We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good but in need of a facelift”
Review of Hoffmeister & Spa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hoffmeister & Spa
Ranked #91 of 650 Hotels in Prague
Certificate of Excellence
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
238 reviews
82 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 121 helpful votes
“Good but in need of a facelift”
Reviewed 6 March 2008

This hotel has many good features – comfortable rooms, luxurious touches, good location, interesting artwork, a first class kitchen (judging from the breakfast), friendly and helpful staff (not always the case in Prague).

BUT it really needs renovations, as the décor, carpeting etc. are showing their age. (This possibly explains so many rave reviews, as they were mostly from a few years ago.) It is surprising in light of this that it is still in the “Small Luxury Hotels of the World” association.

Also, most rooms look onto a thoroughfare; an extra layer of window effectively shields the noise, but this means the windows can’t be opened. During our February stay, the room was overheated and there seemed no way to cool it down.

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — its obvious need of a facelift
  • Stayed February 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank WarsawWanderer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

791 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    489
    210
    50
    24
    18
See reviews for
81
508
31
45
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (119)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
perth, australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 February 2008

I stayed at the Hoffmeister in early January with my mother and aunt. The three of us shared a room, a suite which was spacious although one of us had to sleep in the sitting room area in a cot style bed. The hotel itself is a little dated for my taste, but very clean, and filled pleasant, friendly staff who absolutely danced attention on us the entire time we were there. This may have been because the hotel was almost empty. I counted 8 guests in total ....... I realise that January is not peak tourist season.

The hotel organised a driver to pick us up from the airport and then to take us back again at the end of our trip which was appreciated. The rooms had excellent bathrooms, we had a spa which was music to my feet after days of walking around the city on cobblestone streets.

The Hoffmeister is situated at the side/base of Prague Castle- very handy, although you can get much closer to Charles Bridge if that's what you're after. We took advantage of the Wellness Spa on our last morning which was lovely, although I found the manager not quite as lovely to deal with.

All in all a nice experience, I'm not sure if I would place it as a Small Luxury Hotel of the World (which it claims to be) however it was an overall pleasant stay in a very beautiful city.

  • Stayed January 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank dubliner100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sunderland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 February 2008

We had a lovely honeymoon in Prague and plan to return in March for a weekend break. We were picked up by hotel at the cost of 850czk which was only an extra 200czk than a taxi and worth it to start our honeymoon with something special. The honeymoon suite was great, we had a lovely living area with brown leather furniture and plasma tv, the bedroom was lovely with rich and heavy fabrics, again another plasma with a couple of english channels and a computer point. We had two bathrooms, one had a shower, sink and toilet etc which was lovely however we had a second bathroom that was carved from the rock, it had a lovely fire and jacuzzi bath with colour therapy exactly what was needed after a day of exploring. The location was great as you are within walking distance to all attractions.

  • Liked — quality and comfort of the room
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed February 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank anth81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Holland, PA
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 September 2007

Stayed in the hotel Aug,31-Sep,5/2007. The location is great – close to everything: Prague Castle – 10 mins, Charles Bridge – 20 mins, subway/tram – 3 mins. A very nice and cozy place with a touch of good taste and elegance. Many artworks of A.Hoffmeister are the real masterpieces. A very good breakfast – salmon, fried eggs, cereals, lots of fruits and vegetables, cheeses, meats, pastries, even Champaign. The hotel staff was very helpful.
The tip: if you'll book a cab to/from airport through the hotel it will cost you 800 c.s (~$40), the AAA (has nothing to do with the American Auto – just the name of a cab company) will charge you 400 c.s.
The beer in the bar is overpriced, bust tastes great!

  • Stayed September 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank genegreen61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarasota
Level Contributor
24 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 July 2007

A total delight! GREAT front desk staff...knowledgeable and helpful. Breakfast was excellent. Had a great room...it was a little dated, but had a fantastic terrace with a great view. Very clean and neat. Hotel is filled with unique and interesting artworks. Located near the castle and Metro/Tram stops....good locale!

  • Liked — spaciousness, cleanliness, and location
  • Disliked — elevator was small
  • Stayed June 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank VivieMartinsville
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England U.K.
Level Contributor
29 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2007

Having previously stayed at the Savoy in Prague, we thought we'd have a change. The hotel is good for tram connection to almost anywhere. The rooms are lovely with jacuzzi and basically all mod.cons. However, apart from the restaurant manager, a couple of delightfully helpful waitresses, one male receptionist and the sommelier the hotel staff were not helpful and actually were quite rude and indifferent. A complete contrast to the Savoy.
Food in evenings could be classed as sensational - beautifully presented. Breakfast O.K. but not outstanding.
Spa and spa staff professional and very helpful.
The hotel is situated by a very busy road (the price you pay to be nearer the centre) but the noise of traffic whilst eating and trying to sleep(albeit with the windows open which we did not HAVE to do as there was air-con) was phenomenal. Police cars etc. make one hell of a noise as do the continual traffic and trams.
We would definitely return to eat in the ADA restaurant but would prefer not to stay. Trying the Aria and Alchymist next - watch this space!

Stayed June 2007
Helpful?
1 Thank KatieEnglandU.K.
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham
Level Contributor
32 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 February 2007

Just got home after a lovely stay at the Hoffmeister. A very nice hotel, in a great location (we had a view of the castle from our window). We had a standard 'executive' room, but there was plenty of space, with a sofa and coffee table, as well as the usual writing desk. The bed was two single beds made up together, which I've noticed seems to be the case in a lot of places in Prague - fine if you want plenty of room, but possibly not the best arrangement for a romantic break. Some nice touches, like a welcome drink in the bar, complimentary slippers!, a jacuzzi bath in the bathroom - all made for a very comfortable stay. A good continental breakfast every morning, which was available for a reasonable period each day (no need to rush downstairs in time for breakfast!). We booked through a website, getting five nights for the price of four, and I was pleasantly surprised by what we got for what we paid. Overall, I'd say the Hoffmeister provides a little touch of luxury whilst still giving good value for money. I would certainly be happy to stay there next time I visit Prague.

  • Liked — Comfort and space.
  • Disliked — We found the room was too warm, although this is probably more due to our acclimatisation than any fault with the hotel!
  • Stayed February 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank janeywoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Prague hotels
Hradcany & Letna
Hotel Savoy
Hotel Savoy
#143 of 650 in Prague
4.5 of 5 bubbles 224 reviews
Praha 5
Hotel General
Hotel General
#21 of 650 in Prague
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,394 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mala Strana (Little Quarter)
Alchymist Grand Hotel & Spa
Mala Strana (Little Quarter)
Hotel Three Storks
Hotel Three Storks
#38 of 650 in Prague
4.5 of 5 bubbles 661 reviews
Mala Strana (Little Quarter)
Luxury Family Hotel Royal Palace
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hoffmeister & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hoffmeister & Spa

Property: Hoffmeister & Spa
Address: Pod Bruskou 144/7 | Mala Strana, Prague 118 00, Czech Republic
Region: Czech Republic > Bohemia > Prague > Hradcany & Letna
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#16 Spa Hotel in Prague
#64 Family Hotel in Prague
#74 Romantic Hotel in Prague
#81 Luxury Hotel in Prague
#90 Business Hotel in Prague
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Hoffmeister & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Hoffmeister is boutique hotel inspired by the romanticism of Old Prague. Hotel is situated just a few steps from the famous Prague Castle and a few minutes easy stroll from the Old Town, National Theatre and Charles Bridge. All the Prague highlights are accessible by foot.Hotel Hoffmeister is also renowned for its well-known luxurious spa facilities – Lily Wellness & Spa. Unquestionably spectacular is our very own Steam Bath placed in the cave dated back to 15th century. To escape the pressures of the present day, all guests may enjoy worry-free time in a Roman bath style jacuzzi, soothe their body and mind while trying our signature massages - relaxing, detoxifying and chocolate one or pamper themselves in a Beauty Parlour.Hotel Hoffmeister offers you everything you may come to expect from a 5 star quality, including a truly gastronomic experience. Our Gourmet Resort has currently 2 housed restaurants. The perfect choice for casual dining or business lunch is represented by our restaurant Ria while if you wish to tease your tastebuds a bit more then an award winning restaurant Ada is a must visit. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Ebookers, Agoda, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Cancelon and HRS so you can book your Hoffmeister & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hoffmeister Hotel Prague

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing