We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Place to stay in Prague”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Design Hotel Josef Prague
Ranked #39 of 646 Hotels in Prague
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 7 August 2009

Staying here was a highlight of our most recent European adventure. This ultra modern and sleek hotel is not only also very relaxing but an incredible deal in my eyes. Wonderful breakfasts with everything you could want and great service as well. The location is also stellar as it is only minutes from the Old Town Square. The rooms were extremely comfortable and we particularly enjoyed our view of Prague Castle from our balcony. I would come to Prage again just to stay here!

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Capt-Canuck5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,579)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,601 - 1,607 of 2,579 reviews

Reviewed 7 August 2009

I recently stayed at Hotel Josef for 6 nights. My husband was on business and I came along for fun. The location of Hotel Josef is perfect. Right near Old Town Square with many wonderful sights within walking distance. I spent all 6 days taking different routes to Prague Castle, the Old Jewish Cemetary, Charles Bridge and over to Wenceslas Square. Not once did I find the need to take public transportaion.

The hotel itself was very nice. The bed was comfortable, the glass bathroom was frosted so not too revealing, great morning buffet, good room service, and a very pleasant staff.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jmcat14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2009

Hotel Josef is a very nice, very good hotel in the heart of the old town. Rooms and bathrooms are very comfortable, the staff is very friendly and knowledgeable. The hotel has a very nice courtyard and lobby bar. Breakfast is delicious. The hotel offers all facilities which you would expect. Really nothing to complain

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank visitorhd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2009

I stay here regulary, along with two other hotels in Prague and I know the area very well. For a designer boutique hotel, this hotel has plenty of facilities to keep any traveller happy. From hair striaighteners for the ladies, to iron and ironing board for the domesticated types, this is one hell of a hotel.

The service is excellent, although the staff are a little too polished and fashionable and can leave you feeling somewhat inadequate. Also, the English speaking of some of the staff isnt great, so speaking some Slovak is advisable.

The food is ok, and the bar is excellent with a huge selection of reasonably priced drinks. The rooms are supremley comfortable, with excellent bathroom and super large bed.

Room service was efficient, and overall it was an excellent stay. This is one of the three hotels to be seen at in Praha, and I would more than happily stay here again! In fact, I've just remembered Ill be staying here this Christmas and New Year.

See you there.

Dobre den!

  • Stayed: May 2006, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mariodc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2009

We found the Hotel Josef by chance after browsing the accomodation in Prague and what a find! We were only in the city for four days but the location of the hotel is ideal for the short walk to the main square, the Charles Bridge and Prague Castle.

We took the luxury option and pre-booked a chauffered car from the airport and first impressions of the hotel were very good; modern, stylish and well appointed. We stayed in a balcony room overlooking the old square which was great for relaxing in the evening after a long day sightseeing but any room here will be worthwhile. The breakfast was superb with a huge variety catering for all requirements and special orders were no problem at all. The staff were polite, attentive and answered all our queries with enthusiasm and a smile. We even tried the (very quiet) gym/sauna on the roof! Highly recommended and well worth the money.

One tip; if you're looking for a good place to eat/drink, avoid the main square with its higher prices and sea of tourists and seek out some of the superb smaller bars/restaurants along the quieter side roads. It's where the locals go!

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TravelHunter1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2009

What a find! Really a designer hotel, every detail has been considered. The location is perfect-so close to everything-yet far enough away to be removed from the mobs at Old Town Square. We walked everywhere. Even Prague Castle is walkable if you've got some time. The breakfast was super - amazing fruit - and the service was excellent. The Josef is a great example of the contemporary aspect of the incredible architectural diversity of Prague. Guests can have all the comforts of air conditioning and other amenities without sacrificing style and the experience of staying in a unique Prague hotel. However, you do have to appreciate this kind of modern, streamlined design. If you're looking for a historical type of hotel, this probably wouldn't work for you. For us, we were glad to have an air conditioned place to come home to after a day of walking around in the humidity and heat.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank phoebe50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2009

The Hotel Josef was stunning. Ultra-modern (to the extreme), tasteful and comfortable. The breakfast buffet (included) is great and in a pretty courtyard setting. The staff is helpful and courteous.

But before you book it, you should read this New York Times article on the new hotel trend of glass bathrooms...
http://events.nytimes.com/2009/04/05/travel/05headsup.html?scp=2&sq=standard%20hotel%20bathroom&st=cse

To be sure you can handle it. I barely could.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ArcticRoseN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Prague hotels
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Maximilian Hotel
Maximilian Hotel
#29 of 646 in Prague
2,526 reviews
Nove Mesto (New Town)
Hotel UNIC Prague
Hotel UNIC Prague
#26 of 646 in Prague
1,756 reviews
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
The Emblem Hotel
The Emblem Hotel
#33 of 646 in Prague
1,268 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Unitas Hotel
Unitas Hotel
#7 of 646 in Prague
1,795 reviews
Nove Mesto (New Town)
The ICON Hotel & Lounge
The ICON Hotel & Lounge
#41 of 646 in Prague
1,380 reviews
Nove Mesto (New Town)
MOODs Boutique Hotel
MOODs Boutique Hotel
#65 of 646 in Prague
1,849 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Design Hotel Josef Prague? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Design Hotel Josef Prague

Address: Rybna 693/20 | 11000 Praha, Prague 110 00, Czech Republic
Phone Number:
Region: Czech Republic > Bohemia > Prague > Stare Mesto (Old Town) , Praha 1
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Prague
#27 Family Hotel in Prague
#31 Romantic Hotel in Prague
#36 Luxury Hotel in Prague
Price Range: £82 - £188 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Design Hotel Josef Prague 4.5*
Number of rooms: 109
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the very heart of one of the most beautiful medieval cities in Europe, designer Eva Jiricna has managed to create a modern masterpiece. The 109-room Hotel Josef in Prague's old town offers a design concept that elegantly blends the most modern elements with the rich history of its surroundings. iPod Docking Stations are available free of charge at reception. Breakfast is included if you book directly through our hotel website. hoteljosef. com ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Design Hotel Josef Prague reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Josef Prague

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing