We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Special Place”
Review of Hoffmeister & Spa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hoffmeister & Spa
Ranked #85 of 649 Hotels in Prague
Certificate of Excellence
kentucky
Level 6 Contributor
44 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
“Special Place”
Reviewed 10 April 2006

Just returned from using package deal from luxurylink. We chose to spend extra and upgrade for honeymoon suite # 402--outstanding idea if you have the $$. Spent $700 for 4 night pkg +$300 upgrade--worth the price for a bi-level suite with multiple wc's, huge jacuzzi and tiled shower. First floor accessed by, guess what, stairs, to get to beautiful sitting/bath area, then going up more stairs to bedroom/sitting area on the next level!! Jacuzzi was wonderful with their salts (asked for extras).
The inclusive dinner/wines was well-received by both of us--could not do all 6 courses (skipped the cheese one). Be aware that there is a limit on the wines they offer to accompany the meal--additions like water are totaled after. Breakfasts were truly delightful, plentiful and they really do have help-yourself-sparkling-wine along with eggs to order... and we always tipped our waiters for their excellent service. (For the big dinner they presented tally of what we ate--over $250 US--worth it, again! They were well-tipped that night.
I was really happy with everything--they are top-notch and very friendly and accomodating. Do your own exp[loration--the tours offered are no different than anywhere else, but this was our second trip.
The location is a bit weird, but not bad. The terrace is lovely, the spa is cool and we loved the Hotel Hoffmeister!

Helpful?
9 Thank kyshel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

819 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    507
    218
    50
    26
    18
See reviews for
84
528
31
46
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (120)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
south wales, uk
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 March 2006

Both myself and my husband booked to stay at the hoffmeister for our 6th wedding anniversary, and also our first time in Prague. We had a lovely time!!
The hotel arranged for a driver to collect us from the airport - this cost around 30 euros (taxis cost around 25 euros - but can rip you off!) Before arriving at the hotel, our driver gave us a brief, but extremely helpful, tour of the surrounding sreets, and explained the best way to various attractions.
When we arrived at the hotel, we were taken straight for a 'welcome drink' whilst our bags were taken to our room. During this time, we were also given various leaflets, and maps, and lots of information on ways to make the most of our visit.
The room was very nice - not as luxurious as I was expecting, but very comfortable none the less. All amenities available, and although the hotel is situated on the main road, we did not find noise to be a problem (this includes noise from other guests).
The food in the hotel is excellent, and there is a choice of approx 150 wines!!! The breakfast is also excellent.
The hotel is situated across the road from the foot of the castle steps. After making your way up to the castle, you can then walk up to the monastery, then up to the Tower, and take a cable car back down to rest in Old Town Square. Charles Bridge is less than ten minutes walk from the hotel. The tram stops are a minute or two walk from the hotel, but we found it much better to walk everywhere.
The spa in the hotel is a must! The stone-bath sauna is certainly a lovely experience, and we had a complimentary 30 minute time in there. The classic massage with hot lava stones is also a fantastic experience after a lot of walking!!
Although we were due to check out of our room at 10am, we were not due to fly until 9 o'clock that evening. As the hotel was quiet, they allowed us to keep our room until we had to leave, at no extra charge.
I would highly recommend the hotel Hoffmeister as a stay in Prague!!!

  • Stayed March 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
13 Thank emma2112
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derby, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 February 2006

Having stayed in many five star 'luxury' hotels before and seeing the promises made on their website, we had very high expectations of the hoffmeister. Sadly, it did not live up to any of them.
The room had decor which was reminscent of the 1970s, although it was clean to be fair.
The food left alot to be desired. We had to send back a certain 'Ceaser Salad' several times because it tasted like the sauce was rancid.
The breakfasts were good though.

The staff were simular to those at Fawlty Towers and when we complained shrugged it off very quickly. We did end up asking for money off the bill due to the standard of the hotel being so awful.

Certainly not a five star in any way shape or form.
If I were to return, it would be to the Four Seasons, hands down.

Stayed November 2005
Helpful?
12 Thank Verity D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 November 2005

We came to Prague to celebrate our anniversary and were very pleased with Hoffmeister hotel. If you like small hotels with above average service - it is place to stay. The hotel is really nice and clean but soon will need some updates. The room we stayed was really nice size with a comfortable bed and very good quality beddings, sitting area and nice view on the one of the hills. The bathroom was huge for Europenian standards. The service was attentive.
Hotel is located a little off the center but if you like walking it will be not a problem. Breakfast is very generous and absolutely great. We will definately come back again.

Stayed November 2005
Helpful?
9 Thank winterbaby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 10 November 2005

enjoyed our stay at the hoffmeister in prague, was there with my wife in the first week of oct 05,the hotel was really nice and the breakfast was excellent with a great ambience, preferred sitting out was superb.had the best omlettes ever.
one of the best breakfasts, the rooms were very comfortable and the restaurant was good too.a little far away from the centre of old town , still not too bad if in habit of walking about 15mins.will definately visit again

Helpful?
9 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newberg, OR
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 October 2005

This hotel used to be a Relais & Chateaux and is now a Small Luxury Hotel (SLH). It has an excellent location at the base of Prague Castle and rooms are large with the usual five-star stuff such as robes, slippers, A/C and heat that works, good soundproofing etc. Our bathroom was great, with two sinks, separate shower and jacuzzi tub. The hotel is of Art Deco vintage with decor that is very "Euro" and a bit odd by American standards. The rooms are all different but all the ones we saw feature intense colors (ours had bright orange upholstered furniture) and the art is pretty avant-garde. Our suite had big photo-montages of women's breasts! Room service was prompt and the breakfasts outstanding, featuring many organic breads, honey, etc. The TV had just one English-language channel while there were four channels in Russian and several in German etc. Also all the other guests while we were there appeared to be businessmen. It is a nice, comfy hotel and definitely not like anywhere else you will go, which may be good or bad according to your taste.

Helpful?
9 Thank Cawater
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris, France
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 August 2005

I booked the delicious memories package for three nights which includes a 6 course degustation menu paired with wines, a cooking class and airport transfers.

As the only Relais & Chateaux property in the Czech Republic, expectations were high. Upon arrival at the airport, we were met by the hotel driver. Upon arrival, they give you a welcome drink on the terrace while they sort out your check-in. They noticed write away that my girlfriend and I speak French and so they had someone walk us through the details of the hotel in French. Then we are escorted to our room. The first sign of trouble was the elevator breakdown. If I hadn't decided to force the door open, we would have been stuck for at least 30 minutes in an increasingly hot and claustrophobic elevator.

The room was nice and I believe it was an upgrade to a junior suite. The next problem occurred at the dinner. We were supposed to have this six course tasting menu with wine for each course. Instead, they brought us a menu and said we should pick anything we wanted. They gave us a bottle of champagne for the elevator trouble, which I think was a nice touch, but when asking about the wine pairings, they just say, yes order whatever you want. So, while the bottle I took was fine, I would have preferred the pairing and the degustation menu. This said, the food was quite good.

We were told we would have a cooking class on the Sunday at 5pm, so we made sure to arrive on-time. When we asked around, no one understood what we wanted and we were told the chef was on vacation. Why didn't they know this at check-in?

What I did like was how the same woman who checked us in asked us how everything was going and when we explained the difficulties, she gave us both a free massage. While the expectations weren't met, I will say they did try hard to fix the mistakes.

One thing I thought was really special about this hotel was the 15th century stone steam bath. I had never seen anything quite like it, and it was indeed a unique experience.

Overall, when I go back to Prague, I'm thinking of trying one of the new modern hotels.

  • Stayed July 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
11 Thank thebiz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Prague hotels
Nove Mesto (New Town)
La Ballerina
La Ballerina
#23 of 649 in Prague
646 reviews
Mala Strana (Little Quarter)
Luxury Family Hotel Royal Palace
Mala Strana (Little Quarter)
Alchymist Grand Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Praha 5
Hotel General
Hotel General
#20 of 649 in Prague
1,422 reviews
Hradcany & Letna
Hotel Savoy
Hotel Savoy
#115 of 649 in Prague
247 reviews
Mala Strana (Little Quarter)
Hotel Three Storks
Hotel Three Storks
#38 of 649 in Prague
683 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hoffmeister & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hoffmeister & Spa

Property: Hoffmeister & Spa
Address: Pod Bruskou 144/7 | Mala Strana, Prague 118 00, Czech Republic
Region: Czech Republic > Bohemia > Prague > Hradcany & Letna
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#16 Spa Hotel in Prague
#64 Family Hotel in Prague
#74 Romantic Hotel in Prague
#75 Luxury Hotel in Prague
#90 Business Hotel in Prague
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:5 star — Hoffmeister & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Hoffmeister is boutique hotel inspired by the romanticism of Old Prague. Hotel is situated just a few steps from the famous Prague Castle and a few minutes easy stroll from the Old Town, National Theatre and Charles Bridge. All the Prague highlights are accessible by foot.Hotel Hoffmeister is also renowned for its well-known luxurious spa facilities – Lily Wellness & Spa. Unquestionably spectacular is our very own Steam Bath placed in the cave dated back to 15th century. To escape the pressures of the present day, all guests may enjoy worry-free time in a Roman bath style jacuzzi, soothe their body and mind while trying our signature massages - relaxing, detoxifying and chocolate one or pamper themselves in a Beauty Parlour.Hotel Hoffmeister offers you everything you may come to expect from a 5 star quality, including a truly gastronomic experience. Our Gourmet Resort has currently 2 housed restaurants. The perfect choice for casual dining or business lunch is represented by our restaurant Ria while if you wish to tease your tastebuds a bit more then an award winning restaurant Ada is a must visit. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, LateRooms and Cancelon so you can book your Hoffmeister & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hoffmeister Hotel Prague

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing