We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best hotel in Prague.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Design Hotel Josef Prague
Ranked #39 of 646 Hotels in Prague
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 9 February 2014

You want a smart hotel, great buffet breakfast, clean rooms, great bathrooms, near all the sights, attentive service, you'll get it at the Hotel Josef. We stay here every November on a 4 nights pay for 3 deal. Pre Xmas bliss.

Room Tip: Rooms at the back are quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Lilchonny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelJosef, Guest Relations Manager at Design Hotel Josef Prague, responded to this reviewResponded 11 February 2014

Dear Lilchonny,

Thank you so much for sharing your really nice review with us and other readers regarding your stay at Hotel Josef in November.
We are glad to know that you had a memorable time here, and that you were satisfied with the attentiveness of our staff, our breakfast, rooms and location.
We hope to see you again in this year!

Kind regards,
Andrea Járvás

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,595)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

887 - 893 of 2,595 reviews

Reviewed 9 February 2014

Crisp, cool, and chic are three adjectives that best describe Hotel Josef. And let's add fastidious attention to detail and service as other elements. When my husband and I arrived at the train station in Prague from Austria, we phoned the hotel and the driver came to welcome us, regaling us with tips about his beloved city and advice about his secret favorite bar for a perfect pilsener. The Josef is two blocks from the astronomical clock and walking distance to just about everything else. We ate at Lokal and the fish 'n chips down the street, and drank beer in every available pub in between our touring. The concierge arranged a very meaningful trip for us to Terezenstadt concentration camp, and she took all of our considerations to heart. Hotel's breakfast was superb, especially the eggs benedict and the crepes, and the setting was in a lovely, sunny room. Can't recommend this place enough!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Devo18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelJosef, Guest Relations Manager at Design Hotel Josef Prague, responded to this reviewResponded 11 February 2014

Dear Devo18,

We were so happy to read your gorgeous feedback on our TripAdvisor page, thank you for sharing it with us!
We loved to read your comments and it makes us proud to hear that we managed to make your stay a pleasant at enjoyable one. We truly appreciate your kind words regarding all the aspects you liked here, including our hotel pick-up and concierge service, the hotel's prime location and our breakfast.
Thank you for your feedback once more and we look forward to have you staying with us again soon.

Kind regards,
Andrea Járvás

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 February 2014

The location was perfect - a few blocks from old town and shopping area. The hotel is beautifully designed, modern yet comfortable and very clean. The staff is so kind and helpful. I am impressed and will stay here again. Clean, Quaint and kind.

Room Tip: Room was modern, comfortable. I was rarely in the room. Work and then walking the city. It was ju...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dana S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelJosef, General Manager at Design Hotel Josef Prague, responded to this reviewResponded 11 February 2014

Dear Dana S,

I would like to thank you for your wonderful review on TripAdvisor about Hotel Josef.
It was my great pleasure to read that you had a pleasant stay here. Our entire team were happy to hear how much you appreciated the service they provided you with.
I hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back for a future stay!

Best regards,
Manfred Tobolka

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 January 2014

This hotel is amazing! Its located in the old city Centrum, Prague 1, so its very close to the best restaurants, pubs and historical sites. The hotel has an amazing design. There are two part of the hotel, the Pink and the Orange house. I stayed in the Pink House. The design of the rooms is the same but I saw one room in the Orange house which was actually better. It had glass bathroom, milk glass toilet door, glass shower and glass sink. Very stylish. The hotel is very clean, did not have any problems what so ever, the reception staff is very polite and helpful. The staff is international with perfect English and some very nice Czech as well. The breakfast is exquisite. Fresh, warm bread, different type of cheese, hot and cold buffet. They even make cappuccino for you and they also make fresh juice on request (or you help yourself). They prepare fresh pancakes and smoothies. All you can wish for. And the best thing is that the breakfast is available until 11:30 am and can be brought to the room. This hotel is amazing, perfect location, perfect service and perfect food.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jana M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelJosef, Guest Relations Manager at Design Hotel Josef Prague, responded to this reviewResponded 31 January 2014

Dear Jana M,

We would like to thank you for taking the time to write this kind review on TripAdvisor. We are glad to hear that you enjoyed so many features of our hotel such as the unique design and the wide variety of our breakfast.
We pride ourselves in providing our guests with great service and therefore it is delightful to see the positive comments you shared about our staff.
We would like to thank you once more for choosing to stay at Hotel Josef in Prague and hope to see you in the very near future!

Kind regards,
Andrea Járvás

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 January 2014

My husband and I recently travelled to Prague a couple of months ago and stayed at the Hotel Josef. The hotel is a fusion of all that is contemporary along with avant-garde Czech designs that give it a beautifully artistic and modern look. Our guestroom was spacious and overlooked the Zen-inspired courtyard which was simply magnificent. I also availed some of the services including a relaxing massage at the hotel’s sauna and massage room. Strategically located at the heart of Prague, it is walking distance from the Old Town Square, Charles Bridge and the opera halls if you are a connoisseur of music. Our bathroom had a tub and other basic amenities. What I liked most was the fact that the rooms are sound-proofed, which made us quite oblivious to the outside world. Room-service was excellent and the food tasted delicious as well.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PolitMoodiTraci
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelJosef, Guest Relations Manager at Design Hotel Josef Prague, responded to this reviewResponded 29 January 2014

Dear PolitMoodiTraci,

Thank you so much for recommending us on TripAdvisor and also for having chosen us for your stay in Prague.
We appreciate your kind comments regarding all the features you liked here, such as our design, atmosphere and location, and we are really glad to know that you enjoyed our facilities.
We will look forward to your return visit!

Kind regards,
Andrea Járvás

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 January 2014

My husband & I stayed 3 nights for my birthday and had a wonderful experience. The room was spacious, brightly decorated, quiet and clean. Our only complaint was the cost vs. the quality & quantity of the buffet breakfast. It was too expensive and everything was cold. I have had Eggs Benedict many, many times and I have never had it served completely cold with only one egg.
Loved the location... short walk to Old Town Square and lots of good restaurants within close proximity to hotel. We will definitely stay here again... just skip the breakfast.

Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank luxpoet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelJosef, Operations Manager at Design Hotel Josef Prague, responded to this reviewResponded 24 January 2014

Dear luxpoet,

First of all, we would like to thank you for taking the time to write and post your review on our TripAdvisor page about Hotel Josef. We are delighted that you have chosen us for such a special occasion as celebrating your birthday. It was great to read your kind comments regarding your spacious and quiet room and our prime location.

We are very sorry to hear that you were not satisfied with the quality of our breakfast and the dish that you had ordered. We take great pride in our extensive breakfast selection which contains cold and hot food prepared to order and is included for all guests who book directly with us. We are sad to read that in your case we could not meet your expectations. Your comments have been taken on board and passed on to our head chef.

Once more, thank you for providing us with your feedback and we will be looking forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Kind regards,
Florentine Rehm

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 January 2014

We stayed in an apartment most of our time in Prague but booked this hotel for the final three days and were very happy! The hotel is in a great location. Just a short walk to Old Town Square. The staff were very helpful and friendly. If you don't want to book an apartment, this hotel is perfect.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 11Wanderlust11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelJosef, Guest Relations Manager at Design Hotel Josef Prague, responded to this reviewResponded 21 January 2014

Dear 11Wanderlust11,

We would like to thank you for sharing your nice review with us on our TripAdvisor page! We are glad that you liked Hotel Josef and enjoyed many aspects of your styay with us.
It was delightful to read how much you appreciated the location and that you were also satisfied with the assistance of our staff.
We hope to see you again in the near future!

Kind regards,
Andrea Járvás

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Prague hotels
Staré Město (Old Town)
Maximilian Hotel
Maximilian Hotel
#27 of 646 in Prague
2,543 reviews
Staré Město (Old Town)
The Emblem Hotel
The Emblem Hotel
#34 of 646 in Prague
1,292 reviews
Nové Město (New Town)
Hotel UNIC Prague
Hotel UNIC Prague
#24 of 646 in Prague
1,781 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Nové Město (New Town)
The ICON Hotel & Lounge
The ICON Hotel & Lounge
#41 of 646 in Prague
1,402 reviews
Staré Město (Old Town)
Unitas Hotel
Unitas Hotel
#7 of 646 in Prague
1,802 reviews
Staré Město (Old Town)
Design Hotel Jewel Prague
Design Hotel Jewel Prague
#10 of 646 in Prague
783 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Design Hotel Josef Prague? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Design Hotel Josef Prague

Address: Rybna 693/20 | 11000 Praha, Prague 110 00, Czech Republic
Phone Number:
Region: Czech Republic > Bohemia > Prague > Stare Mesto (Old Town) , Praha 1
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Prague
#27 Family Hotel in Prague
#31 Romantic Hotel in Prague
#36 Luxury Hotel in Prague
Price Range: £82 - £197 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Design Hotel Josef Prague 4.5*
Number of rooms: 109
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the very heart of one of the most beautiful medieval cities in Europe, designer Eva Jiricna has managed to create a modern masterpiece. The 109-room Hotel Josef in Prague's old town offers a design concept that elegantly blends the most modern elements with the rich history of its surroundings. iPod Docking Stations are available free of charge at reception. Breakfast is included if you book directly through our hotel website. hoteljosef. com ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, getaroom.com, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Design Hotel Josef Prague reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Josef Prague

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing