We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Classy hotel, great location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Design Hotel Josef Prague
Ranked #38 of 648 Hotels in Prague
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 3 September 2010

I decided on Hotel Josef at the last minute and booked the day before I got on the train from Germany. When I got to the train station it was already 2130, I was exhausted and just wanted to eat and sleep. I set up a pickup through the hotel, but because of the late reservation I was unable to give them my arrival information, luckily I had a cell phone to call them and even though I was not on the list and their driver was about to go home...they still accomodated me! I was so grateful that I wasn't stranded having to take a taxi. (From what I hear, the taxis are not always that trust worthy in Prague!) The driver had a sign with my name on it (it was a town car) and we went on our way.
When I got to the hotel I was pleased to find out that the restaurant was open until 2300, so I ordered food after I checked in and went to my room. The food was delivered to me, which was great and I settled in for the night.
****It was new to me, but you had to put your room key in a slot by the door to work the lights**** I felt a little silly having to go downstairs and ask how to work them!
Hotel Josef is close to the Stare Mesto (town square) and I walked to the Jewish Quarter, Charles Bridge, Prague Castle and St Vitus Cathedral. The walk to the bridge is about 15 min, but to take in the scenery was great!
I would recommend the hotel to anyone, the train/airport transport was 250 Kc one way, about 10USD, it had free WiFi, a huge breakfast buffet and was close to everything. Also all the staff spoke wonderful English, as my Czech was not good at all!

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DSojka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,552)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,510 - 1,516 of 2,552 reviews

Reviewed 30 August 2010

We stayed in this hotel from 18th to 22nd of Aug with 2 small kids (5 & 3) and our experience was very good. The breakfast was excellent and the staff was very cheerful. The hotel is quite near to all the sites and well connected and I would definitely recommend this hotel.

The area is quite safe, near to the sites, but tucked in a corner.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ssahay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2010

A well maintained, modern hotel set just a couple of minutes walk from the old town square in the centre of Prague. The rooms are well equipped, spacious and the beds are huge. The staff speak very good English as well as other languages and pretty much all the signs and stationary are also in English. If you are in Prague to sight see, then this is a great spot. There are bars and restaurants on all surrounding streets and these are very nice and tend to be a lot cheaper than those between the old town square and the Charles Bridge. I would highly recommend this hotel to any of my family, friends or colleagues.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ade_n_trace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2010

The Josef is a very nice hotel, located in a quiet part of Prague, but only a short walk from the touristic highlights. The hotel is a modern, design hotel, with pleasant staff and a very nice breakfast garden. Rooms are very comfortalbe and staff very friendly. Definitely worth checking out to see if you get can a good price for the night.

  • Stayed: April 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank thehork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2010

Can highly recommend on all aspects. Good location, great rooms and service. Breakfast fantastic selection.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CSBUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2010

While this hotel would get a 3 stars rating in another capital, it is still a good option in Prgaue if you get a good rate directly from their website.

The location is very centric and the breakfast is the best I have had in a hotel.

However, the service is not good and many requests (I had a prepaid, non refundable reservation in exchange for a room upgrade) are not honored or not available on the first night. The driver's service is very good, though, and very reasonable if one negotiates with the driver directly.

Lastly, the rooms look much better on the website than in real life.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank marsabez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2010

Just returned from a 5 night stay at the Josef, the Hotel is brilliant. Service from every member of staff is second to none.

We were on the sixth floor with a view overlooking the city, the room was spacious and bathroom spotless, with large rainfall showerhead and top class toiletries from Aveda.

Breakfast is delicious and plentiful, a buffet section with other speciality items cooked to order – these include a Chefs recommendation to scrumptious ‘sins’ of the day which change daily.

The hotel is within easy walking distance of all the city sights. We would not hesitate to stay at the Josef again.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank T-SGlobetrotters
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Prague hotels
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Maximilian Hotel
Maximilian Hotel
#27 of 648 in Prague
2,456 reviews
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
The Emblem Hotel
The Emblem Hotel
#32 of 648 in Prague
1,211 reviews
Nove Mesto (New Town)
The ICON Hotel & Lounge
The ICON Hotel & Lounge
#43 of 648 in Prague
1,357 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Savic Hotel
Savic Hotel
#36 of 648 in Prague
2,514 reviews
Nove Mesto (New Town)
Hotel UNIC Prague
Hotel UNIC Prague
#26 of 648 in Prague
1,709 reviews
Hradcany & Letna
Questenberk
Questenberk
#12 of 648 in Prague
1,067 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Design Hotel Josef Prague? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Design Hotel Josef Prague

Address: Rybna 693/20 | 11000 Praha, Prague 110 00, Czech Republic
Phone Number:
Region: Czech Republic > Bohemia > Prague > Stare Mesto (Old Town) , Praha 1
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Prague
#31 Romantic Hotel in Prague
#31 Family Hotel in Prague
#35 Luxury Hotel in Prague
Price Range: £79 - £323 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Design Hotel Josef Prague 4.5*
Number of rooms: 109
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the very heart of one of the most beautiful medieval cities in Europe, designer Eva Jiricna has managed to create a modern masterpiece. The 109-room Hotel Josef in Prague's old town offers a design concept that elegantly blends the most modern elements with the rich history of its surroundings. iPod Docking Stations are available free of charge at reception. Breakfast is included if you book directly through our hotel website. hoteljosef. com ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Design Hotel Josef Prague reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Josef Prague

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing