We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great rooms and location but very loud”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Royal Residence Ungelt
Ranked #64 of 365 Prague B&B and Inns
Reviewed 27 July 2011

We stayed at the Hotel Ungelt on the recommendation of our friends who spent their wedding their with their wedding guests in 2006. The rooms are huge (more space than anyone would need, and we had two bedrooms and a tv room for 2 people). I wouldnt try to fit 4 people in it as there is only one bedroom. The hotel was bought out by Hotel Metamorphis, so it was nearly impossible to find out where we were to check in (in the courtyard at that hotel). There is a stair and a small elevator, but you have to unlock a door to a driveway, to get to the door to the stairs, and there is no one to guide you at night. The staff was great and the location was amazing.
Unfortunately, there is a club, which apparently does not close until after 4 am, right down the street from it. The teenage club goers are outside the club, blocking the street, yelling and screaming and breaking bottles all night. I couldnt believe the noise, even WITH ear plugs! There isnt air conditioning so you would want to sleep with the windows open but you cant. I couldnt believe that the neighborhood wouldnt complain to the management of the club to keep the kids inside as they are disturbing everyone for blocks. Dont think I'm a party pooper, I've been up late myself, but not in the street yelling. We even had trouble leaving at 4:45 am in the morning because some drunk (?) kids were sitting in the middle of the street and wouldnt move for the taxi driver to get by. We also paid the equivalent of $300 a night for the room, which I think is expensive in Prague standards.
I hope they can do something about the directions to the check in, and the club, because it would've otherwise been a delightful stay.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank ChicagoDerm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (135)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

66 - 72 of 135 reviews

Reviewed 10 May 2011

Overall, this was a great hotel! The location can't be beat, and the rooms are huge and amazing!

There are two down-sides to this hotel.
1) It's a bit of a fire-trap. There is only one small elevator that you can take up and down, and no stairs. Don't look for a fire escape, because it doesn't exist. This was particularly bad when we tried to leave while the front desk clerk was on break. He locked down the elevator as a security precausion, and so we couldn't leave!

2) There's a bar that just openned next to the hotel. Bring ear-plugs.

One outstanding aspect of this hotel was one of the front-desk clerks, by the name of Vladamir. He went out of his way to tell us about places in the area, and assist us during our stay in general. He was very knowledgeable and extremely helpful. He helped to make our stay a great one!

TRAVEL TIP: People in the Czech Republic like to haggle, so I'd suggest calling and seeing what the best rate is that they can offer you. It'll be lower than what's published on-line

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank VaJosh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RoyalRezidenceUngelt, General Manager at Royal Residence Ungelt, responded to this reviewResponded 21 June 2011

Ad 1) Thank you for all comments. Please note that elevator is located on the left side of the floor and on the apposite side (arround the corner), there is an emergency staircase (in all floors) which is always open to get outside. We have also new reception area located in Tyn 10, which is now open 24hrs a day.. Newly, your room key is suitable to all locks (parking area, entrance to the hotel, all emergency exits and your room.)
Ad 2) Hotel is located in the very city centre which could cause any noise. Please note that we are planning to make double-glazed windows until the end of November.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 March 2011

Great location near Old town square; Friendly and courteous staff and very attentive to needs of guests. Enjoyed my stay with my family; One of the reception staff, Vladimir, even went out of his way to help us out with a lost item. Would go back again.
Keep up the good work!

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pmathew60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 February 2011

I use to travel a lot around the world, for business and to discover other cultures. I was very impressed by the Ungel t hotel, first of all the location is perfect, near the central Stare mesto in the heart of the town. The welcome was perfect, and madame Janoskova tried to help me in any way to make my journey comfortable and easy. The suites are very big and silent, an ideal place to rest. I suggest it to people that like hotels de charme, not usual tourists places, with really a character and helpful people. Praga is a safe town, I walked everywhere in the center even very late without any problem, and it is one of the most beautiful towns in the worls. If you love culture you have to spend there some days, Services in the suites are brand news. You can also have a meal out of the normal hours and served with a smile in your suite. The quality of this hotel compared with the price make a clear advantage for our pockets. I visited in my life many hotel de charme, fron the Gazelle d'or in Morocco to the belavista in macau or raffles in Singapore, this hotel belongs to the same kind -)

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank levoyyageur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 November 2010

We arrived in Prague during a terrible heat wave only to find that the Ungelt did not have air conditioning. We also had a lot of luggage, but the elevator was just being installed. So we were wildly uncomfortable from the heat. The decor consisted of furniture that seemed to have been gleaned from a second-hand store, though it was in decent condition. We appreciated the small kitchen area and beautifully remodeled shower/bath room. The staff was very nice though they did not seem especially professional, which, in a way, was pleasant. They provided lovely fruit baskets at our request and picked us up at the airport, also at our request. The location was unbeatable: quiet yet only a few blocks from the main square of the old town. Once the air conditioning and elevator problems are resolved, I would rate the Ungelt three stars plus and highly recommend it.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank andybabette
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RoyalRezidenceUngelt, General Manager at Royal Residence Ungelt, responded to this reviewResponded 21 June 2011

Hello again, we are trying to improve the hotel therefore we have to consider all feedbacks from our guests too. Lift renovation is already done and lift is fully to your disposal now. Regarding the amenities. In all apartments, there were/are renovation works and gradual modernization of equipment so you can even more enjoy your stay now. During this work there is no traffic restriction or distortion of stay for our guests. We have replaced all hairdryers, lamps and lights, all kitchen equippment, added cosmetic mirrors. We will replace all carpets in the whole hotel in July 11. You can expect many new positive innovations in the appartments until the end of 2011.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2010

We stayed in their best available accommodation: the 3 brm "Gothic Imperial Suite" for EUR119/night

Plus': Clean, close to the old town square and spacious room, nice courtyard view of cathedral. If you like cheap alcohol, the bar fridge has enough to ensure you'll get a hangover to remember.

Minus': Furnishings are really cheap for such a nice building and especially for a 3 room 'suite'. All of the basics are missing: eg. room has coffee percolator but you have to pay EUR1.50 for the coffee sachets; room has kettle but no teabags, and the staff can't supply any; 47" flat screen tv is setup with a digital set-top box offering nearly 1000 channels but (maddeningly) we (and the desk clerk who grudgingly agreed to come to our room to help) could only find a dozen or so arabic language channels because the hotel owners haven't paid the subscripton.

Good place to stay for a family or group up to 6 people seeking basic accommodation and who bring their own tea/coffee.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Kenamway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RoyalRezidenceUngelt, General Manager at Royal Residence Ungelt, responded to this reviewResponded 21 June 2011

Dear "Kenamway",
our company has overtaken hotel Ungelt from the 1st June 2011 and we definately have to work on all comments from the guests. Regarding your minus:
- We have removed all coffee percolator and we have added instant coffee and tea bags into all rooms free of charge. If you are out of tea or coffee bags, please ask the reception and you will get new ones. If you really want to enjoy an excellent coffee, please use our newly renovated lobby bar.
- TV programms. Please note that all rooms are equipped with satelitte receiver with a selection of foreign channels and a set-top box with a selection of local channels. We have installed a favourite selection for both boxes, so now you can choose channels from our favourite selection and if you are not satisfied, you can still use full choice of all programms in English, German, French, Polish, Russian etc. languages.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2010

The Hotel Ungelt building itself is lovely and is located perfectly for the Old Town Square.

We booked the Gothic Suite for 4-nights (Thu-Mon) along with the Imperial Suite for 2-nights (Sat-Mon). We required three extra beds in the Gothic Suite however only one was supplied and without linen, a blanket or a pillow. We had arrived at the hotel very late and as there was only one member of staff on duty, he couldn't arrange more beds, But he offered us the vacant Imperial Suite so we all had a bed for the night. The following day another member of staff arranged the extra beds for the Gothic Suite.

Although the suites are extremely spacious with high ceilings and original features, they are let down by poor quality furnishings and equipment. The TV and microwave in the Gothic Suite didn't work, the iron was old with a burnt plate, all of the bedspreads smelt stale (however the sheets were fresh), the floors were filthy and the staff could not locate an ironing board on the premises (apparently it was "lost"). Herbal tea, coffee and sugar were supplied but not replenished. No black tea at all. Not enough towels. Wi-Fi was not accessible and apparently it had not been working for some time...

Although a Nespresso machine was provided in each room, only a few capsules were supplied and when we requested more, initially staff couldn't find any! I accompanied the staff member into the kitchen and storage areas whilst he was searching for coffee. Once I saw that the food preparation area, I decided not to re-order breakfast for our room again the following morning! It simply was not clean enough! Eventually we were given a few more coffee capsules, but not enough for all the adults in our group.

Later that day, I did go to reception and explained to the male member of staff that I had been dealing with that we were unhappy and asked to speak to the manager. He attempted to call the manager, but the manager wouldn't/couldn't speak to me until the following day. We decided not to wait and made another reservation elsewhere for our remaining two nights. Luckily we had not given a deposit or paid in advance! That evening there was a very polite, conscientious and understanding female member of staff on duty with whom we discussed our situation. She did offer to do whatever she could to put things right for our group, but by then it was too late.

Hotel Ungelt has huge potential. With some effort, there is a perfect opportunity to provide very special accommodation in the heart of Old Town Prague. But in order for that to happen, the hotel management must pay attention to the details. At the moment, their website implies a higher standard than is the reality and that is what is so very disappointing.

(By the way, we ended up on the other side of the Charles Bridge in two apartments that were much nicer, cleaner and cheaper.)

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jodielovesjames
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Prague hotels
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Astoria Hotel
Astoria Hotel
#142 of 647 in Prague
1,198 reviews
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Metamorphis
Metamorphis
#185 of 647 in Prague
679 reviews
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Cerny Slon
Cerny Slon
#211 of 647 in Prague
360 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Hotel Modra Ruze
Hotel Modra Ruze
#253 of 647 in Prague
354 reviews
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Hotel Liberty
Hotel Liberty
#26 of 647 in Prague
1,188 reviews
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Gorgeous Prague Rooms
Gorgeous Prague Rooms
#27 of 691 in Prague
64 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Residence Ungelt? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Residence Ungelt

Address: Tyn 10/644, Prague 11000, Czech Republic
Region: Czech Republic > Bohemia > Prague > Stare Mesto (Old Town) , Praha 1
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #64 of 365 B&Bs / Inns in Prague
Price Range: £58 - £128 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Royal Residence Ungelt 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Royal Residence Ungelt (previously Hotel Ungelt) is situated directly in the heart of Prague - just few steps from famous Old Town Square in one of charming historical buildings. We can offer you space and comfort in the center of historic and commercial Prague. Large 6 apartements are special suitable for families.. Rezidence services and possibilites: Telephone, Free Wifi Internet, Office Desk, Sat LCD TV, DVD player, Tea & coffee making facility, Minibar/Fridge, Microwave oven, safety deposit box, Hairdryer, Cosmetic Mirror etc. Hotel has own parking space for 8 cars and elevator. You can enjoy our cozy Lobby Bar and restaurant. Our Rezidence is just 80m from the Old Town Square with world famous astronomical clock. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Fastbooking, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers and HotelsClick so you can book your Royal Residence Ungelt reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Residence Ungelt Hotel Prague

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing