We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Really enjoy it!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Design Hotel Josef Prague
Ranked #42 of 672 Hotels in Prague
Certificate of Excellence
Jerusalem, Israel
Level Contributor
133 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Really enjoy it!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 March 2014

This hotel is excellent located, close to everything. The hotel has a modern style and the rooms are nice and comfortable with all you need. The staff was friendly and helped with everything we need. This is the kind of hotel I will be ready to go again.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Damian F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelJosef, General Manager at Design Hotel Josef Prague, responded to this review, 17 March 2014
Dear Damian F,

Thank you very much for staying with us and also for posting the above review about Hotel Josef.
I am pleased to hear your kind words about our team, location and design. It makes me especially glad to know that you appreciated the service our staff provided you with.
I will be looking forward to welcoming you back for a future stay!

Best Regards,
Manfred Tobolka
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,434 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,814
    522
    72
    14
    12
See reviews for
288
1,178
119
308
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (330)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Hong Kong
Level Contributor
117 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 March 2014 via mobile

First of all, we regret not book the hotel car transfer from train station to hotel. It is only around EUR15 but the "taxi" (at the taxi stand, with "valid" taxi sign) charges us more than double. So, my first tip is to book the hotel transfer. The hotel is very well located and we can reach most major attractions by foot. I like the modern design of the hotel and we got s room in the orange building (room 612) in which room is spacious and functional. Good strong free WiFi and in-room capsule coffee machine is great. Rain shower got great pressure too. The staff here are super friendly and helpful and they always have smiles on their faces. The concierge booked us the evening river cruise on the same day we arrived and they are nice to extend our request to have late check out at around 1pm. So, overall staff are very accommodating. The BIG breakfast is extended to 12:30pm over the weekend and I love their "try something different" menu. And since the unpleasant taxi experience upon arrival, we decided to use the hotel car and it is reasonably priced and the driver is excellent. He dropped us at the restaurant and later picked us up in 1.5 hours, costs around EUR10 per trip. The most important thing is we feel safe and can enjoy the city worry-free even if the places we want to go is a little out of walking distance. I would highly recommended this hotel to fellow travellers.

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Sheepo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelJosef, Guest Relations Manager at Design Hotel Josef Prague, responded to this review, 17 March 2014
Dear Sheepo,

Thank you so much for your nice and detailed feedback regarding your stay at Hotel Josef.
We were really happy to hear that you were satisfied with our services and facilities and it was also great to read that you liked your spacious room, our breakfast selection and that you appreciated the friendly attitude of our staff.
We are sad that you had a negative experience with the city taxi service and we hope this did not have a bad effect on your stay in Prague. Thank you for the positive comments about our hotel cars; we are glad to know you thought is was a convenient and safe option and we are also pleased that you were satisfied with the cost of this service.
We would like to thank you for your kind review once more and we look forward to seeing you again!

Kind regards,
Andrea Járvás
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Haarlem, Nederland
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 March 2014

We stayed two nights in hotel Josef and were extremely pleased with the total experience.
- friendly reception
- clean room with fine bed, enough space and clean bathroom with super shower
- good wifi reception
- free movies available at reception to play in DVD player in the room
- choice for clean sheets and towels every day
- the breakfast is the best we ever had. Everything you can think of is available and included. Also here the staff was great
All in all a great value for money and we recommend this hotel to everbody

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BePHaarlem_Nederland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelJosef, Guest Relations Manager at Design Hotel Josef Prague, responded to this review, 11 March 2014
Dear BePHaarlem_Nederland,

We would like to thank you for providing us with the above review regarding your recent stay at Hotel Josef.
It was great to read how much you liked our property and we are happy you found so many features to your liking here - we are especially glad that you appreciated how friendly our reception team was.
We hope to see you again soon!

Kind regards,
Andrea Járvás
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 March 2014

My husband and I stayed at this hotel for 4 nights in February, based on a recommendation of a friend. Excellent location, extremely helpful staff, and a chic, modern vibe. We arranged with the concierge to have a driver pick us up at the airport, which made our arrival so easy. Even with a 2 hour flight delay and extremely late arrival time our driver was waiting for us as planned. The breakfast is also very nice- and I loved the coffee machines in our room, along with bottled water. Such a nice touch! We had a room with the glass bathroom, which was very cool. We'll definitely be staying here again when we make it back to Prague!

Room Tip: Rooms on the courtyard would probably be quieter than street side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank moesha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelJosef, General Manager at Design Hotel Josef Prague, responded to this review, 11 March 2014
Dear moesha,

Thank you for posting this wonderful review on our TripAdvisor page!
Our entire team were pleased to hear your kind feedback, and I am delighted that you mentioned so many aspects you liked during your stay at Hotel Josef.
I hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back for a future stay!

Kind regards,
Manfred Tobolka
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karkur
Level Contributor
68 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 March 2014

I stayed at this hotel for two nights, and I’m joining the majority of the reviews. This hotel is what you are looking for, either on vacation or business trip.

Good location, very good service, fabulous breakfast etc.

If I need to point any weaknesses it’s only the fitness room which is very tiny with basic equipment and you should make sure not to take room on the first floor. I got one that was facing the internal yard, and therefore when I need privacy, I had to close the shades.

No doubt that on my next trip to Prague, I will definitely consider returning to this hotel

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ybaram
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelJosef, Guest Relations Manager at Design Hotel Josef Prague, responded to this review, 10 March 2014
Dear ybaram,

I would like to thank you for sharing your review with us and other readers regarding your recent stay at Hotel Josef.
I am pleased to know that you were satisfied with our location, breakfast and the quality of service our staff provided you with.
I was sorry to read that our fitness center did not meet your expectations. I would be more than happy to hear about what you felt could be improved, so please do not hesitate to contact me at guestrelations@hoteljosef.com. I would be also glad to find out more about your room preferences for future stays with us.
We hope to see you again in Prague!

Kind regards,
Andrea Járvás
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 February 2014 via mobile

Hotel Josef is an excellent hotel for exploring the wonderful city of Prague. Very central and literally a couple of minutes walk from the old town square where you will find many street entertainers and bars and restaurants, although the side street bars and restaurants are a lot cheaper!!!....Hotel staff very attentive to your needs and will help you with anything, rooms were very spacious and very clean at all times. Make sure you include the breakfast in your booking, this is excellent as well and worth the additional charge, no matter whether you are looking for cooked, continental, light or even something from their special menu. I have been to Prague before on business and this was the first visit with the family and they were not disappointed but I have to admit Hotel Josef was one of the key reasons behind this, nothing better than staying in a nice hotel with good staff who are always trying to ensure everything is right for their guests, would recommend.

Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Robin F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelJosef, Guest Relations Manager at Design Hotel Josef Prague, responded to this review, 9 March 2014
Dear Robin F,

It was delightful to read your wonderful feedback about our property, thank you so much for posting it on TripAdvisor.
We are grateful for your kind comments regarding our location, rooms and breakfast. We are especially proud to hear your positive feedback about our staff for their service they provided you with to ensure that you have a pleasant and enjoyable stay here with your family.
Thank you once more for sharing your review with us and we look forward to seeing you again soon!

Kind regards,
Andrea Járvás
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thornton, Colorado
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 February 2014

We stayed at Hotel Josef from Feb 13-21 2014. The hotel is centrally located in Old Prague easily within walking distance of the Castle Distrit, Lesser Prague, and New Prague. We had been given a lot of warnings about unscrupulous taxi drivers, so it was a relief to have the concierge team arrange a driver to pick us up and take us back to the airport. The hotel driver was very social and gave us a lot of insights about the city prior to checking in. Once there, we were amazed by the clean, sleek, modern look of the hotel. The staff was extremely courteous and accomodating as we had some special requests concerning medication that needed refrigeration/freezing. The breakfast was delicious and the showers had great water pressure. As strange as it sounds, our biggest problem was that there were no wash rags in the bathroom and we would quickly run out of shower gel and shampoo. We got an excellent room rate during the offseason (Winter Magic Package - 20% off) along with an added Valentine's Day discount (an additional 10% off). Even though there was a mistake on our room bill regarding the special rates, the hotel account manager rectified the situation quickly. My wife and I highly recommend this hotel for your stay in Prague.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dennis S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelJosef, Guest Relations Manager at Design Hotel Josef Prague, responded to this review, 5 March 2014
Dear Dennis S,

Thank you so much for sharing your feedback with us regarding your recent stay at Hotel Josef.
We were pleased to read your kind comments about our convenient location and it is great to hear that you were satisfied with the service our staff provided you with. We are glad that you found so many aspects of your stay to your liking.
Thank you also for your feedback regarding the wash rags - your comments have been taken on board, and we shared your comments about the shower gel and shampoo along with the concerning department.
We are delighted to know that you had a nice time in Prague and we look forward to welcoming you back for a future stay!

Kind regards,
Andrea Járvás
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Prague hotels
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Maximilian Hotel
Maximilian Hotel
#31 of 672 in Prague
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,177 reviews
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Unitas Hotel
Unitas Hotel
#9 of 672 in Prague
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,625 reviews
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Ventana Hotel Prague
Ventana Hotel Prague
#19 of 672 in Prague
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,245 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Design Hotel Jewel Prague
Design Hotel Jewel Prague
#10 of 672 in Prague
5.0 of 5 bubbles 710 reviews
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Savic Hotel
Savic Hotel
#32 of 672 in Prague
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,418 reviews
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
The Emblem Hotel
The Emblem Hotel
#38 of 672 in Prague
4.5 of 5 bubbles 972 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Design Hotel Josef Prague? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Design Hotel Josef Prague

Property: Design Hotel Josef Prague
Address: Rybna 693/20 | 11000 Praha, Prague 110 00, Czech Republic
Phone Number:
Region: Czech Republic > Bohemia > Prague > Stare Mesto (Old Town) , Praha 1
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Prague
#31 Family Hotel in Prague
#31 Romantic Hotel in Prague
#37 Luxury Hotel in Prague
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Design Hotel Josef Prague 4.5*
Number of rooms: 109
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the very heart of one of the most beautiful medieval cities in Europe, designer Eva Jiricna has managed to create a modern masterpiece. The 109-room Hotel Josef in Prague's old town offers a design concept that elegantly blends the most modern elements with the rich history of its surroundings. iPod Docking Stations are available free of charge at reception. Breakfast is included if you book directly through our hotel website. hoteljosef. com ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Design Hotel Josef Prague reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Josef Prague

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing