We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“LOVE THIS HOTEL!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Design Hotel Josef Prague
Ranked #40 of 649 Hotels in Prague
Certificate of Excellence
Gainesville, Georgia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“LOVE THIS HOTEL!”
Reviewed 16 November 2012

This is my fourth trip to Prague and third in this hotel. I have also stayed at their sister property Hotel Maximilian (also great hotel). I highly recommend both. They are in the center of Old Town Prague -the only area to stay when visiting the city. Josef has all the amenities you would need. My favorite is the huge breakfast buffet. Best in all of Europe. Fresh fruit, smoked salmon, eggs made to order and a smoothie bar. HEAVEN!! The staff is always extremely helpful. The rooms are a great size with plenty of room and very quiet. And if you need advice on things to see, restaurants or transportation, they can make all of the arrangements for you. If you need a limo, they have several at your service. Ask for Libor - my favorite driver when I go to Prague. I hope to return to Prague soon and plan to stay at the Josef again.

Room Tip: I love overlooking the courtyard because it is quiet but my travel companions prefered overlooking t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TheSmiths9140
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,469 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,845
    524
    73
    14
    13
See reviews for
294
1,195
119
315
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (338)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Aylesbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 November 2012

What can i possibly say about this fantastic hotel that hasn`t already been said by previous TripAdvisor contributors. We stayed at the Hotel Josef for a long weekend and this has to be one of the best European hotels that i have stayed at, for a very long time.
It`s location is conveniently situated just off the main road ( Dlouha ) on a small quiet road ( Rybna ) surrounded by many local bars and restaurants all within a short distance from the hotel. Many of the city sights are also within walking distance, as was our drop off/pick up point for our transfer from the airport ( we used a company called Cedaz transport services ).
Don`t expect an `Olde Worlde ` style hotel, this is a modern, very clean and spaious property. On entering the hotel you will see the reception infront of you and to the left is the bar ,and lounge area to the right, all very contemporary in design bright and airy. Slightly behind the bar area, is where you will find the complimentary computers and printer. Very handy for when you have to reconfirm your flight back home and print your boarding ticket too !!!
The hotel has two lifts that go to the guests floors. Our room had plenty of space to park two well travelled Delsey`s with a view onto the cobbled street below. It had all the modern conveniences that todays traveller takes for granted and expects such as, hairdryer, tea and coffee maker, tv, minibar,toiletries etc., and most importantly, a comfortable bed !!!
All the staff that we met during our stay were very approachable and more than willing to help with our enquiries. In particular was one staff member who stood out, he was the food and beverage manager, Mr. Martin Trtol. He and his team at breakfast were terrific. Mr. Trtol, every morning would enquire about our stay and was more than happy to recommend places to eat and drink as well as places to visit, but without being overbearing. As this was our first visit to Prague, he even took the time to explain how to use the public transport system in the city, where to catch the train, buying tickets etc., it was like having our personal trave concierge !!!
The breakfast buffet was fantastic, worth every penny ( Crown ) - a treat for all the senses - you`ll love it !!!
Would i stay at this hotel next time we visit Prague ? most definitely yes. Would i recommend this hotel ? yes ofcourse, without hesitation.

Room Tip: We asked in advance, for rooms on the top floors with view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank flyingdelsey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worcester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
77 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 November 2012

This is a clean, fresh and invigorating hotel. Nice foyer, helpful staff and great size rooms. Modern furniture, all very comfortable. Surrounded by a variety of interesting restaurants and close to the sites. If you come to Prague and don't want a chain hotel then ook no further

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RobGfromWorcs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Limerick, Ireland
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 November 2012

Stayed here for 4 nights in July with the gf after reading many positive reviews. The value and location of the hotel was also a big factor. Can't recommend this place highly enough. I organised transport to and from the hotel with the concierge at a cost of about €35 each way. Had a very nice long-wheeled-base Skoda Superb collect us that looked like it rolled out of the factory. The driver was very helpful too, and gave us lots of little tips for the stay.

Hotel itself is a few minutes walk from the Old Town Square. Staff were a pleasure to deal with (at one point the gfs adapter blew and she was no longer able to use her GHD - disaster! Within 15 minutes the security chap, who didn't have a word of English but to his credit tried his best to comprehend me, had it replaced and disaster averted).

The room was great. Very modern design and we both agreed, the most comfortable bed we have stayed in yet! The shower was also the best we've come across, and it was very big! On the morning of checkout, I ran down to print of our tickets. There is an IT room with the very latest hardware, and within about 3 minutes I had logged onto my email and had the tickets printed.

All in all, a fantastic stay. I have already convinced another friend of mine to stay here and he had the same experience. Spotlessly clean, modern hotel at a very reasonable price considering what you get. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JohnFitz7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 November 2012

Hotel Josef is a clean, modern-styled hotel not far from Central Prague - about 10 minutes walk from Old Town Square. The rooms are somewhat stark and modern, with stylish furniture and good bathrooms (although if you go for the rooms with glass-walled bathrooms, you'll need to be friendly with your roommate). The public areas likewise are white and stylish in the Scandinavian style. You'll know if you like that design aesthetic or if you prefer something more traditional - we like modern and this delivered very well. Service was perfect and friendly with everyone fluent in English if your Czech isn't up to it. Our rate included an extremely good breakfast - a generous buffet with hot and cold foods, and a selection of freshly-cooked options from the traditional like Eggs Benedict and fresh Scrambled eggs to more local and unusual options. There's also a daily changing savoury and sweet option. Given Prague nightlife, we also appreciated that breakfast is served until 11.30 weekdays and 12.30 at weekends! Bar service was good although its a place to start or end an evening rather than hang out in the whole night. Wifi is free, reliable and didn't require repeated logins once you'd signed in once. Really couldn't fault this place for the price.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, UIK
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 November 2012

My boyfriend and I stayed at Hotel Josef after two couples recommended it. This charming hotel is thoughtful and comfortable. The staff are incredibly friendly, there is an included breakfast every day (served till 12:30 on weekends!), free/fast wifi, a great business center with computers and printers, complimentary coffee and water everywhere. I would highly recommend this hotel to anyone coming to Prague for turism. The best of all, of course, is the fabulous centric location that allows you to walk anywhere. I will certainly stay here when I return to Prague!

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AMS1412
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
112 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 November 2012

This was a real gem of a hotel in Prague. Not located in the best part of Prague, but very close to the centre. The rooms were superb, spotless and very large. The decor was superb and the fixtures and fitting first class. Breakfast was great, so was the health club.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NapierAssociates
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Prague hotels
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Maximilian Hotel
Maximilian Hotel
#28 of 649 in Prague
2,265 reviews
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Unitas Hotel
Unitas Hotel
#10 of 649 in Prague
1,674 reviews
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Ventana Hotel Prague
Ventana Hotel Prague
#22 of 649 in Prague
1,270 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Savic Hotel
Savic Hotel
#36 of 649 in Prague
2,453 reviews
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
The Emblem Hotel
The Emblem Hotel
#30 of 649 in Prague
1,052 reviews
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Design Hotel Jewel Prague
Design Hotel Jewel Prague
#13 of 649 in Prague
724 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Design Hotel Josef Prague? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Design Hotel Josef Prague

Property: Design Hotel Josef Prague
Address: Rybna 693/20 | 11000 Praha, Prague 110 00, Czech Republic
Phone Number:
Region: Czech Republic > Bohemia > Prague > Stare Mesto (Old Town) , Praha 1
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Prague
#31 Family Hotel in Prague
#31 Romantic Hotel in Prague
#36 Luxury Hotel in Prague
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Design Hotel Josef Prague 4.5*
Number of rooms: 109
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the very heart of one of the most beautiful medieval cities in Europe, designer Eva Jiricna has managed to create a modern masterpiece. The 109-room Hotel Josef in Prague's old town offers a design concept that elegantly blends the most modern elements with the rich history of its surroundings. iPod Docking Stations are available free of charge at reception. Breakfast is included if you book directly through our hotel website. hoteljosef. com ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with MyHotelShop, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotel.de, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HRS, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Design Hotel Josef Prague reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Josef Prague

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing