We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“"Breakfast Service Location"”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Design Hotel Josef Prague
Ranked #39 of 649 Hotels in Prague
Certificate of Excellence
Prague, Czech Republic
Level Contributor
67 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“"Breakfast Service Location"”
Reviewed 13 November 2013

The breakfast buffet is number one. Huge selection of fruits, hams, cheeses, bread etc. Besides the buffet you have a menu ala carte. You can customize your omellete, pancakes, benedikt egg, sin of the day etc. To name everything I'd be here forever. The room is cosy and bed comfortable, clean and fully equipped. Parking in the underground lots. Design, design, design. The location is perfect. Really five minutes walking to old town square. We would stay there again.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LukasAndPam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelJosef, Guest Relations Manager at Design Hotel Josef Prague, responded to this review, 18 November 2013
Dear LukasAndPam,

It was delightful to read your kind review, thank you for sharing it with us and other readers on TripAdvisor.
We are glad to know that you had a pleasant stay at Hotel Josef and we look forward to welcoming you back for a future stay here!

Kind regards,
Andrea Járvás
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,469 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,845
    524
    73
    14
    13
See reviews for
294
1,195
119
315
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (338)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
30 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 November 2013

Had a positive experience here. Upon arrival, you are given a ticket for a free cocktail to have whenever you want. That evening I had a fantastic pina coloda in the courtyard. The room is clean and nice, not huge but fairly similar to many European rooms of this type. Modern décor. The breakfast is very good. You can also eat your breakfast in the nice courtyard. They have specials for breakfast each morning which you can order including special drinks or you can eat from the lovely buffet. The service was great. The hotel employees were friendly and helpful. They have a DVD library from which you can take movies to your room and watch. There is a computer room for people who don't lug computers around or have iphones to check your email.
Great location. You can walk to the main square easily.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bgs234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelJosef, Guest Relations Manager at Design Hotel Josef Prague, responded to this review, 18 November 2013
Dear bgs234,

Thank you for posting your throughout positive feedback on our TripAdvisor page regarding your stay at Hotel Josef. It makes us proud to know that you had a positive experience here.
We are also really glad that you appreciated your welcome gift upon your arrival and the service our team provided you with.
We hope to see you again in Prague!

Kind regards,
Andrea Járvás
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
46 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 November 2013

Stayed at the hotel Josef for two nights in November.

Room: Booked a superior deluxe with a glassbathroom through the hotels webpage. Requested the room to be on a higher floor, with a view and away from the elevators. Only the latter was fulfilled. However the room was awesome - trendy, bright and spacious enough to meet our needs entirely. The beds were comfortable and the room was extremly quiet. (got one in the orange building facing the backyard). The bathroom was fancy, we loved the design - go for a room with a glassed bathroom. Free wi-fi.

Service: Very helpful and smiling staff all over. Booked their airport transfer service, and the drivers were very nice and pleasant to speak with so we also booked them instead of taxis when we needed to go somewhere around town and were tired of walking. Thanks guys!

Location: Great location in my opinion, just outside of the hustle and bustle of the old town but still within walking distance to almost anything.

Breakfast: One of the best ever. Excellent choice of fresh fruits (10 different kinds), pancakes and eggs made to order, anything you would wish for actually.

Value: You get more than what you pay for, end of story.

Will definetly want to return to the Josef. This was definetly a nice oasis to come "home" to after a long day exploring the great city of Prague.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank alex-the-travel-man
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelJosef, Guest Relations Manager at Design Hotel Josef Prague, responded to this review, 18 November 2013
Dear alex-the-travel-man,

First of all, we would like to thank you for your wonderful feedback on TripAdvisor.
We were pleased to read your nice and detailed review, and we are especially grateful for the kind comments regarding our staff.
We are also happy that you liked other features as well, such as the design, breakfast and our location.
We really look forward to seeing you again soon at Hotel Josef!

Kind regards,
Andrea Járvás
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Acton, Massachusetts, USA
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 November 2013

Hotel Josef is modern, reasonably priced and conveniently located to Old Town.

The staff are extremely helpful and kind - an airport pickup was arranged for me with one quick email.

I would highly recommend

Room Tip: Rooms off the road are recommended
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Melissa S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelJosef, Guest Relations Manager at Design Hotel Josef Prague, responded to this review, 14 November 2013
Dear Melissa S,

Thank you for your nice review about Hotel Josef! We are so glad that you enjoyed your stay here and we honestly appreciate your kind words about our staff.
We would be more than happy to welcome you back for a future stay in Prague!

Kind regards,
Andrea Járvás
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston
2 reviews
Reviewed 10 November 2013

Had a great time, very central location close walking distance to all major sights. Hotel is clean and well maintained, staff are extremely helpful, they spend time making sure you know where you are going. In fact I cannot say enough about how nice the staff were. Breakfast was not included, but we ate there every morning, there was a lot of variety, more than most European hotels. The staff also gave excellent recommendations for restaurants close to the hotel. My trip to Prague was excellent and I will stay here again without a doubt on my next trip.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pamela D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelJosef, Guest Relations Manager at Design Hotel Josef Prague, responded to this review, 14 November 2013
Dear Pamela D,

It was our great pleasure to read your kind feedback on our TripAdvisor page - thank you for sharing it with us and other readers.
We are especially happy that you mentioned how much you liked the service our staff provided you with, and it was also great to hear that you liked our breakfast.
We look forward to seeing you again!

Kind regards,
Andrea Járvás
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
Reviewed 10 November 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for a business trip and was thoroughly impressed. The hotel has everything you need : free wifi in the room, large comfortable bed, very nice furnishings, even travel plugs, shoe horns and ear buds! The hotel staff are extremely helpful and friendly and the breakfast is awesome! You can even make your own juice and smoothies. They have a large range of DVDs you can borrow free of charge.

Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Villaboycey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelJosef, Guest Relations Manager at Design Hotel Josef Prague, responded to this review, 14 November 2013
Dear Villaboycey,

Thank you for your nice review as well as for having chosen Hotel Josef for your business trip in Prague.
We were pleased to read that you appreciated the small details, and that you had a great stay here.
We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back soon!

Kind regards,
Andrea Járvás
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 November 2013 via mobile

We did a lot of research beforehand and finally decided on Hotel Josef. It is a beautiful, classy modern boutique hotel, has a great location, a short walk to the old town for sightseeing, or to the Vltava River for a stroll. The largest shopping mall Palladium is also just round the corner. We did not regret as the service staff are great and always friendly and ready to help give us direction.

Rooms - Go for the ones on level 8, 801-803. These rooms come with balconies with magnificent view of the Prague Castle and city. The view at dawn or sunset is amazing. Very modern & classy furnishing.

Food - Breakfast at the hotel is excellent. Great variety of juices & tea, sausages, bacon & cold cuts. They have daily specials such as creamy mushroom pesto with toast and cheese & chive scramble eggs on toast. There are many restaurants near the hotel, for a start Lokal at 11 Dlouha (next to hotel) has great local Czech cuisine and beer. What a pleasant surprise when the hotel offered us a free meal of our choice before we checked out, we dined comfortably at the hotel lobby before heading for the train station.

Getting around - We walked lot around Prague 1 and strolling along the Vltava River to Charles Bridge. You can also purchase tickets for tram and bus ride from the hotel conceirge if you want to travel further to Prague Castle. 24 czk for 30 min ride to anywhere.

Thank you staff of Hotel Josef for an amazing experience you have given us. Will definitely return!

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Angietsw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelJosef, Guest Relations Manager at Design Hotel Josef Prague, responded to this review, 14 November 2013
Dear Chanelyn,

We would like to thank you for your nice and detailed review regarding your stay at Hotel Josef.
Your feedback captured so much about the location, atmosphere and breakfast, and we were glad to read how much you liked so many features here.
Thank you once more for your kind comments, and we all look forward to seeing you again in Prague!

Kind regards,
Andrea Járvás
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Prague hotels
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Maximilian Hotel
Maximilian Hotel
#28 of 649 in Prague
2,261 reviews
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Unitas Hotel
Unitas Hotel
#10 of 649 in Prague
1,672 reviews
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Ventana Hotel Prague
Ventana Hotel Prague
#22 of 649 in Prague
1,270 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Savic Hotel
Savic Hotel
#36 of 649 in Prague
2,453 reviews
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
The Emblem Hotel
The Emblem Hotel
#31 of 649 in Prague
1,052 reviews
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Design Hotel Jewel Prague
Design Hotel Jewel Prague
#13 of 649 in Prague
724 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Design Hotel Josef Prague? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Design Hotel Josef Prague

Property: Design Hotel Josef Prague
Address: Rybna 693/20 | 11000 Praha, Prague 110 00, Czech Republic
Phone Number:
Region: Czech Republic > Bohemia > Prague > Stare Mesto (Old Town) , Praha 1
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Prague
#31 Romantic Hotel in Prague
#31 Family Hotel in Prague
#35 Luxury Hotel in Prague
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Design Hotel Josef Prague 4.5*
Number of rooms: 109
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the very heart of one of the most beautiful medieval cities in Europe, designer Eva Jiricna has managed to create a modern masterpiece. The 109-room Hotel Josef in Prague's old town offers a design concept that elegantly blends the most modern elements with the rich history of its surroundings. iPod Docking Stations are available free of charge at reception. Breakfast is included if you book directly through our hotel website. hoteljosef. com ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, MyHotelShop, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotel.de, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HRS, getaroom.com, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Design Hotel Josef Prague reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Josef Prague

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing