We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Design Hotel Josef Prague
Ranked #38 of 648 Hotels in Prague
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 1 December 2012

Good location near the major sights of the city. Nice modern hotel. I loved the furniture everywhere. Staff is really excellent, helpful and knows the best places. Great quality selection for breakfast, good coffee.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank reed r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,555)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,172 - 1,178 of 2,555 reviews

Reviewed 23 November 2012

Really nice hotel. I booked relying some reviews thru Trip Advisor. The hotel has a good design and excelent services, beyond what is also quite well placed.

One of the better hotels I have stayed at recently.

I liked it so much and as a way to honor previously read reviews that I decided to write my first review on Trip Advisor.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Leonardo R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 November 2012

My wife and I really enjoyed our recent stay at the Hotel Josef. Not only is the hotel beautifully designed and decorated, but the staff were simply amazing. It is in a perfect location, a short walk from many of the sites. In fact we never used any form of transit in the 5 days we stayed there.

The lobby is a great place to people watch and have a cup of coffee. They make the best lattes of any place I have been. There are many restaurants and cafes close by.

We especially appreciated the assistance of Clementine, who provided us with several great recommendations for restaurants and tours of the city. She was also very helpful in assisting my wife in getting in contact with a cousin of her family who lives in Prague. Clementine worked with the staff to find his phone number and call him for us, since we did not have his phone number and he doesn't speak English.

There were many others who were helpful to us, and unfortunately we can't remember their names. But everyone at the front desk were friendly, and always willing to assist--with advice or a reservation. The breakfast at the hotel was spectacular, the best we have had in any hotel anywhere, and the service was top notch.

We enjoyed our stay at Hotel Josef immensely. It is in a perfect location, with perfect service. We will return on our next visit to Prague.

And the price was very good for a city known for its high hotel prices.

Room Tip: We selected a deluxe room with a nice view of the courtyard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank johnsmith47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 November 2012

One of the better hotels I have stayed at recently. We were having a group conference and the hotel put together a great package: the conference room we had was in the lower level but there is a small terrace and sunlight. There are amenities everywhere - you pass several Nespresso machines in public areas, conference rooms, guest rooms, etc. I had a superior suite in the Pink House - very nice design, great shower, comfortable bed... no issues at all. The WiFi is free and good, the people are all very friendly - everything was very pleasant. The location is also outstanding - you can walk to all the major attractions, countless restaurants, etc. My family joined at the end and we decided to stay on at the Josef since it was so nice.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Toltriaco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 November 2012 via mobile

I booked my last night in Prague at the Josef I was drawn to the simple elegant design of Czech architect Eva Jiricna. I was warmly welcomed at check-in, enjoyed the comforts of my room and excellent facilities on offer, like the business centre where it was so easy to make last minute flight arrangements and book concerts at near-by venues. Brilliant location- just off the main squares in Old Town. Fabulous buffet breakfast. Excellent value.

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank avventura2046
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 November 2012

Just back from two nights at Hotel Josef. We stayed nine years ago and it is just as fantastic as then. The decor has stood the test of that time very well and it looks as fabulous as before. Still right in the heart of the action and great service. Happy to recommend to anyone.

Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
Thank Chris D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 November 2012

Just got back from a 4 night stay at Hotel Josef and had an amazing time. This hotel was a true attribute to a great city break in Prague. Hotel Josef by far exceeded our expectations and were pleasantly surprised by all elements that the hotel had to offer. Where to start?

The rooms... Bright, Fresh and very clean. Stayed in a standard double room which was more than accommodating. The design theme runs throughout the rooms through the interior design and the little mod cons that feature throughout.

The Staff... Amazing, nothing was ever too much to ask. They went above and beyond my boyfriends many requests!

The Food... Breakfast is severed till 11.30 every morning 12.30 at the weekends which is great. The buffet selection is good. Offering fresh breads with meats and cheese as well as cooked breakfast buffet not to mention the sweet selection. You can also order fresh elements from the menu free of charge. Definitely a high light safe to say we made breakfast everyday!

Location... Central and very close to old town square which is about 5 mins walk away. The hotel is exactly where you need to embrace the culture, nightlife, shopping and almost everything else Prague has to offer!

Hotel Josef comes highly recommended from us and we can safely say this should be ranked much higher than its current rating on trip advisor. If we decide to return to Prague this will be our first port of call!

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WARDTRAVELLER_2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Prague hotels
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Maximilian Hotel
Maximilian Hotel
#28 of 648 in Prague
2,459 reviews
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
The Emblem Hotel
The Emblem Hotel
#32 of 648 in Prague
1,220 reviews
Nove Mesto (New Town)
The ICON Hotel & Lounge
The ICON Hotel & Lounge
#42 of 648 in Prague
1,361 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Nove Mesto (New Town)
Hotel UNIC Prague
Hotel UNIC Prague
#27 of 648 in Prague
1,712 reviews
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Savic Hotel
Savic Hotel
#36 of 648 in Prague
2,521 reviews
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Unitas Hotel
Unitas Hotel
#9 of 648 in Prague
1,769 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Design Hotel Josef Prague? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Design Hotel Josef Prague

Address: Rybna 693/20 | 11000 Praha, Prague 110 00, Czech Republic
Phone Number:
Region: Czech Republic > Bohemia > Prague > Stare Mesto (Old Town) , Praha 1
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Prague
#31 Family Hotel in Prague
#31 Romantic Hotel in Prague
#35 Luxury Hotel in Prague
Price Range: £78 - £293 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Design Hotel Josef Prague 4.5*
Number of rooms: 109
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the very heart of one of the most beautiful medieval cities in Europe, designer Eva Jiricna has managed to create a modern masterpiece. The 109-room Hotel Josef in Prague's old town offers a design concept that elegantly blends the most modern elements with the rich history of its surroundings. iPod Docking Stations are available free of charge at reception. Breakfast is included if you book directly through our hotel website. hoteljosef. com ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Design Hotel Josef Prague reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Josef Prague

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing