We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A wonderful blend of service, character and substance”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Hoffmeister & Spa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hoffmeister & Spa
Ranked #90 of 672 Hotels in Prague
Certificate of Excellence
New York
Level Contributor
72 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 124 helpful votes
“A wonderful blend of service, character and substance”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 November 2006

My husband and I travel to Europe a few times per year for long weekends and have hence learned to be quite particular about the quality of hotels and general environ, but for even seasoned travelers like us, we were pleasantly surprised by what we received at Hotel Hoffmeister for the 4 nights we were there.
We were such content residents of Suite #603 and its absolutely spacious and gorgeously appointed room, the sumptuous breakfast, unique cave spa experience, and the courteous and wonderful service from all staff (from drivers, to porter, to ladies at the breakfast room, to the wonderful gentleman who checked us in and gave us that beautiful room). For our appetite, the breakfast offering was beyond sumptious and with a touch of local delicacies as well. The daily fruit plates and a generous tea selelction in the room was refreshing, and the ADA restuarant certainly is a must if the local goulash starts to get on your nerve. Above all, there was the city of Prague that offered such a terrific blend of history, architecture and nature.
Hotel Hoffmeister made our second anniversary such a special memory and I would recommend it to all who plan to visit Prague.

Stayed September 2006
Helpful?
6 Thank jmw245
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

784 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    486
    207
    50
    23
    18
See reviews for
81
504
30
45
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (118)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 July 2006

Just got back from Prague and loved the Hoffmeister. If you love small hotels this is the place for you. The people who worked there were so helpful and patient. The rooms were roomy and the bathroom even had two sinks! It's on the Castle side but just a short walk across the bridge to other side.

Helpful?
8 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
French Riviera
Level Contributor
77 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 130 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 May 2006

I just returned from Prague with my wife. I, too, had purchased a package and was looking forward to my first visit to Prague. The hotel is nicely situated - at the foot of the castle - and across the bridge from the old town of Prague. The Hotel has little charm from the outside which already raises a question as to the (local) 5 star rating it posts. I travel a lot in Europe and my bedside book is the Michelin guide : great for an independant view on restaurants as well as hotels. Hoffmeister is rated as a 3 star hotel and I would requalify as a nice 3 star. The "suite" I had reserved is an insult to the frequent traveler - I would accept a deluxe room qualification - but here the "suite" qualification appears justified from a couch set against the wall across from the bed. The bathroom reveals the suite "fraud" : the toilet is inside the tiny bathroom facing the door, a bathtub on the left and 1 sink on the right. 2 people cannot fit inside as the door is in the way. Yeah, list price 340 € or around $ 440 /night. No need to say more. Food is good, not an obvious 1 star Michelin, which by the way no longer shows up as Michelin has stopped rating a number of restaurants run within a hotel. Service was fair to very good depending on the individual and language barrier. Don't get me wrong, this IS a nice place ... depending on the price you pay !

  • Stayed May 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
13 Thank jr_hummel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kentucky
Level Contributor
43 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 April 2006

Just returned from using package deal from luxurylink. We chose to spend extra and upgrade for honeymoon suite # 402--outstanding idea if you have the $$. Spent $700 for 4 night pkg +$300 upgrade--worth the price for a bi-level suite with multiple wc's, huge jacuzzi and tiled shower. First floor accessed by, guess what, stairs, to get to beautiful sitting/bath area, then going up more stairs to bedroom/sitting area on the next level!! Jacuzzi was wonderful with their salts (asked for extras).
The inclusive dinner/wines was well-received by both of us--could not do all 6 courses (skipped the cheese one). Be aware that there is a limit on the wines they offer to accompany the meal--additions like water are totaled after. Breakfasts were truly delightful, plentiful and they really do have help-yourself-sparkling-wine along with eggs to order... and we always tipped our waiters for their excellent service. (For the big dinner they presented tally of what we ate--over $250 US--worth it, again! They were well-tipped that night.
I was really happy with everything--they are top-notch and very friendly and accomodating. Do your own exp[loration--the tours offered are no different than anywhere else, but this was our second trip.
The location is a bit weird, but not bad. The terrace is lovely, the spa is cool and we loved the Hotel Hoffmeister!

Helpful?
9 Thank kyshel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
south wales, uk
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 March 2006

Both myself and my husband booked to stay at the hoffmeister for our 6th wedding anniversary, and also our first time in Prague. We had a lovely time!!
The hotel arranged for a driver to collect us from the airport - this cost around 30 euros (taxis cost around 25 euros - but can rip you off!) Before arriving at the hotel, our driver gave us a brief, but extremely helpful, tour of the surrounding sreets, and explained the best way to various attractions.
When we arrived at the hotel, we were taken straight for a 'welcome drink' whilst our bags were taken to our room. During this time, we were also given various leaflets, and maps, and lots of information on ways to make the most of our visit.
The room was very nice - not as luxurious as I was expecting, but very comfortable none the less. All amenities available, and although the hotel is situated on the main road, we did not find noise to be a problem (this includes noise from other guests).
The food in the hotel is excellent, and there is a choice of approx 150 wines!!! The breakfast is also excellent.
The hotel is situated across the road from the foot of the castle steps. After making your way up to the castle, you can then walk up to the monastery, then up to the Tower, and take a cable car back down to rest in Old Town Square. Charles Bridge is less than ten minutes walk from the hotel. The tram stops are a minute or two walk from the hotel, but we found it much better to walk everywhere.
The spa in the hotel is a must! The stone-bath sauna is certainly a lovely experience, and we had a complimentary 30 minute time in there. The classic massage with hot lava stones is also a fantastic experience after a lot of walking!!
Although we were due to check out of our room at 10am, we were not due to fly until 9 o'clock that evening. As the hotel was quiet, they allowed us to keep our room until we had to leave, at no extra charge.
I would highly recommend the hotel Hoffmeister as a stay in Prague!!!

  • Stayed March 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
13 Thank emma2112
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derby, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 February 2006

Having stayed in many five star 'luxury' hotels before and seeing the promises made on their website, we had very high expectations of the hoffmeister. Sadly, it did not live up to any of them.
The room had decor which was reminscent of the 1970s, although it was clean to be fair.
The food left alot to be desired. We had to send back a certain 'Ceaser Salad' several times because it tasted like the sauce was rancid.
The breakfasts were good though.

The staff were simular to those at Fawlty Towers and when we complained shrugged it off very quickly. We did end up asking for money off the bill due to the standard of the hotel being so awful.

Certainly not a five star in any way shape or form.
If I were to return, it would be to the Four Seasons, hands down.

Stayed November 2005
Helpful?
12 Thank Verity D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 November 2005

We came to Prague to celebrate our anniversary and were very pleased with Hoffmeister hotel. If you like small hotels with above average service - it is place to stay. The hotel is really nice and clean but soon will need some updates. The room we stayed was really nice size with a comfortable bed and very good quality beddings, sitting area and nice view on the one of the hills. The bathroom was huge for Europenian standards. The service was attentive.
Hotel is located a little off the center but if you like walking it will be not a problem. Breakfast is very generous and absolutely great. We will definately come back again.

Stayed November 2005
Helpful?
9 Thank winterbaby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Prague hotels
Hradcany & Letna
Hotel Savoy
Hotel Savoy
#155 of 672 in Prague
4.5 of 5 bubbles 216 reviews
Praha 5
Hotel General
Hotel General
#22 of 672 in Prague
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,388 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mala Strana (Little Quarter)
Alchymist Grand Hotel & Spa
Mala Strana (Little Quarter)
Hotel Three Storks
Hotel Three Storks
#43 of 672 in Prague
4.5 of 5 bubbles 650 reviews
Mala Strana (Little Quarter)
Luxury Family Hotel Royal Palace
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hoffmeister & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hoffmeister & Spa

Property: Hoffmeister & Spa
Address: Pod Bruskou 144/7 | Mala Strana, Prague 118 00, Czech Republic
Region: Czech Republic > Bohemia > Prague > Hradcany & Letna
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#17 Spa Hotel in Prague
#64 Family Hotel in Prague
#74 Romantic Hotel in Prague
#79 Luxury Hotel in Prague
#90 Business Hotel in Prague
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Hoffmeister & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Hoffmeister is boutique hotel inspired by the romanticism of Old Prague. Hotel is situated just a few steps from the famous Prague Castle and a few minutes easy stroll from the Old Town, National Theatre and Charles Bridge. All the Prague highlights are accessible by foot.Hotel Hoffmeister is also renowned for its well-known luxurious spa facilities – Lily Wellness & Spa. Unquestionably spectacular is our very own Steam Bath placed in the cave dated back to 15th century. To escape the pressures of the present day, all guests may enjoy worry-free time in a Roman bath style jacuzzi, soothe their body and mind while trying our signature massages - relaxing, detoxifying and chocolate one or pamper themselves in a Beauty Parlour.Hotel Hoffmeister offers you everything you may come to expect from a 5 star quality, including a truly gastronomic experience. Our Gourmet Resort has currently 2 housed restaurants. The perfect choice for casual dining or business lunch is represented by our restaurant Ria while if you wish to tease your tastebuds a bit more then an award winning restaurant Ada is a must visit. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Hoffmeister & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hoffmeister Hotel Prague

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing