We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location & helpful staff”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Design Hotel Josef Prague
Ranked #39 of 649 Hotels in Prague
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
123 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Good location & helpful staff”
Reviewed 30 August 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for a night with work. Clean & modern looking hotel with free wi-fi (I really think all hotels should provide this!). I had forgotten my iPhone charger but the hotel had one brought to my room - a great bonus!
The bar is ok but would suggest you head out.
Breakfast is generous and much cooked to order. Would just suggest you get extra toast!! The tea was also bitter if I'm going to put all the negatives!!
Would 100% stay again.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank London_Redstar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelJosef, Guest Relations Manager at Design Hotel Josef Prague, responded to this review, 2 September 2013
Dear London_Redstar,

We would like to thank you for your nice review regarding your recent stay at Hotel Josef.
We are really glad that you had a pleasant time here and we truly appreciate your feedback. We do hope to have the opportunity of welcoming you back in the future!

Kind regards,
Andrea Jarvas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,469 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,845
    524
    73
    14
    13
See reviews for
294
1,195
119
315
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (338)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 August 2013

I just returned from a six night stay at this hotel. I booked this hotel based on the reviews and was not disappointed. The hotel is conveniently located, nice size rooms and bathroom (with great shower head) and very clean. I found the bed comfortable and the room quiet. The people who work at the hotel speak English very well and are very friendly and helpful. The breakfast spread is wonderful. I also ate a couple of dinenrs at the hotel which were very good. I used the exercise room which includes a couple of bicycles and treadmills and I was the only there all times. I would highly recommend this hotel if you like a boutique type of hotel with a modern style. I had a couple of problems - the light in my room did not work and I had a charge on my bill that was not mine but the hotel staff were very responsive and dealt with both issues quickly. I was travelling by myself and felt very comfortable at this hotel and in the area. It was very easy to walk to the nearby metro stop and there are restaurants in walking distance. I highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Beth00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelJosef, Guest Relations Manager at Design Hotel Josef Prague, responded to this review, 2 September 2013
Dear Beth00,

We are grateful for your kind feedback; thank you for posting it on our TripAdvisor page, it was really nice to hear that you had a pleasant stay at Hotel Josef.
We would also like to thank you for highlighting so many features you liked here, and we all look forward to welcoming you back!

Kind regards,
Andrea Jarvas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milan
Level Contributor
157 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 August 2013

The hotel was chosen by my company for a company event and it was really a great choice. First of all convenient, you can get to the main spots of the old city in a second.
But staying at the hotel was very good as well. Rooms are spacious enough, nicely furnished and clean. Breakfast is very good, wide choice at the buffet plus dishes they prepare upon request for no extra cost.
Staff very nice and kind, they were helpful and always available.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michela R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelJosef, Guest Relations Manager at Design Hotel Josef Prague, responded to this review, 2 September 2013
Dear MichiFa,

Thank you for your nice review and for taking the time to share it with us and other readers on TripAdvisor.
We are really happy to know that you had a pleasant stay here and that you were satisfied with the choice your company made when choosing Hotel Josef.
We hope we will see you again soon!

Kind regards,
Andrea Jarvas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
belgium
Level Contributor
71 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 August 2013

We stayed 3 nights in this hotel on a city-trip to Prague. It was a great starting point to visit the city. Lots of stuff to see at walking distance (jewish district,..) but the metro and tram stops are not far away. The staff is very helpful, the breakfast is great, every day other suggestions and you could make your own smoothy or fresh juice. If I want to be picky, they didn't change the shampoo and shower soap when they were empty, but at simple demand we got new ones so not a big problem! We also took the airport shuttle. It costs 35eur, which is probably a bit more than a taxi, but the driver is really cool and explains you already a lot about Czech republic and the city so you have some background before you start! Hotel definitely recommended!!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mobiel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelJosef, Guest Relations Manager at Design Hotel Josef Prague, responded to this review, 27 August 2013
Dear mobiel,

It was delightful to read your nice review that you posted on our TripAdvisor page.
Thank you for your kind comments - we are really happy to know that you liked so many aspects of your stay here, and we are glad that you appreciated the service our staff provided you with.
We look forward to welcoming you back!

Kind regards,
Andrea Jarvas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aachen, Germany
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 26 August 2013

Excellent Breakfast with all you can think of, very nice people at the reception, very good and individual rooms.
I'm staying in the hotel already more than 3 years on a frequent basis like 20 times a year.

Room Tip: You can take all rooms, but the ones to the street are a bit noisy
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fschulte
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelJosef, Guest Relations Manager at Design Hotel Josef Prague, responded to this review, 27 August 2013
Dear fschulte,

We would like to thank you for such a nice review and also for being our regular guest at Hotel Josef.
We are pleased to know that you appreciate the service we provide you with, and your kind feedback is a great motivation for us.
We truly look forward to your next stay.

Kind regards,
Andrea Jarvas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 August 2013

I knew from the reviews that this hotel would be good, but it exceeded my expectations in every way. Perfect location. Extremely stylish lobby, room, and bathroom. Perfect location. Delightful Fantastic breakfast including amazing coffee. Faultless.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Unewydd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelJosef, Guest Relations Manager at Design Hotel Josef Prague, responded to this review, 27 August 2013
Dear Unewydd,

Thank you for your great review, and for having chosen Hotel Josef for your stay in Prague.
It was delightful to read that we exceeded your expectations and that you had a great time here.
Thank you once more for your feedback, and we look forward to seeing you again!

Kind regards,
Andrea Jarvas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bayside
Level Contributor
75 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 August 2013

We stayed 4 nights at the Hotel Josef and it was everything we could ask for. The location was great, because it is close to everything and everywhere but also it is far enough outside the old Town Center for the area to be more like a neighborhood then in the hub of the city. We were able to walk everywhere easily and we did. For almost 4 days we saw so much of the city and its sights and neighborhoods because of our location. The staff was wonderful and accommodating and helpful. Their recommendations were spot on and their directions were wonderful. The room was plenty big and funky. The only drawback was there was very little draw space for clothes, but really no big deal. Very close to the Hotel there is a store called the Bake Shop. Every food item, whether they were breads or pastries or spreads or lunch food were terrific. The coffee was perfect. The owner Martin and his staff were the best. We ate breakfast or had lunch food or 4 days of our stay in Prague. If you go to Prague make sure you go to the Bake Shop you won't be disappointed. We know we will be going back to Prague someday (because we just loved the feel and the look of the city and its citizens) and the only place for us will be the Hotel Josef.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jeffrey M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelJosef, Guest Relations Manager at Design Hotel Josef Prague, responded to this review, 27 August 2013
Dear Jeffrey M,

We would like to thank you for posting your nice and detailed review on our TripAdvisor page.
We are really glad that you found so many aspects of your stay to your liking, and we especially appreciate your kind comments about our staff.
We hope to see you again soon!

Kind regards,
Andrea Jarvas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Prague hotels
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Maximilian Hotel
Maximilian Hotel
#28 of 649 in Prague
2,261 reviews
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Unitas Hotel
Unitas Hotel
#10 of 649 in Prague
1,669 reviews
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Ventana Hotel Prague
Ventana Hotel Prague
#22 of 649 in Prague
1,270 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Savic Hotel
Savic Hotel
#36 of 649 in Prague
2,452 reviews
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
The Emblem Hotel
The Emblem Hotel
#30 of 649 in Prague
1,050 reviews
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Design Hotel Jewel Prague
Design Hotel Jewel Prague
#13 of 649 in Prague
724 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Design Hotel Josef Prague? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Design Hotel Josef Prague

Property: Design Hotel Josef Prague
Address: Rybna 693/20 | 11000 Praha, Prague 110 00, Czech Republic
Phone Number:
Region: Czech Republic > Bohemia > Prague > Stare Mesto (Old Town) , Praha 1
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Prague
#31 Romantic Hotel in Prague
#31 Family Hotel in Prague
#35 Luxury Hotel in Prague
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Design Hotel Josef Prague 4.5*
Number of rooms: 109
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the very heart of one of the most beautiful medieval cities in Europe, designer Eva Jiricna has managed to create a modern masterpiece. The 109-room Hotel Josef in Prague's old town offers a design concept that elegantly blends the most modern elements with the rich history of its surroundings. iPod Docking Stations are available free of charge at reception. Breakfast is included if you book directly through our hotel website. hoteljosef. com ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with MyHotelShop, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), Hotel.de, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HRS, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Design Hotel Josef Prague reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Josef Prague

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing