We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A jewel in the heart of Prague”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Design Hotel Josef Prague
Ranked #41 of 647 Hotels in Prague
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 29 June 2009

I stayed last weekend (26 June, 3 nights) at the Hotel Josef, and I have to say it was the highlight of the weekend.

Prague is possibly the most beautiful city I have ever visited, but everywhere I encountered rude and disinterested service - except at the Hotel Josef. The hotel was like an oasis in a city that doesn't really do customer serivce. Each day I looked forward to returning to the warmth of the hotel - yes, it's very modern and sleek, but really very welcoming too. The staff here were very nice, the hotel was spotless, they served a great breakfast each morning (I also sampled the lobby bar menu and it was superb), and they smiled!

It's just round the corner from the Old Town Square - but it was so quiet and peaceful too so I had a wonderful nights sleep each night of my stay.

Because of the rest of my experiences in Prague, I don't think I will be back to the city - a shame - because the Hotel Josef is amazing. So the best compliment I can think of for the hotel is that every city should have a Hotel Josef!

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LondON
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hoteljosef, Guest Relations Management at Design Hotel Josef Prague, responded to this reviewResponded 6 July 2009

Thank you for your review. We are pleased to hear that our staff stood out for their exceptional service compared to your other experiences in Prague.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,533)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,587 - 1,593 of 2,533 reviews

Reviewed 29 June 2009

Everything at Hotel Josef exceeded expectations. From the relaxed and hip atmosphere to the outstanding breakfast (over which we could have lingered even longer than we did!) and the chocolate-dipped strawberries unexpectedly delivered to our room to the comfortable beds and Aveda products in the bathroom to the Thai massage and the helpful and friendly staff, we thoroughly enjoyed our stay at Hotel Josef. Will definitely be back!

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ResearchGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hoteljosef, Guest Relations Management at Design Hotel Josef Prague, responded to this reviewResponded 6 July 2009

Our reception staff likes to surprise our guests with extra treats such as the chocolate covered strawberries. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed them. We were also happy to hear you enjoyed the Aveda cosmetics. Thank you for your stay and we look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2009

Room 801 has a nice view with a lovely wrap-around balcony. We enjoyed sitting on the balcony with a glas of wine after a long day of sightseeing. The Hotel is very modern with a glass bathroom and very modern decor. The staff is helpful and I liked the seperate computer room with internet connection that the hotel offers for free. Breakfast is a fabulous feast of anything you could think of. The location is in walking distance of all sights and some good restaurants. You find better restaurants if you venture a little away from the main square and the major tourist sights.

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PDRtravelbug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2009

Stayed at The Josef Hotel in Prague for 5 days in june with my husband.

We can really recommend this hotel. There can hardly be a better location, just a 5 minutes walk to the main shopping streets, turist atraktions and restaurants.

And although the hotel is located right in the middle of center of the old town, there is almost no noise.

The hotel is very stylish and the rooms are simple decorated. I recommend that you book a room with a balcony (if possible), you get a wonderful view over the city on the 7 and 8 floor of the hotel.

Breakfast is delicious, you can get almost anything you can imagine.
And they serve breakfast until 11:30 on weekdays.

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Birgitte F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hoteljosef, Guest Relations Management at Design Hotel Josef Prague, responded to this reviewResponded 6 July 2009

Thank you for your review and your comments. We are pleased to hear you enjoyed our location and our breakfast. We hope to be able to welcome you back to Hotel Josef soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2009

Attention to detail, great style, and excellent hospitality marked our first visit to PRAGUE at the Hotel Josef.
Very cosmopolitan, friendly, accomodating staff and great touches of style in the rooms and public areas of the hotel made our stay most enjoyable. The breakfast quality and variety was outstanding, and overall value for money was evident. Highly recommended.

2  Thank DRPA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2009

This was an incredible find for us! We requested a view room and were give 701 and 702. Great view of the old town. It is not in the center, but a less than 5 min. walk and you were there. A half bottle of wine and an i-pod speaker were waiting for us. The room was clean and beautiful. The breakfast was one of the best we found on our trip!! Have to experience it!

Thanks to all the staff that helped us, especially getting our large van in and out of the parking lot. It was an adventure getting it in and out, an I really appreciate the drivers that helped.

Looking forward to going to Prague and staying with you again!

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Koberob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hoteljosef, Guest Relations Management at Design Hotel Josef Prague, responded to this reviewResponded 6 July 2009

Our iPod docking stations are a new addition to Hotel Josef and we are delighted to hear such positive reviews about them. We are also glad you enjoyed our breakfast. Hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2009

It is modern fashionable hotel in the middle of the old town. The rooms are well designed with a lot of attention to detail. But what was outstanding was the service with a smile: lively friendly people attending to your needs with a smile: The Nespresso machine in the room did not work and was replaced the same morning, the Club sandwich I had the night I stayed in came rapidly and was very tasty, instructions from the reception of where and what to visit were to the point. All in all it was a very pleasant stay.

  • Stayed: April 2009, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank YiannisBrussels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hoteljosef, Guest Relations Management at Design Hotel Josef Prague, responded to this reviewResponded 6 July 2009

Thank you for your review and comments. It is great to hear that our staff served you with a smile. We hope to welcome you back to Josef soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Prague hotels
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Maximilian Hotel
Maximilian Hotel
#25 of 647 in Prague
2,413 reviews
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
The Emblem Hotel
The Emblem Hotel
#31 of 647 in Prague
1,174 reviews
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Ventana Hotel Prague
Ventana Hotel Prague
#20 of 647 in Prague
1,323 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Savic Hotel
Savic Hotel
#34 of 647 in Prague
2,495 reviews
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Grand Hotel Bohemia
Grand Hotel Bohemia
#45 of 647 in Prague
1,792 reviews
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Hotel Hastal Prague Old Town
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Design Hotel Josef Prague? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Design Hotel Josef Prague

Address: Rybna 693/20 | 11000 Praha, Prague 110 00, Czech Republic
Phone Number:
Region: Czech Republic > Bohemia > Prague > Stare Mesto (Old Town) , Praha 1
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Prague
#31 Family Hotel in Prague
#31 Romantic Hotel in Prague
#38 Luxury Hotel in Prague
Price Range: £92 - £250 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Design Hotel Josef Prague 4.5*
Number of rooms: 109
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the very heart of one of the most beautiful medieval cities in Europe, designer Eva Jiricna has managed to create a modern masterpiece. The 109-room Hotel Josef in Prague's old town offers a design concept that elegantly blends the most modern elements with the rich history of its surroundings. iPod Docking Stations are available free of charge at reception. Breakfast is included if you book directly through our hotel website. hoteljosef. com ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Design Hotel Josef Prague reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Josef Prague

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing