We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“As good as ever”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Design Hotel Josef Prague
Ranked #42 of 649 Hotels in Prague
Certificate of Excellence
Preston, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“As good as ever”
Reviewed 23 March 2014

My wife and I stayed in Hotel Josef ten years ago on our last trip to Prague and were very impressed with its modern look, lots of glass and chrome and great use of natural light, so when I booked a return trip to Prague with my two sons and their lifelong friend (all three in their mid-30`s) Josef was my first choice. I was concerned that it may have declined in the last ten years and we arrived on 14th March for two nights to find it was just as I remembered it from our last visit. In ten years this hotel has shown no sign of wear, it is spotlessly clean. All the staff we had dealings with were polite, efficient and friendly, the breakfast is excellent with both hot and cold buffet and also a menu to order from. Hotel Josef is in a great location being within walking distance from all major sites and Prague is a beautiful city best explored on foot. Shall I return to Prague again? I would like to think so, and if so shall I stay at the Josef? Definitely!!! Well done to all staff and management and thanks for making my return stay so memorable and enjoyable.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank princessjmay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelJosef, Guest Relations Manager at Design Hotel Josef Prague, responded to this review, 29 March 2014
Dear princessjmay,

We were so happy to read your wonderful review, thank you for sharing it with us and other readers on TripAdvisor!
We would also like to thank you for having chosen us for the second time in Prague. It makes us proud to know that you enjoyed your stay with us again and that after a first memorable stay we still managed to meet your expactations and live up to your memories of Hotel Josef.
We appreciate your kind and motivational feedback and we truly look forward to welcoming you back again!

Kind regards,
Andrea Járvás
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,501 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,865
    535
    73
    15
    13
See reviews for
298
1,208
122
319
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (342)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Dusseldorf, Germany
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 March 2014

We stayed here in November for a few nights and were blown away by what you get for the price. Huge room with nice extras like an umbrella and an American King size bed, free cocktail at check in, hot breakfast that is served until noon including things like made to order eggs benedict, great central location and great service all for just a about 120 Euros per night (ok, it was low season). Just really nice, modern, clean hotel but without the pretentious attitude that some "hip, modern" hotels can have. Thanks Josef! We'll be back.

Room Tip: we had a single friend with us and she got one of their smaller single rooms and it was super cute a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LDRocks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelJosef, General Manager at Design Hotel Josef Prague, responded to this review, 26 March 2014
Dear LDRocks,

Thank you very much for taking the time to post this review on our TripAdvisor page about your stay with us in November.
I am pleased to hear that you enjoyed so many features of our hotel such as the complimentary umbrellas, the size of the bed and our welcome gift. I am very happy to hear that you also enjoyed the design of Hotel Josef.
I would like to take this opportunity to thank you once again for this kind review. I look forward to welcoming you back for a future stay!

Best Regards,
Manfred Tobolka
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Incheon, South Korea
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 11 March 2014

At first I and my family are very happy to Hotel Josef's kind and helpful service.
Very modern design and comfortable room.
Reasonable price and good location.
Good quality breakfast.

It was really good memory to me.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BradleyGBKim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelJosef, Guest Relations Manager at Design Hotel Josef Prague, responded to this review, 17 March 2014
Dear BradleyGBKim,

We were delighted to read your kind review, thank you so much for sharing it with us and other readers on TripAdvisor.
We are grateful for your kind comments and it makes us happy to know that you liked so many aspects of your stay at Hotel Josef.
We would be happy to see you again in Prague!

Kind regards,
Andrea Járvás
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jerusalem, Israel
Level 6 Contributor
138 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 March 2014

This hotel is excellent located, close to everything. The hotel has a modern style and the rooms are nice and comfortable with all you need. The staff was friendly and helped with everything we need. This is the kind of hotel I will be ready to go again.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Damian F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelJosef, General Manager at Design Hotel Josef Prague, responded to this review, 17 March 2014
Dear Damian F,

Thank you very much for staying with us and also for posting the above review about Hotel Josef.
I am pleased to hear your kind words about our team, location and design. It makes me especially glad to know that you appreciated the service our staff provided you with.
I will be looking forward to welcoming you back for a future stay!

Best Regards,
Manfred Tobolka
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong
Level 6 Contributor
120 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 March 2014 via mobile

First of all, we regret not book the hotel car transfer from train station to hotel. It is only around EUR15 but the "taxi" (at the taxi stand, with "valid" taxi sign) charges us more than double. So, my first tip is to book the hotel transfer. The hotel is very well located and we can reach most major attractions by foot. I like the modern design of the hotel and we got s room in the orange building (room 612) in which room is spacious and functional. Good strong free WiFi and in-room capsule coffee machine is great. Rain shower got great pressure too. The staff here are super friendly and helpful and they always have smiles on their faces. The concierge booked us the evening river cruise on the same day we arrived and they are nice to extend our request to have late check out at around 1pm. So, overall staff are very accommodating. The BIG breakfast is extended to 12:30pm over the weekend and I love their "try something different" menu. And since the unpleasant taxi experience upon arrival, we decided to use the hotel car and it is reasonably priced and the driver is excellent. He dropped us at the restaurant and later picked us up in 1.5 hours, costs around EUR10 per trip. The most important thing is we feel safe and can enjoy the city worry-free even if the places we want to go is a little out of walking distance. I would highly recommended this hotel to fellow travellers.

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Sheepo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelJosef, Guest Relations Manager at Design Hotel Josef Prague, responded to this review, 17 March 2014
Dear Sheepo,

Thank you so much for your nice and detailed feedback regarding your stay at Hotel Josef.
We were really happy to hear that you were satisfied with our services and facilities and it was also great to read that you liked your spacious room, our breakfast selection and that you appreciated the friendly attitude of our staff.
We are sad that you had a negative experience with the city taxi service and we hope this did not have a bad effect on your stay in Prague. Thank you for the positive comments about our hotel cars; we are glad to know you thought is was a convenient and safe option and we are also pleased that you were satisfied with the cost of this service.
We would like to thank you for your kind review once more and we look forward to seeing you again!

Kind regards,
Andrea Járvás
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Haarlem, Nederland
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 March 2014

We stayed two nights in hotel Josef and were extremely pleased with the total experience.
- friendly reception
- clean room with fine bed, enough space and clean bathroom with super shower
- good wifi reception
- free movies available at reception to play in DVD player in the room
- choice for clean sheets and towels every day
- the breakfast is the best we ever had. Everything you can think of is available and included. Also here the staff was great
All in all a great value for money and we recommend this hotel to everbody

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BePHaarlem_Nederland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelJosef, Guest Relations Manager at Design Hotel Josef Prague, responded to this review, 11 March 2014
Dear BePHaarlem_Nederland,

We would like to thank you for providing us with the above review regarding your recent stay at Hotel Josef.
It was great to read how much you liked our property and we are happy you found so many features to your liking here - we are especially glad that you appreciated how friendly our reception team was.
We hope to see you again soon!

Kind regards,
Andrea Járvás
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 March 2014

My husband and I stayed at this hotel for 4 nights in February, based on a recommendation of a friend. Excellent location, extremely helpful staff, and a chic, modern vibe. We arranged with the concierge to have a driver pick us up at the airport, which made our arrival so easy. Even with a 2 hour flight delay and extremely late arrival time our driver was waiting for us as planned. The breakfast is also very nice- and I loved the coffee machines in our room, along with bottled water. Such a nice touch! We had a room with the glass bathroom, which was very cool. We'll definitely be staying here again when we make it back to Prague!

Room Tip: Rooms on the courtyard would probably be quieter than street side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank moesha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelJosef, General Manager at Design Hotel Josef Prague, responded to this review, 11 March 2014
Dear moesha,

Thank you for posting this wonderful review on our TripAdvisor page!
Our entire team were pleased to hear your kind feedback, and I am delighted that you mentioned so many aspects you liked during your stay at Hotel Josef.
I hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back for a future stay!

Kind regards,
Manfred Tobolka
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Prague hotels
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Maximilian Hotel
Maximilian Hotel
#29 of 649 in Prague
2,345 reviews
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Ventana Hotel Prague
Ventana Hotel Prague
#21 of 649 in Prague
1,297 reviews
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Savic Hotel
Savic Hotel
#33 of 649 in Prague
2,477 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Unitas Hotel
Unitas Hotel
#9 of 649 in Prague
1,715 reviews
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
The Emblem Hotel
The Emblem Hotel
#30 of 649 in Prague
1,116 reviews
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Design Hotel Jewel Prague
Design Hotel Jewel Prague
#12 of 649 in Prague
740 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Design Hotel Josef Prague? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Design Hotel Josef Prague

Property: Design Hotel Josef Prague
Address: Rybna 693/20 | 11000 Praha, Prague 110 00, Czech Republic
Phone Number:
Region: Czech Republic > Bohemia > Prague > Stare Mesto (Old Town) , Praha 1
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Prague
#31 Romantic Hotel in Prague
#31 Family Hotel in Prague
#38 Luxury Hotel in Prague
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Design Hotel Josef Prague 4.5*
Number of rooms: 109
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the very heart of one of the most beautiful medieval cities in Europe, designer Eva Jiricna has managed to create a modern masterpiece. The 109-room Hotel Josef in Prague's old town offers a design concept that elegantly blends the most modern elements with the rich history of its surroundings. iPod Docking Stations are available free of charge at reception. Breakfast is included if you book directly through our hotel website. hoteljosef. com ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Design Hotel Josef Prague reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Josef Prague

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing