We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best of everything....”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Design Hotel Josef Prague
Ranked #42 of 651 Hotels in Prague
Certificate of Excellence
Brighton
Level Contributor
57 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“The best of everything....”
Reviewed 21 October 2012

My husband recently took me to Prague for a special birthday, and we took the recommendation of staying at this hotel from a colleague from work. I have to say I cannot say enough good things about Hotel Josef. The location is so central that you can walk pretty well anywhere. The hotel itself is very modern, designer and immaculate. Our room was excellent, with a really comfortable bed. The breakfast is itself worth staying at the hotel for alone, but above all this, I simpy cannot say enough good things about all of the staff. My husband and I stayed for 3 nights fom Ocober 11th, and wanted to dine somewhere "special" that first night. We spoke with Tolu on the reception who recommended Kampa Park riverside, and told us to leave it to her to arrange. Later that afternoon she brought glasses of Champagne and strawberries to our room for us to toast my birthday which was a lovely gesture and much appreciated. Kampa Park was a beautiful restaurant, where the food served is first class, and though more pricey than a lot of the restaurants, was a wonderful choice for us to celebrate. The next evening Tolu recommended the Argentine Steak House literally a two minute walk from the hotel, which again proved an amazing choice, and recommended to all carnivores....you will not be disappointed. For our final evening we wanted to go to a restaurant with authentic Czech cuisine. Again Tolu excelled herself, and suggested we go to Apostila. We had not made a reservation, and they were clearly busy, but accomdated us with a smile. The meal was superb. Thank you to everyone at Hotel Josef, especially Tolu and Florenttia ........

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AnnaBrighton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelJosef, Reception at Design Hotel Josef Prague, responded to this review, 30 October 2012
Dear AnnaBrighton,

Thank you very much for your review of Hotel Josef and our services. I am very honoured to see that you enjoyed your time here. It was my pleasure to help make your Birthday weekend every bit as special as you wanted it to be. If you ever come back to Prague it would sincerely be my pleasure have you here again.
P.S. I looked up the perfume that has the same name as me! I will definitely have to get it for Christmas. :-)

Best regards,

Tolu Oke
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,451 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,828
    523
    73
    14
    13
See reviews for
289
1,187
119
312
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (334)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Bergen, Norway
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 October 2012

We chose the hotel from tripadvisor. Actually, I did not understand from the comments whether the place is a restaurant or a hotel, since most of the comments talked about the delicious breakfast.
Hotel has very good location, five minutes walk to The Old Square. The rooms are well designed as expected, very clean. The staff were very friendly and helpful. As written in all comments, breakfast was fantastic.
But, since the hotel consists of two different buildings with a narrow corridor combining them together, you might get lost in either of the buildings.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HADogan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vienna, Austria
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 20 October 2012

It has everything: location, great and practical design, good food and excellent staff.

My wife and I had an excellent 5-night stay in Hotel Josef, ending just a few days ago. We loved the design and many thoughtful design aspects (such details as having unbreakable tumblers in the bathroom); the delicious and extensive breakfast buffet & menu; and, most importantly, the pleasant, helpful and knowledgeable reception staff.

Their helpful suggestions and practical knowledge of Prague (and wider area) meant that they were able to tailor suggestions to our particular interests and made our visit to Prague and Hotel Josef the highlight of our trip to date!

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank OzMatureTravellers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level Contributor
37 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 October 2012

The hotel is in the Old Town, a 5 minute walk from the renowned Astronomical Clock! Fresh, clean, bright and chok-a-blok with free amenities (wifi, computer center, fitness center, DVD library, coffee bar) and intelligent, personable and efficient staff, this hotel was an absolute highlight of our stay in Prague. Two adults and one child, we had plenty of space (maybe if you send a mail ahead of time like we did they'll reserve a more spacious room) with an amazing bathroom, re: walk-in shower for party of 5 although we were only 3 and tended to shower one at a time ;-)
The breakfast buffet offered an amazing variety of food, a juice and smoothie bar and helpful staff (they also have a menu with such greats as Eggs Benedict, coffee of the day, special of the day, etc. all included !).
So all in all: great location, wonderful staff, superb room, over-the-top amenities and just a great experience overall. Oh yes, at a reasonable rate!
Should also mention that we used their car service to drive us to the airport: fantastic! affordable and zero-hassle.
So....enjoy!

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Christina F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lund, Sweden
Level Contributor
51 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 October 2012

I travel 100 days a year and i really know what an excellent hotel is all about and hotel josef is an excellent hotel. Located very near city centre on walking distance this hotel is suitable for both business traveller and familly with children. The rooms are very clean, nice and good decorations. The bed is excellent and with a very nice pillow. Checkin and check out procedures are very quick and staff is very friendly and really takes time to help you with your questions. The breakfast offers very fresh fruits like blueberries, strawberries alongside a good intercontinental breakfast. You will absolutley not regret booking this hotel

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Peter A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newport Beach, California
2 reviews
Reviewed 17 October 2012

I stayed here with friends. The hotel staff are incredible. They gave us the BEST recommendations for restaurants and more. I emailed the hotel twice to modify my reservation and they always responded immediately - it was so nice not to have to make a phone call to Prague from the states. The breakfast is INCREDIBLE. Everything is in walking distance. The wifi, gym, facilities are excellent. I highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Trin E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derby, KS
Level Contributor
55 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 October 2012

The Hotel Josef is a great place to stay when visiting Prague. It is close to Old Town and tons of eateries and pubs. Really we can be at the Anatomical clock in 5 minutes. The roll away bed that i requested was in the room when we got there! It is clean and comfortable. Now I will say the beds were extremely stiff but it has been that way our whole trip while in Europe. So it must just be the way.

I would recommend this hotel with out reservations.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ppelkowski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Prague hotels
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Maximilian Hotel
Maximilian Hotel
#29 of 651 in Prague
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,215 reviews
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Unitas Hotel
Unitas Hotel
#9 of 651 in Prague
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,648 reviews
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Ventana Hotel Prague
Ventana Hotel Prague
#20 of 651 in Prague
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,256 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Design Hotel Jewel Prague
Design Hotel Jewel Prague
#10 of 651 in Prague
5.0 of 5 bubbles 716 reviews
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Savic Hotel
Savic Hotel
#35 of 651 in Prague
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,439 reviews
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
The Emblem Hotel
The Emblem Hotel
#34 of 651 in Prague
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,009 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Design Hotel Josef Prague? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Design Hotel Josef Prague

Property: Design Hotel Josef Prague
Address: Rybna 693/20 | 11000 Praha, Prague 110 00, Czech Republic
Phone Number:
Region: Czech Republic > Bohemia > Prague > Stare Mesto (Old Town) , Praha 1
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Prague
#31 Romantic Hotel in Prague
#31 Family Hotel in Prague
#39 Luxury Hotel in Prague
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Design Hotel Josef Prague 4.5*
Number of rooms: 109
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the very heart of one of the most beautiful medieval cities in Europe, designer Eva Jiricna has managed to create a modern masterpiece. The 109-room Hotel Josef in Prague's old town offers a design concept that elegantly blends the most modern elements with the rich history of its surroundings. iPod Docking Stations are available free of charge at reception. Breakfast is included if you book directly through our hotel website. hoteljosef. com ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Hotel.de, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Design Hotel Josef Prague reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Josef Prague

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing