We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“can't fault it & I'm fussy!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Design Hotel Josef Prague
Ranked #39 of 649 Hotels in Prague
Certificate of Excellence
Brighton, England
Level Contributor
38 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“can't fault it & I'm fussy!”
Reviewed 21 February 2009

From the moment we arrived till we left 3 nights later I could not fault the place. I know it's not at the cheap end of the scale but we got a great deal through Mr & Mrs Smith website, stayed 3 nights but 1night was free(superior room). We were on 7th floor overlooking the Praque rooftops. The bathrooms are a bit disconcerting, glass box inside the room itself. You need to be very comfortable with your room mate! Very helpful staff, great breakfast's, free DVD's to watch if you feel like staying in. Beds really comfortable, bathrobes, slippers & Aveda toiletries supplied.

  • Stayed February 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bn1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hoteljosef, Guest Relations Management at Design Hotel Josef Prague, responded to this review, 9 March 2009
It was a pleasure to read your review and learn that you enjoyed your stay with us. Happy to hear that you enjoyed the view and our service. Hope to see you again in Josef soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,469 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,845
    524
    73
    14
    13
See reviews for
294
1,195
119
315
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (338)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
New York, NY
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 February 2009

When we arrived at the Josef after the 16 hour trek from the US we were told that due to a booking mistake we did not have rooms and would have to stay in their sister hotel, the Maximillion, around the corner. This is how so many horror stories start on these user reviews, but not this time.

The operations manager, Luke, walked us over and offered to buy us dinner at their restaurant (NoStress, also excellent). The Maximillion was a little less ultra modern than the Joseph, but had everything we wanted. The rooms were fairly large and had great bathrooms including high quality English bath products. They also included flat screen TVs and espresso makers. The Max also had a free business center and a well appointed library room on the 2nd floor. The breakfast was also excellent featuring omlettes and other eggs made to order and a buffet with fresh fruits, meats, etc.

For the 2nd half of our stay we got back into the Josef. We were very satisfied with the Maximillion, but wanted to try them both. The Josef was amazing! It had everything at the Max and more. The place is beautiful and super modern. The business center has free water bottles, free printing, and brand new PCs - all of which made life very easy. The breakfast was amazing featuring even more than the Max including fresh berries and watermelon in January.

We stayed in room 801 which was pretty much the best room ever. The balcony looked directly into Old Town square, the room was large, and their signature glass walled bathroom was super cool (the toilet and shower have frosted glass). The room was comfortable and beautiful and made us feel like we were really treating ourselves. The bath products were Aveno at Josef. At both the hotel had a selection of DVDs to borrow (free with superior rooms). The DVDs were a nice touch because after a few days of very limited English language TV it was fun to watch something other than the news. My brother stayed in a regular Superior room and was also very happy. It was smaller and didn't have the view and balcony, but was still larger than most European rooms I've been in and had the ultra cool bathroom.

The Josef's concierge also stood out. She booked us reservations at restaurants, made us appointments for tours and generally seemed to try everything she could think of to meet our requests.

I highly recommend both hotels, but the Josef was the true standout. Room 801 at Josef is one of my favorite rooms in the world, rivaling my stays in the Westin in Kyoto and St. Regis in New York. Both hotels are very close to Old Town Square and Republic Square so there is no shortage of sights, food, and nightlife. The hotels maintain brand new cars and staff drivers on call for trips to the airport, train station, or anywhere. Their prices were at or below regular cabs. Finally, Josef had free Ipod docks available from the front desk.

  • Stayed January 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank w12345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hoteljosef, Guest Relations Management at Design Hotel Josef Prague, responded to this review, 9 March 2009
Our concierge do an excellent job in fulfilling our guests expectations. I am please to hear that they did the same for you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 February 2009

We have just returned from 3 nights Hotel Josef. The Hotel is situated in the 'Old Town', which is the perfect place for viewing Prague. The hotel is very chic and modern with a very relaxed and welcoming atmostphere. The room was superb with extremely comfortable bed and pillows, which we are very fussy about. Everywhere is spotlessly clean and the breakfast is second to none, amazing. I would have no hesitation in highly recommending this hotel it ticks all the boxes. I got a special offer on the hotels web site and paid for the superior room with glass bathroom and then when we arrived we were very kindly upgraded to their best suite with a terrace and a view of Prague roof tops. Every city needs a hotel like this, if you read this .....book it.

  • Stayed February 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AnnaKDublinIreland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hoteljosef, Guest Relations Management at Design Hotel Josef Prague, responded to this review, 9 March 2009
Your comments about our great breakfast encourage us to continue to provide the same standard for all guests who stay with us. We hope to see you once again in Hotel Josef too.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Heraklion, Greece
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 February 2009

Excellent hotel service, good size rooms, modern and friendly.
Location is good , very convenient located but the in the night could be a bit off site for a female single traveller.

  • Liked — service
  • Disliked — location at night
  • Stayed February 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Anna017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne
Level Contributor
60 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 February 2009

We went to this hotel on the 6-8 Feb 09, it is located very central to the main attractions of the old town hence location is just fantastic.
The streets looked run-down, do not let them deceive you, once you find this hotel, it is absolutely stunning. The entrance is well illuminated, the staff were cordial and pleasant at all time during our stay.
Our room was comfortable and perfect for its cost. We had some issues with the internet and it was quickly resolved. The internet is free which is a plus plus. OHHH also they can provide you with a i-pod docking sound system, just wonderful.... it is interesting how little things like that just make your stay so much better.

We had breakfast, we both agree that it was just wonderful, great selection of food and they make Eggs Benedict!!! We really felt that the staff were just amazing... and made us feel sooo comfortable.

We definitely going back to this hotel when we go back to Prague.
Highly recommended!

  • Liked — Great location, staff, food and service
  • Disliked — mmm can not think of one...
  • Stayed February 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank MoonlightRide
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 February 2009

If your going to Prague look no further than the Hotel Josef. The hotel is very modern, The rooms very very clean and airy. ALL of the staff very amazing helpful polite and nothing to much trouble. The location was perfect 5 min walk to the old town!! They recommended very good restaurants and advice on what to do should you require ithe breakfast was very good and they went out of there way to give you whatever you wanted, and cooked to how you wanted it. Presentation of the food was outstanding! . If you dont know where to stay.... give this a try! Would go back again!

  • Liked — Everything
  • Disliked — they dont have a no smoking policy!
  • Stayed February 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank happygirl010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Yorks
2 reviews
Reviewed 30 January 2009

We spent five days at the hotel when we went to sightsee and visit the Christmas Markets. Nothing was a trouble to the staff, the rooms were immaculate and breakfasts out of this world. As it is central it is the ideal spot for exploring.
It was my husbands second visit to the hotel and he was impressed that he was welcomed back in a letter left for us.

Stayed December 2008
Helpful?
Thank BasilicaNorthYorks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Prague hotels
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Maximilian Hotel
Maximilian Hotel
#28 of 649 in Prague
2,261 reviews
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Unitas Hotel
Unitas Hotel
#10 of 649 in Prague
1,672 reviews
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Ventana Hotel Prague
Ventana Hotel Prague
#22 of 649 in Prague
1,270 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Savic Hotel
Savic Hotel
#36 of 649 in Prague
2,453 reviews
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
The Emblem Hotel
The Emblem Hotel
#31 of 649 in Prague
1,052 reviews
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Design Hotel Jewel Prague
Design Hotel Jewel Prague
#13 of 649 in Prague
724 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Design Hotel Josef Prague? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Design Hotel Josef Prague

Property: Design Hotel Josef Prague
Address: Rybna 693/20 | 11000 Praha, Prague 110 00, Czech Republic
Phone Number:
Region: Czech Republic > Bohemia > Prague > Stare Mesto (Old Town) , Praha 1
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Prague
#31 Romantic Hotel in Prague
#31 Family Hotel in Prague
#35 Luxury Hotel in Prague
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Design Hotel Josef Prague 4.5*
Number of rooms: 109
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the very heart of one of the most beautiful medieval cities in Europe, designer Eva Jiricna has managed to create a modern masterpiece. The 109-room Hotel Josef in Prague's old town offers a design concept that elegantly blends the most modern elements with the rich history of its surroundings. iPod Docking Stations are available free of charge at reception. Breakfast is included if you book directly through our hotel website. hoteljosef. com ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, MyHotelShop, Expedia, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), Hotel.de, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HRS, getaroom.com, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Design Hotel Josef Prague reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Josef Prague

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing