much trouble & they go out of their way to make your stay memorable. They even left a complimentary bottle of champagne in our room.
I booked direct with the hotel & we were upgraded to a superior room with a beautiful glass bathroom. Very modern, clean and well furnished with TV, Coffee machine, safe & minibar. Also a DVD with free DVD rental library. Breakfast is served from 6.30am till noon, a fantastic choice, with hot and cold buffet. Really set us up for the day.
Complimentary water left each evening was a nice touch.
We will definitely return on our next visit to Prague & will recommend it to all our friends.

  • Liked — Everything...
  • Disliked — Nothing...
  • Stayed February 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank slw55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Gatos, California
Level 4 Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 February 2008

We spent two weeks in Europe, and this was one of four hotels that we stayed in. You can see our relative experiences in my other reviews for those respective properties. Our preference, in order:

#1 - Hotel Josef, Prague, Czech Republic
#2 - Hotel Sacher, Vienna, Austria
#3 - Ambassador Hotel, Vienna, Austria
#4 - Hotel Wolf-Dietrich, Salzburg, Austria

We stayed at the Josef for 3 nights, and picked it based on reviews here on TripAdvisor, and how cool it looked from the website. Ovearll, it's a beautifully modern and sleek property, perfect balance of cost, luxury, amenties and service...our favorite hotel on this trip. We booked a Signature Room because we wanted to experience the glass bathroom, and got a special version of the room (#703) which had been upgraded with a featherbed which we were asked to provide feedback on, since it was the only one in the hotel.

Highlights: Free internet everywhere - hardline ethernet in the rooms, Wi-Fi in the lobby, free PCs in the business center with free internet. Very cool design and architecture. Very friendly and accommdating English-speaking staff. We were there the first day they opened after a month of remodeling, so the first room they gave us wasn't ready. The guest services manager immediately came to help us get a new room, brought a bellhop to handle bags, and comp'd us a bottle of wine for our trouble. The bed was very soft and comfortable, the room had a good TV, fridge, DVD player, and a walk out balcony with a nice view. DVD rentals are free with Siganture Rooms, and cheap otherwise. Special touches include a free espresso machine, motorized sun shades, heated bathroom floors and aforementioned glass bathroom. Free bottled mineral water with turn down service is a nice touch (free water also available in the business center). Concierge was very helpful and booked all our activities and dinner reservations for us. Free newspapers including USA Today and Wall Street journal, international editions. Breakfast is slightly expensive at 500 CZK ($28), but is an excellent spread including fresh pastries, fruit, espresso coffee drinks, egg bar, and pancake/waffle bar.

Lowlights: We really liked this hotel, so our only gripes are minor. Despite being in the city center, the Hotel Josef is not immediately that close to anything. It's a 10-15 walk to the Old Town Square or any subway stops. The room itself is fairly small without much room to move about, especially with two people. The concierge found us a laundromat on the other side of town that she said was open on Sundays, but it wasn't, which turned out to be almost a two hour waste of time hauling a heavy bag of laundry around. The lounge is cool, but gets very smoky during drinking hours, slightly a turn-off since you have to walk through it to get in and out of the hotel. Cleaning products smell strongly like modeling glue if you get to your room right after housekeeping comes through. As interesting as the glass bathrooms are, they're not super practical and aren't very private. The toilet and shower have frosted glass walls and doors so you can't see in there, but the doors have gaps around the edges like a bathroom stall would have and the glass provides very little sound insulation, so you may not feel very private in the toilet and the shower leaks water.

Things to note: Avoid eating in Old Town Square proper, the restaurants and stands there are a rip-off preying on easy tourists. L'Angolo, an Italian restaurant very close to the Josef, is the best deal in town with a huge pizza (enough for two, way too much for one) for only 210 CZK ($12). Note that MANY things are closed on weekends, including most pharmacies and every laundromat we saw. Laundromats in general are a rare occurence, and the ones that are available are half-day drop-off services, no self-service places that we could find.

  • Liked — Modern design
  • Disliked — Not enough privacy in glass bathroom
  • Stayed February 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank gtdroptop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle WA
Level 6 Contributor
103 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 149 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 January 2008

We spent about a month touring Central Europe, mainly staying at pensions and 3 star places. But the deal I got on Expedia for the Josef was competitive with what 2 and 3 star hotels were charging. A no-brainer, then. We arrived for our 5 day stay right after staying in a pension in Vienna with mismatched old furniture and grimy lace doilies over everything. Talk about culture shock--we arrived to find a lobby with all glass and chrome and marble! Ultra modern. In fact, perhaps too much so, since the bar is too cold-feeling and brightly lit to encourage lingering over drinks. It was fine, though for checking our email with the free wireless in the lobby.

Breakfast was sensational but pricey if it isn't included in your hotel rate. We did it twice, once just for the experience and once the day we left because we had a long train ride ahead of us that day and wanted to be well-fed first. One highlight was the variety and quality of the fresh fruit provided. ALso the tartes and tortes were better than we experienced in Vienna--and that's a high compliment.

Concierge staff were helpful in arranging out of town tours. Also, they arranged for a chaufeur to the train station, which we quite appreciated since we were ripped off by the cabbie from the airport. He refused to use the meter, even when asked in Czech, and refused to drive us to the door of the hotel--obviously so that we couldn't get reinforcements from the hotel front desk for the extortionate bill. The chauffeur service was about half of what we paid the crooked cabbie.

  • Liked — Chic room and breakfast
  • Disliked — High cost of breakfast if not included in roomrate
  • Stayed September 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank Flitcraft
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 January 2008

I just completed a business/holiday trip to Hamburg-->Berlin-->Prague and I was impressed with the Hotel Josef. This is the third time I've been to PRG since 1998, so I've experienced the growth and change of this great city over time, and it's really coming into its own. Honestly, I prefered it on my first visit when the Koruna was at 52 versus the US$ and I stayed in a three bedroom apt for literally $3 a day. The city is now flooded with stag parties from the UK looking for absynth (and study abroad students).

The Josef is perfect for any trendsetter looking to stay close to the action, but still enjoy a quiet rest (even if it means sleeping in until noon). The Josef is blanketed in all white. It's ultra modern and posh. It shows that the Czechs really know how to take care of their guests. For an opposing view of "hospitality" in former Russian republics, check out my review of the Artotel in Dresden :) Here's a breakdown of the Josef...

THE GOOD
- Ultra modern and posh
- Amazing breakfast
- Friendly staff
- Free Internet access with printing
- Use of the hotel car (for a fee)
- Centralized, yet quiet location
- 2 mins from Powder Tower
- 5 mins from Wenceslas Square
- 5 mins from Republiky metro station
- 15 mins from Charles Bridge
- 30 mins from the airport

THE NOT-SO GOOD
- Tiny rooms
- Expensive breakfast
- Very limited bar scene
- Hotel car to the airport was expensive, but you can negotiate

** I would absolutely recommend this hotel and I'd definitely go back **

  • Liked — Posh and modern in a centralized location, yet quiet
  • Disliked — I couldn't stay longer :)
  • Stayed November 2007, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank Soulmates33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Prague hotels
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Maximilian Hotel
Maximilian Hotel
#29 of 649 in Prague
2,308 reviews
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Unitas Hotel
Unitas Hotel
#9 of 649 in Prague
1,699 reviews
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Ventana Hotel Prague
Ventana Hotel Prague
#21 of 649 in Prague
1,288 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Savic Hotel
Savic Hotel
#35 of 649 in Prague
2,464 reviews
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
The Emblem Hotel
The Emblem Hotel
#31 of 649 in Prague
1,092 reviews
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Design Hotel Jewel Prague
Design Hotel Jewel Prague
#12 of 649 in Prague
732 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Design Hotel Josef Prague? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Design Hotel Josef Prague

Property: Design Hotel Josef Prague
Address: Rybna 693/20 | 11000 Praha, Prague 110 00, Czech Republic
Phone Number:
Region: Czech Republic > Bohemia > Prague > Stare Mesto (Old Town) , Praha 1
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Prague
#31 Family Hotel in Prague
#31 Romantic Hotel in Prague
#37 Luxury Hotel in Prague
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Design Hotel Josef Prague 4.5*
Number of rooms: 109
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the very heart of one of the most beautiful medieval cities in Europe, designer Eva Jiricna has managed to create a modern masterpiece. The 109-room Hotel Josef in Prague's old town offers a design concept that elegantly blends the most modern elements with the rich history of its surroundings. iPod Docking Stations are available free of charge at reception. Breakfast is included if you book directly through our hotel website. hoteljosef. com ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with MyHotelShop, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Design Hotel Josef Prague reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Josef Prague

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing