We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Modern and stylish”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Design Hotel Josef Prague
Ranked #39 of 646 Hotels in Prague
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 5 July 2014

Very good hotel with an amazing breakfast buffet. Unfortunately, when we arrived we had to be relocated for a first night because of a technical problem. Interestingly, we bumped to other people who had a similar experience even at the sister hotel. The alternative hotel was very good, nevertheless, and only a couple of minutes from hotel Josef and we were sent a taxi in the morning in time for breakfast. We were compensated for the inconvenience - two free cocktails from the bar, a free lunch for two with drinks and a bottle of wine in our room. The staff were very friendly. The rooms were modern and very stylish with very comfortable bed and pillows. It could not be faulted. Would recommend.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank DavJo12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelJosef, Guest Relations Manager at Design Hotel Josef Prague, responded to this reviewResponded 9 July 2014

Dear DavJo12,

Thank you for your time to write and post your kind review on TripAdvisor.
We are really happy to know that you enjoyed your stay at Hotel Josef and appreciated the compensation for the inconvenience in the beginning. We also loved to read your feedback about our breakfast, your room, bed and pillows and it makes us really happy to hear your positive comments about our staff.
It would be our pleasure to see you again!

Kind Regards,
Andrea Járvás

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,594)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

810 - 816 of 2,594 reviews

Reviewed 3 July 2014

We stayed 5 days at Hotel Josef in early June in room 704 with two walls of glass and stunning views over Prague. The room is very comfortable: bed, chairs, desk, etc. The bath is exceptional and the shower spectacular! The staff went out of its way to be helpful. The concierge, Marketa, was among the best I've dealt with. Breakfasts were more like brunch; you certainly didn't' need a midday meal after the variety and excellence of the choices from the buffet or the menu. My only complaint is that in their desire to preserve the minimalist look of the room (which is most pleasing) there are not a lot of drawers to keep clothes. In sum, I'd stay there again in a heartbeat.

Room Tip: We loved 704 with its terrace, glass walls and views of the city.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank rabddoug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelJosef, Guest Relations Manager at Design Hotel Josef Prague, responded to this reviewResponded 8 July 2014

Dear rabddoug,

Please allow us to thank you for taking the time to write and post your wonderful review on our TripAdvisor page regarding your stay in June at Hotel Josef.
We were really happy to read your nice comments about the facilities you enjoyed here and we would like to thank you for mentioning all the aspects that you liked, such as our breakfast and your room - however, we are sorry to know that you were not entirely satisfied with the storage space provided.
Furthermore, we would also like to thank you for mentioning how much you appreciated the assistance our staff provided you with - Marketa was especially happy to see her name in your comments.
We are glad to know that we could contribute to a pleasant time in Prague and we would be happy to welcome you back!

Kind Regards,
Andrea Járvás

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2014

We had an excellent stay at the Hotel Josef. The staff was all extremely nice and accommodating. The rooms were comfortable and spacious. It is located in old town about 5 minute walk away from most of the Old Town Prague attractions. The breakfast was delicious and definitely worth the extra cost.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Bmitchell86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelJosef, Guest Relations Manager at Design Hotel Josef Prague, responded to this reviewResponded 8 July 2014

Dear Bmitchell86,

We were delighted to read your really nice review about Hotel Josef - thank you so much for posting it on our TripAdvisor page!
It makes us glad to know that you enjoyed your stay with us and we hope to see you again soon.

Kind Regards,
Andrea Járvás

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2014 via mobile

We loved our stay at this hotel, it's in the perfect location as it's only a 5 minute walk to the main square where there's lots to do. There's also many bars and restaurants around the area. Staff are extremely polite and helpful. The rooms are very clean and modern, as is the rest of the hotel. There's was lots of choice for breakfast and it is open until 11:30 which meant there was no chance of missing it! Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank georgiaaaad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelJosef, Guest Relations Manager at Design Hotel Josef Prague, responded to this reviewResponded 8 July 2014

Dear georgiaaaad,

Many thanks for sharing your positive review with us and other readers on TripAdvisor about your experiences at Hotel Josef.
We are so happy to hear that you liked our prime location, wide breakfast selection, our rooms and also that you liked the politeness and helpfulness of our staff.
It would be our greatest pleasure to welcome you back for a future stay with us!

Kind Regards,
Andrea Járvás

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2014

Hotel Josef is awesome. The breakfast buffet is incredible (so much choice! the ability to press your own vegetable juice! ALL THE TEA!) the staff are incredibly accommodating and super friendly and our stay in Prague was perfect as a result.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kimlovesstuff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelJosef, Guest Relations Manager at Design Hotel Josef Prague, responded to this reviewResponded 8 July 2014

Dear kimlovesstuff,

We would like to thank you for providing us with your kind feedback as well as for having chosen our hotel for your stay in Prague.
It was delightful to read that you liked our property and breakfast and it made us especially happy to know that you were satisfied with the service our staff provided you with.
We would be pleased to see you again in the near future!

Kind Regards,
Andrea Járvás

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2014

Very nice hotel in the center of Prague. Great breakfast. Limited command of Czech at the reception. Garage for free: absolute necessity in Prague. Garage entrance only for very good drivers and/or small cars ;-) I paid a tip to a porter and had my windshield cleaned. My colleague did not: guess what... no cleaning.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JVa70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelJosef, Guest Relations Manager at Design Hotel Josef Prague, responded to this reviewResponded 4 July 2014

Dear JVa70,

First of all, we would like to thank you for providing us with your feedback regarding your recent stay at Hotel Josef. It was our greatest pleasure to read that you enjoyed our convenient location and breakfast and we sincerely hope that you had a pleasant and enjoyable time in Prague.
We are pleased to know that you appreciated the complimentary parking offered especially with your reservation made on this specific day - we completely agree that a safe garage is a valuable feature when staying in the city center.
Thank you also for mentioning the windshield cleaning we offer; we are glad that you were satisfied with it, however we would like to take this opportunity to highlight that it is a complimentary service and is not provided by our bellman, but a different department during the night. We would still like to apologize for not having cleaned your colleague's windshield, it was a mistake on our side and not a consequence of lack of tips.
Once more, we are grateful for your nice review and would be happy to welcome you back for a future stay!

Kind Regards,
Andrea Járvás

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2014 via mobile

Extremely clean, staff are professional and so helpful. They will cater to your every need. Was very happy and would recommend to anyone visiting prague. Location is great, a stones throw from the old town.

Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Martin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelJosef, Operations Manager at Design Hotel Josef Prague, responded to this reviewResponded 3 July 2014

Dear Martin M,

thank you so much for your fantastic comment about your recent stay at Hotel Josef! We are glad that you had a great holiday in Pague and that we were able to be part of it.

Kind regards

Florentine Rehm

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Prague hotels
Staré Město (Old Town)
Maximilian Hotel
Maximilian Hotel
#27 of 646 in Prague
2,540 reviews
Nové Město (New Town)
Hotel UNIC Prague
Hotel UNIC Prague
#24 of 646 in Prague
1,778 reviews
Staré Město (Old Town)
The Emblem Hotel
The Emblem Hotel
#34 of 646 in Prague
1,288 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Nové Město (New Town)
The ICON Hotel & Lounge
The ICON Hotel & Lounge
#40 of 646 in Prague
1,398 reviews
Staré Město (Old Town)
Unitas Hotel
Unitas Hotel
#7 of 646 in Prague
1,802 reviews
Staré Město (Old Town)
Design Hotel Jewel Prague
Design Hotel Jewel Prague
#11 of 646 in Prague
783 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Design Hotel Josef Prague? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Design Hotel Josef Prague

Address: Rybna 693/20 | 11000 Praha, Prague 110 00, Czech Republic
Phone Number:
Region: Czech Republic > Bohemia > Prague > Stare Mesto (Old Town) , Praha 1
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Prague
#27 Family Hotel in Prague
#31 Romantic Hotel in Prague
#36 Luxury Hotel in Prague
Price Range: £81 - £195 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Design Hotel Josef Prague 4.5*
Number of rooms: 109
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the very heart of one of the most beautiful medieval cities in Europe, designer Eva Jiricna has managed to create a modern masterpiece. The 109-room Hotel Josef in Prague's old town offers a design concept that elegantly blends the most modern elements with the rich history of its surroundings. iPod Docking Stations are available free of charge at reception. Breakfast is included if you book directly through our hotel website. hoteljosef. com ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), getaroom.com, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Design Hotel Josef Prague reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Josef Prague

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing